eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Specialized Amateur Communication Products | SIDE KX Help


Reviews Summary for SIDE KX
SIDE KX Reviews: 28 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $64
Description: Replacement End Panels for the Elecraft KX-3 and a snap on Lexan cover.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.gemsproducts.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the SIDE KX.

Page 1 of 3 —>

N7ACM Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2014 08:47 Send this review to a friend
Great Product!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This was a great add-on to the KX3 and recommended for others as it provides great protection and so far have seen no issues. Was easy to install.
 
AA4BQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 18, 2014 13:16 Send this review to a friend
Easy Install / Awesome accessory  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

It took all of about 10 minutes to install the two side panels. It is important to use the correct size screw driver #6 and the 10mm socket to avoid scratching the nice, new panels (or original ones being removed.

I didn't find it necessary to open up the KX3. The mic connector was no problem re-installing/re-threading.

The plastic cover snaps perfectly into the side handles. To remove the clear cover in the field, it requires a little technique to squeeze the end of the plastic housing vs. just using brut force to pull it apart. But that's my personal preference, however.

This is a great product and should keep Murphy from causing excessive wear and tear to the digital display. I give it 5-stars. I hope this review helps you.

73,
Bill
 
N6BOB Rating: 5/5 Oct 2, 2014 14:14 Send this review to a friend
Saved my KX3 today  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have been using the KX3 in the field for the past year and today was glad I had the cover and end plates in place to protect it. I had just finished connecting the battery and antenna. A large dog came out of nowhere into the field where I was about to operate and started sniffing around as if to do his business.
The rig cover was still in place as the dog entangled himself in the coax and pulled the rig off my portable tv tray desk to the ground. It survived with out a scratch.

The cover and end plates were never needed until today's event. Not a broken knobs or scratched paint and the display remains in perfect unblemished condition.

Got to love a product that does exactly what it should do in an unexpected event.
N6BOB
 
LA9VKA Rating: 5/5 Oct 2, 2014 05:44 Send this review to a friend
Must have product.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Good quality product, and excellent service. Absolutely a must buy for the KX3.
 
W0RIK Rating: 5/5 Dec 2, 2013 04:40 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Service Too  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Totally agree with everything folks are saying here about the quality of the product. Plus how useful it is and how well designed.

Here's the thing: One reason we buy Elecraft stuff is the incredible customer service. Scott must have Elecraft in his DNA. I emailed him to say my package arrived missing the end panels. Within 24 hours he sent replacements, no questions asked.

So, excellent product and excellent service too.
 
K2WO Rating: 5/5 Oct 22, 2013 08:07 Send this review to a friend
Great For KX3  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If you utilize your Elecraft KX3 for portable operation, these accesories are a must have. They are easy to install and the Side KX End Plates in combination with the Side KX Cover provide the ultimate in protection when taking your KX3 into the field. Scott ships them quickly as well. The quality is fantastic and Scott ships them quickly. Strongly recommended for all KX3 owners.
 
N9JR Rating: 5/5 Oct 13, 2013 01:28 Send this review to a friend
Gotta have this!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
An amazing aesthetic and functional accessory for the KX3. It fills the void of protecting the front panel and looks like it could be Elecraft issue. Yes, it's that good.

10 minutes to install and you are good to go. If you never take your KX3 into the great outdoors you probally don't need it. But if you do it is an absolute necessity.

Modestly priced, it is an inexpensive insurance policy for the radio. The Side KX plates and cover are an absolute must have if you play with your radio outdoors.

Your mileage may vary, but I found this to be a great accessory to a great radio.
 
K2ACK Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2013 14:26 Send this review to a friend
Logical add-on  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've had this for around 7 months. I love the security it brings to throwing the KX3 in a pack for a day trip. Great product, easy to fit and good balance of protection with lightweight use of polycarbonate. Works as advertised and looks like an OEM part.
 
G0DJA Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2013 04:22 Send this review to a friend
Good idea well implemented  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A good idea and well implemented. Delivery was prompt and exactly as described. Changing the side panels on the KX3 was very easy and I will now be happier to take the KX3 with me as I wont be worrying that the knobs are going to be damaged in transit.
 
GM4JJJ Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2013 00:42 Send this review to a friend
High quality product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The side panels just look like they were made by Elecraft, you would not suspect that they were a third party product.

The lexan cover was a little lighter and flimsier than I had imagined it would be, but it looks good and does the job.

I now have no qualms about putting the KX3 in a bag and carrying it around, as all of the knobs and switches are protected.

Shipping was fast, and fitting was easy, you only need a screwdriver and a 10mm nut runner to remove and refit the mic connector.

If you ever want to return to the original end panels this is easy too.





 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.