eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amateur Radio Periodicals | Sprat Help


Reviews Summary for Sprat
Sprat Reviews: 10 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $14 per year in the US
Description: Quarterly journal of the G-QRP Club.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Sprat.

KA8SYV Rating: 5/5 Mar 20, 2014 07:18 Send this review to a friend
Lots of Construction Ideas  Time owned: more than 12 months
The most obvious landmark of the QRP hobby is low power operation ... another is construction and SPRAT is FULL of good homebrewing articles.

The price here in the USA is now $18, which I consider a bargain. There's not a issue that passes that doesn't motivate me to heat up the Hakko.

When my interest shifts to another aspect of QRP, all I need to do to acquire more information is to leaf through SPRAT back issues. There's nearly always an old article to provide more information for a new project.

The old issues are available on DVD from G-QRP, too. As editor G3RJV observed, even SPRAT's first issue is a "cracking good read."

I've never been disappointed in SPRAT. I bet you won't be either. 73 KA8SYV Frank

 
W5HEH Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2014 23:35 Send this review to a friend
Great QRP mag.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Very good Build Articles , i am enjoying learning from them!
 
VA7AAX Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2008 18:58 Send this review to a friend
very FB!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got a SPRAT on cd. Wow! The little magazine is filled with projects and hints/kinks. This was the sort of magazine I wanted. The magazine is a great read.

Recommended 100%!
 
G3XBM Rating: 5/5 Nov 18, 2008 13:36 Send this review to a friend
THE magazine for QRP enthusiasts  Time owned: more than 12 months
If every other ham magazine had to go because of poverty, credit crunches and the like then SPRAT would be the one magazine I would keep.

At 6 per year for 4 quarterly issues packed with QRP circuits it remains an absolute mine of information for real homebrewers. This is the magazine to find out about REAL amateur radio - the sort you can make for the price of a few pints of beer and enjoy for years to come.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Nov 10, 2006 07:32 Send this review to a friend
Good read  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This magazine is a good read and for 10,-- Euros a year its reasonable priced. I only wish it to have more pages and more advice for beginners to QRP.
 
SMHAM Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2006 04:54 Send this review to a friend
Value for money  Time owned: more than 12 months
At GBP6 it is reasonably priced even with a very strong GBP and you get a club membership as well. You won't find any advanced constructions in it though but a lot of useful small circuits and easy projects along with some very nice information on what fellow QRPers have been up to. A true classic in the field of QRP. A must for the true QRPer!
 
VU2LID Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2005 16:13 Send this review to a friend
Great QRP Journal !  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been enjoying SPRAT for more than 15 years ! Unlike most of the other QRP journals (contributions to most of which are usually from a specific country or region) you will find articles written by QRP enthusiasts from all around the world in SPRAT. Format of the journal has remained the same - digest sized journal with full of interesting practical technical and construction articles, along with some essential operating and members news - for a very long time. Since more than 65% to 70% of SPRAT contains useful technical information, I often find myself using the back issues as a good reference source. SPRAT will be of great value to anyone interested in QRP Operation and Amateur Radio HomeBrewing.
 
K7VO Rating: 4/5 Feb 19, 2005 20:00 Send this review to a friend
Always interesting. Neither big nor slick but very worthwhile.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've subscribed to SPRAT for just over a year now. OK, it's not QRP Quarterly which remains the premier magazine for low power operations. It's neither big nor slick. The little digest sized magazine always has interesting articles covering every aspect of QRP operation. Idiosyncratic was a good term chosen by a previous reviewer. It may not be impressive but it is almost always a good read.
 
G3CWI Rating: 4/5 Jun 20, 2004 12:19 Send this review to a friend
Idiosyncratic but good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I enjoy reading Sprat. It always has something of interest in it and at the price, it's unbeatable.
http://www.gqrp.com/ is the URL.
 
K4JSI Rating: 5/5 Jul 22, 2001 11:17 Send this review to a friend
Excellent QRP Magazine  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm a long time member of the G-QRP Club and SPRAT, which stands for Small Power Amateur Transmitting, is the major reason. Every issue (it's published quarterly)is interesting. SPRAT has lots of homebrew projects, very clever in the main. Recently FUNK Amateur, a German publication, issued a CD-ROM with the first 100 issues of SPRAT, and of course I bought one.
VERY occasionally, there is an editorial "boo boo", e.g. a missing schematic, but it's corrected in the next issue. The originality of the contributions far outweighs any such minor annoyances.
If one is interested in QRP, SPRAT and G-QRP Club membership is well worthwhile. It's right up there with QRP ARCI membership and their excellent quarterly journal QRP Quarterly.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.