eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Analyzers | RigExpert AA-170 Help


Reviews Summary for RigExpert AA-170
RigExpert  AA-170 Reviews: 13 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $500
Description: .1 to 170 Mhz Antenna Analyzer
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.rigexpert.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the RigExpert AA-170.

Page 1 of 2 —>

AA7LX Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2016 00:51 Send this review to a friend
Best Digital In-Depth Antenna Analyzer  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had no problems with the AA-170. Yes, I "ground" the PL-259 connector on the AA-170 before using and/or connecting to any antenna. I have cross-checked with my SWR meter(s) and this Analyzer is right on the money! It is a good value for your money! The AA-170 model will take care for 90 percent of all your Antenna work. I almost have wished I had saved up for the AA-600 model! Buy the AA-170... You will not be disappointed!
 
LU6MC Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2016 08:46 Send this review to a friend
EXCELENT SUPPORT  Time owned: 6 to 12 months

I bought a RigExpert antenna analyzer AA 170
It works fine until apparently a strong static discharge left it out of service
Thanks to the invaluable support of the entire team of RigExpert, and especially of Oleg Shuman, could solve the inconvenience and the device is operating normally
The product is very good, but the most important is the excellent technical support
Oswald
LU6MC
 
KI6WJ Rating: 4/5 Mar 4, 2016 19:29 Send this review to a friend
asome  Time owned: months
I have been using the AA-170 on all of my antennas to learn more about each type. I set the hairpin match to the correct impedance on my yagi. I could not do that with my older analyzer. Having all of the data has been very educational.
I built a 5 band trap inverted vee, The AA 170 made setting the traps easy and fast.I tried the mfj 226 first and returned it as it would not perform memory functions, Its software was a joke. The AA-170 shines and does everything the manufacture says it will.
 
G0LUH Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2016 07:57 Send this review to a friend
Awesome  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Used on a loop, vertical on ship and to check antennas contacting ISS.
 
W8VI Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2015 18:01 Send this review to a friend
Works Great!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have had the AA-170 for about 4 months now and have used to adjust a full wave loop, 4 element SteppIR and various dipoles along with a Tarheel mobile installation plus various Hustler resonators. I also helped a friend upgrade his Mosley Pro-57B to a 67B and the AA-170 was valuable in checking SWR, X and R and Smith chart readings before and after placing the antenna back up on the tower.

There is a mild learning curve to using all the features like finding and using the preset band measurements. It's worth taking the time to read the manual to find all the neat features before embarking on a major project. I am also using Eneloop AA rechargeable batteries that have easily lasted a full day of antenna construction and measuring

I had no issues with the included AntScope software. I've installed it on my Windows 7 desktop along with a Windows 10 laptop and everything worked the same as using the AA-170 without the software. Using a standard USB cable with a printer connector on the other end

With the software I am able to use all of the more advanced features like the Smith Chart along with measuring coax lengths and finding shorts. The software also automatically upgraded the AA-170's firmware to current version 205.

Using the AntScope software adds another level of performance to this excellent analyzer and I would recommend it and would purchase again.




 
KG7SNE Rating: 2/5 Jul 20, 2015 11:23 Send this review to a friend
Something you should know  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Here is an update; I copied the original for clarification

I have had the AA-170 and unfortunately have wasted a lot of time not knowing an important limitation!
The AA-170 alone works as advertised. BUT (and it is in caps for a reason) when you use a USB connection to a laptop the readings may be totally inaccurate.

To determine if this is an issue for you, try it alone (no USB) and connected to a computer (via USB) and compare the results.

In my case I tried several USB cables and laptops and determined that the use of the USB/laptop (and provided software) was indeed useless!

The AA-170 without the USB cable - PC connected worked as expected. BUT why purchase the unit if the USB (and software) cannot be utilized?

I have contacted RigExpert and hope they have a solution.



Hello xxxxx,
I have encountered this problem. Your antenna-feeder system has a poor
balancing. Cable, meter, USB-cable, laptop, power wires, the body of the
operator, etc. are elements of the radiator. Their connecting or
disconnecting changing the antenna characteristics. What balun do you use?
I think it should be checked or replaced.
Thanks.
73!
 
KG7SNE Rating: 2/5 Jul 16, 2015 09:24 Send this review to a friend
Something you need to know  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had the AA-170 and unfortunately have wasted a lot of time not knowing an important limitation!
The AA-170 alone works as advertised. BUT (an it is in caps for a reason) when you use a USB connection to a laptop the readings may be totally inaccurate.

To determine if this is an issue for you, try it alone (no USB) and connected to a computer (via USB) and compare the results.

In my case I tried several USB cables and laptops and determined that the use of the USB/laptop (and provided software) was indeed useless!

The AA-170 without the USB cable - PC connected worked as expected. BUT why purchase the unit if the USB (and software) cannot be utilized?

I have contacted RigExpert and hope they have a solution.
 
KF5KOI Rating: 1/5 May 27, 2015 12:32 Send this review to a friend
VHF Calibration Issue   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is My second review of this product. Rigexpert Tech Service refused to verify my concerns by testing the returned unit with settings requested in VHF range. They ran the unit internal self test and said it was fully functional. The calibration issue will not show up using the self test. I have ask for a full refund.
 
KD8BBK Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2015 17:50 Send this review to a friend
Just Love it  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using my AA-170 for some time now and just love it. It is very dependable and accurate. I won't go into too much detail but everything works great and the unit has many options. Don't know how i got along with out for so long. Don't waste your money on the other ones.

KD8BBK Tony
 
K6MTS Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2014 20:30 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Instrument / Tool  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking at the MFJ analyzers for a while, then heard about the RigExperts, then looked at all of the analyzer reviews and these seemed to have very little negative feedback. Quite a few bucks, but figured HF and 2m QRP and QRO is what I will need it for the most so I pulled the trigger on the AA-170.

Nice, user friendly, and has so many features. So far just used it for basic mobile and end fed wire adjusting and tuning. It is soooooo much faster than just an SWR meter! I have only used about 20% of its capabilities and it is worth the bucks just for that 20%.

Iím really glad I purchased this instrument, itís just a joy to operate, and I canít wait to use it again. Check out the YouTube videos to see it in action for yourself.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.