eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3 Help


Reviews Summary for BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3
BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3 Reviews: 24 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $65
Description: This is the 2014 latest Baofeng two way radio with fashionable and human-oriented features. Small and lightweight, it is small enough to fit in a pants pocket. Upgraded frame material and black&orange color matching make it more endurable and give it a more fashionable appearance. Multi-Language manual is available, including English, German and French. Moreover, it comes with a user-friendly user manual for bringing fabulous user experience. It's the best choice for gifts and self-consumption.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.baofengradio.com/en/ProShowcn.asp?ID=230
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

N2HUN Rating: 5/5 Apr 20, 2014 14:04 Send this review to a friend
What's not to like?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
As a ham for over 37 years it's unbelievable that for $69.95 you can get a dual band programmable radio with all accessories and a programming cable. My first 2 meter radio was a 12 channel crystal-controlled rig that cost over $150.00 (with only two crystals, you had to purchase the rest)!

After watching a few YouTube videos on how to program I now have about 100 channels in memory using Chirps software (thank you to those folks). Aesthetically I like the two tone yellow/black, a nice change from all those dull same old colors.
Like the fact that you can even program in NOAA weather frequencies. Keyed up many repeaters with the stock antenna. Having nice QSO's on 2m with this radio. Like the voice that is activated when you press the buttons. Very pleasing ergonomic design. For the price you get everything you need to get on 146/440. This is truly a great age to live in hi hi!
 
KK4TBJ Rating: 4/5 Mar 3, 2014 10:32 Send this review to a friend
Near Greatness  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
User of UV-82L and previous UV-5R Plus model. The GT-3 strengths: diminutive size, somewhat weather-resistant exterior, improvements on the inside(as reported)
Weaknesses: volume control knob (I don't like the faux chrome finish), the non-traditional LCD display(reversed), stock antenna(that's a given!)

In use and compared side by side with UV82L(the current BaoFeng flagship dual band model), even with the 'meh' antenna, reception is essentially the same. The audio is almost the equal of the UV82L being pretty powerful for its size. Can't speak to equivalence regarding transmission, however, when paired with my Diamond dual band mobile antenna, was hitting repeater machines at distances at/exceeding 30 miles as the crow flies.

For me, a relative novice, the BaoFeng GT-3 is overpriced when considered alongside the UV-82L, which as of this writing is selling for about $45($60 on average for GT-3). Whether that price difference reflects where it is in the product's life cycle, its reported limited run, or, the cost of product development with another manufacturer, it lacks the value of the UV-82L while nonetheless still being a remarkable value when compared to similar models offered by other manufacturers.
I could live with its niggles but am likely to re-sell(after a week's usage) to get an HT that offers something beyond what I get from the UV-82L.
Opinions vary, that's mine. KK4TBJ 73s to all!
 
K2DYH Rating: 2/5 Feb 8, 2014 06:57 Send this review to a friend
Not that great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have both a UV-5R+ and the new GT-3.
The UV-5R+ was great. The GT-3 was a big disappointment.
In standby the LCD has a black background with gray numbers which is very hard to read.
You cannot change the active display colors it only has a purple color even though it's in the menu.
The battery is very hard to remove unless you do a little shaving.
I wound up sending it back and ordered a new UV-5R+.
 
7X4RJ Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2014 02:03 Send this review to a friend
nice radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

I have had this radio for about one month now. i like both the outside looks good and the new micro-chips.
One thing I would recommend is getting a higher gain antenna, rather than use the original stock antenna.
Baofeng has not provided downloadable software to program the radio through their USA website. So i have to download it from miklor, also radioddity.
The radio menu is easy to navigate. Similar to the Baofeng UV-5R & UV-82. The radio's audio voice is a pleasant sounding American female voice.
Not the previous Chinese accented English female sounding voice.
The screen is LCD - but is reversed, with a black background and light lettering, which make it easier to see in bright light, or at night.
My hope is that Baofeng will continue to improve their radio line, and offer more radios to compete with the Japanese radios,
perhaps offering other frequencies, or multiple frequencies, (other bands). They are definitely on the right track. Please Note: "This is not a old radio with a new face." Get one and see for yourself. For around $60 dollars, it is worth your consideration.
 
EM75V Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2014 02:33 Send this review to a friend
good radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Radio does what it was design to do, low cost and great value.
It was easy to program using the same program cable that I used for my UV-5ra and UV-82L and the latest chirp program.
The yellow colors around the key pad makes the keys very readable.
I did like that the radio would dim down the lcd display if you had it in scan mode and would become fully bright when you received a incoming signal.
It's a cute, stout little upgrade, certainly the performance improvement makes it worth the extra money IF you live in an area with a ton of intermod.
It is nowhere near as good as a traditional superhet radio like the TYT TH-UVF1, but then it is also a third the price
 
VE3NMM Rating: 5/5 Jan 15, 2014 08:57 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Not only is it improved by looks but the chips inside are also better than my UV5RA+. The light is better and it is tougher as well...
The programming went well and the battery lasts longer too.

I am very happy with it and i would recommend getting it from the great people at Radioditty
 
KK4HFJ Rating: 5/5 Jan 15, 2014 04:23 Send this review to a friend
Crystal clear communications  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've been using this radio for 4 weeks now. It's performing very well in the field, and the upgraded electronics make it a better tool than the UV-5R. The case is more ergonomic and tougher. Easy to program with CHIRP. Charging base not compatible between the two, but the wall adapter is. I got mine from radioddity.com and am very happy with the radio, and with them as a supplier.
 
RJ22GG Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2014 21:45 Send this review to a friend
very good radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
So far, I really like baofeng GT-3. Baofeng claims that this version is limited, but anyway i got one.
The sound is a better. it is still clear when I turn it up to the maxmum volum and not as "tinny" as the older ones.
The battery fits a bit different and seems to be sealed to the body better, along with the side buttons and plug cover.
This radio seems to receive a bit better than the others did, including the BF-F8+. Stations that had static in the past are clear using the same antennas.
The programming cable fit well and worked just fine using the latest version of CHRIP.
Overall, i like it for both the appearance and hardware.
 
VE7LSE Rating: 4/5 Dec 30, 2013 14:31 Send this review to a friend
Way Better Than UV5R  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Got my GT-3 a few weeks ago. I'm very happy with it so far! The front end seems to be a lot better than other Baofeng's. It looks great. Great radio for the price. I have a few more on the way! The stock antenna is ok but does get a bit warm after tx-ing for a few minutes.

73
 
M6RSY Rating: 4/5 Dec 30, 2013 12:27 Send this review to a friend
UV-5R plus improvements!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got my GT-3 after being frustrated that my internal microphone was not working well in my UV-5R+.

I had to trim down the Nagoya 771 antenna plastic around the SMA connector to get a good fit as the radio has a raised plastic collar around the antenna connector. Was successful loading my repeater list using the UV-5R driver and the latest CHIRP software. ( I don't bother with the manufacturer's software)

Went to the top of a hill and hit my favorite repeater and got compliments on my signal and clarity and the speaker seems to be a little better than the UV-5R.

Other than the antenna mod requirement, I am very happy!
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.