eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Keys & Paddles | Nye Viking Speed-X Keys Help


Reviews Summary for Nye Viking Speed-X Keys
Nye Viking Speed-X Keys Reviews: 34 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $40 (Approx.)
Description: First made by Les Logan, then by E.F. Johnson, and now by Wm M. Nye Company, the zinc bases of the Speed-X keys have been cast in the the same molds since the 1930's
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Nye Viking Speed-X Keys.

<— Page 2 of 4 —>

K5RIX Rating: 5/5 Dec 29, 2010 18:33 Send this review to a friend
No need to prepare for SKN  Time owned: more than 12 months
I reviewed my Speed-X straight key here Aug 8, 2005. So now it has been in use for a bit over eight years. Glad I got the Navy knob (extra with the oval base) and the aluminum baseplate.

This key still feeds my need. While stationed in Japan a couple years I got to try a few really nice keys. The Japanese keys were great, and had a fit and finish more in line with the technology of today, and they were without exception quite expensive. But keys are not hood ornaments. I noticed the spring tension to be more stiff and to my liking on the GHD and Hi-Mound, but not like the original Bencher RJ's (way too stiff, and the replacements way too soft). So I put a half-turn on the Speed-X spring and, voila, perfect.

Other than roughly annual cleaning with alcohol/swab and one or two passes of the Vibroplex contact-cleaner strip, my Speed-X has required no maintenance. There is a kind of Geist with this key and me; I operate almost exclusively CW, and about half of that is on a straight key. It's pretty easy to chug along around 20-22 WPM with the Speed-X. Although I'm not rough on keys, my J-38 feels a bit fragile, and the Nye Master Key (since sold, but a pretty nice key) always felt mushy. I have a little LTA key that has the contacts in back which is quite nice, but it isn't as solid as the Speed-X. For true delight, rig up a two-conductor cable and put your Speed-X in parallel with a bug. My Speed-X has a lot of hours on it, and it still works just fine. As stated elsewhere in these reviews, keys are a kinda personal thing. Personally, I really prefer this one.
 
BOYSCLUBRADIO Rating: 5/5 Sep 3, 2010 00:11 Send this review to a friend
best for the least  Time owned: more than 12 months
We have three of these keys. some are orginal from the 60's and 70s. (johnson speed X) One has a sticker on the bottom from allied radio saying 5.95.

Best key around. We had 1/4 inch red brass plates made for them engraved with the donars SK call sign.

Use only 3 rubber stick on feet one at the top and one at each corner under the rear of the 3x5x1/4 brass plate. Keeps it from moving around and gives it a nice feel for sending. Looks golden when all buffed up.
 
KG6QNK Rating: 5/5 Sep 2, 2010 16:48 Send this review to a friend
Satisfied  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is the first and only Key I have ever owned, maybe the last. Simple, functional, durable. Holds Adjustments well; even with course threads. Remember to compensate about the thickness of a thread when locking adjustment with the locknut. I developed a hybrid American/European "Mut" style of sending that works quite well for me. I ordered the Base along with it; starts getting a little pricey (you can get a surplus "Junker" for about the same); however, it's made in America out of excellent materials. Gold plated Silver Contacts; don't make full face-to-face contact-angles involved prevent that- might be a good thing. Versatile: could be used as main station Key and Field QRP Key- small and light. Nothing fancy; however, am pleased.
 
2EOAKG Rating: 5/5 Jan 22, 2010 04:04 Send this review to a friend
A little charmer  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I love this key,its simple design and sturdy construction are a delight.Its so easy to adjust and use.A terrific key that takes some beating.
 
TOPPER Rating: 4/5 Jul 22, 2009 00:13 Send this review to a friend
Love It!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a really good straight key. There may be better, but I can find no fault with this key.
 
WV1K Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2008 18:36 Send this review to a friend
Time-proven keys  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own a few of these for different rigs as backup.

For a low price these are excellent. Really, this was what was available for the last 70 years until we had to start with $10,000 rigs and $400 straight keys.

Adding a Morsex base makes a stable key.

 
KC8SLC Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2008 16:20 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Got mine about 2 weeks ago and I'm very pleased with it!! Had trouble with the practice straight key {MFJ} and thought I would never catch on-that all changed with the Speed-X!!!! The adjustments are easy and the Navy knob comfortable; I would recommended this to anyone.
 
W8ZNX Rating: 3/5 Jun 22, 2007 14:20 Send this review to a friend
not for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
i do not like this key
its well made
but
i just do not
care for the way it
feels

telegraph key
one op loves
can be
same telegraph key
another op
can not stand

you may love it

i do not

Mac dit dit
 
KD1E Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2005 10:07 Send this review to a friend
Very nice - a keeper.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought mine used off e-bay and was fortunate to get it with a home-made base. The key is black crinkle with nickle finish and the navy knob.

When I got the key I put some moly lube on the pivot points just because it seemed like a good thing to do. I notice if I tighten the pivot bolts too much the key gets hard to move. Back the bolts off just a bit and it becomes smooth and crisp again.

As others have pointed out, the key is basic and just plain works. I can only compare it to my memories of the cheap (Radio Shack) key I had as a novice in the late 1970s. This key is much better. I also had a chance to use a Nye Master Key in the 1980's but I recall it having a bit of a soft feel since the contacts were mounted on the thin bottom cover plate. Anyway, I believe the basic Speed-X key is a better choice.

I really like the navy knob. I have another Speed-X that does not have the navy knob and it works just fine but the big knob has a nicer feel.

I had a 40 minute QSO with it last night and never felt the desire to go back to the Kent paddles & keyer.

I'm really looking forward to straight key night this year.

- Keith -
 
K9HCK Rating: 5/5 Jun 5, 2005 12:30 Send this review to a friend
Great Key  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought mine in 1957 and despite owning bugs,keyboards and various electronic keyers I still prefer the old straight key. Black crinkle finish base and brass upper it still performs as flawlessly as my old fist allows.
 
<— Page 2 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.