eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | Yaesu FT-920 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-920
Yaesu FT-920 Reviews: 165 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $2299
Description: Yaesu FT 920 HF/6M Transceiver
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.wm7d.net/hamradio/ft920/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-920.

Page 1 of 17 —>

VK2LEE Rating: 5/5 Nov 28, 2014 03:49 Send this review to a friend
I'll never part with this great Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm an SSB only operator [licensed for 28 years] and I've owned this Great Transceiver for around 10 years. I bought it New for $2995 and its still a pleasure to Use. I use most of its SSB features which include DSP. I find I can hear most Contest stations even though some are on the same frequency. The processor works great with the headset I use, and I receive "good audio" reports from DX stations. I also just love the orange digital readout display. Its Very easy on these old eyes, and very easy to read. This radio has a quality feel about it and its very heavy. I had to reinforce My Shelving to handle the weight. I would recommend this radio to anyone looking for a great 2nd hand Radio with quality features. I'd give it a 6 out of 6.. Hi Hi.

Lee VK2LEE
 
DL2DCX Rating: 5/5 May 10, 2014 12:42 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
It is a very nice rig. I added the 500 Hz CW filter and the FM-unit. Ive had no problems with the 920 until now. I wont replace it with another TRX. Great for rag chewing or even contesting. Digimodes are no problem with an output power of 75 watts.

73,

Marcus, DL2DCX
 
VK3LBT Rating: 5/5 Apr 16, 2014 20:21 Send this review to a friend
Good radio  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Bought this radio as a backup on HF, it has now become my main HF radio. I find this unit a pleasure to use and the NR/DSP works very well when the bands are noisy. I found the EQ settings and audio tone required some experimenting but once mastered the tx audio is very pleasing with a high quality. I have found that the best microphone for this radio is (shock, horror ) the Kenwood MC80, with careful setting of the EQ/Tone the audio is very good and I have had numerous stations both within VK and Dx mention the clarity of the audio.

As for the functions and menus I have found them easy to navigate, this is a good radio and it still runs with the big dogs in the pack even after all these years.

Cheers
Barry VK3LBT
 
G0YNM Rating: 4/5 Oct 27, 2013 10:13 Send this review to a friend
Great set but has faults.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I Love this rig.. had it for several years, it a whole lot of radio for your money. many operating features and this should have been the standard HF set for many Hams.

I say 'should have' because many of these sets do get problems, read the comments above and previously on Eham here to see what type.

The Guy i bought mine off (in Stoke) never told me about the problem my 920 had. At switch-on the VFOs and a couple of (very minor) user settings are set at 7.000.00mhz LSB every time ..
the memories etc, everything else - all work perfectly, its obviously stored in non-volatile memory .. so why the VFO data couldn't be, ask Yaesu.

The CR2025 (or whatever number) backup battery circuit is not working, at least, not properly, there's a problem which drains the tiny button cell after just 2 days, it was a huge pain at first. I contacted Yaesu UK who couldn't care less, so i tried them a couple more times, and they still gave me the cold shoulder again after asking for help, so i gave up.

I gave up on Yaesu equipment TOTALLY after 'Yaesu UK' gave me this dreadful attitude for customer support. Never again. never.

So why do i love the set ? Its switched on almost permanently, for the last 5 or 6 years, as we had a 10m SSB net locally, with nets every evening, and being on all day al night, with only a tiny few days off in the entire time, and it still works the same as it did when i bought it.

Other reasons, - well its actually a nice looking set too, with very good ergonomics, controls hidden on the back on most other sets are all on the front of the FT920, where they should be. its a base station set, a huge array of connections live on the back, for everything you'll ever need, curiously, the labeling and legend for these connectors is actually on the top of the set, at the back..

The user experience is mostly very pleasing indeed, the main controls are 'weighted' and feel slow and solid, (unlike the light and flimsy feeling ones on my Kenwood TS 870s-AT) - all apart from the extreme-right dual-concentric HI/Low cut rotaries for the AF DSP bandwidth, which feel light and flimsy like they're made of ping-pong ball guage cheap plastic.

The front panel is pretty, logical and complete, but is plastic sounding if tapped on (so don't!) though its of much better quality than the DSP Hi/Lo cut controls, the front panel is slightly textured too, which i like, so it doesn't show fingerprints or look cheap, shiny or tatty. I do wish the numeric keys (actually all the labeling) was back-lit.

The voice recorder works well, as does the recording off-air, but is of little use in rea;ity, if i need that functionality i would just wire up a computer. the particular blunder in this department is why cant i replay what audio the 920 has just recorded off-air, back over the air (on TX) to my contact who could then hear what he sounds like at my station ?

The huge display, although i dont care for huge backlit LCDs, too much light coming at you, the low-freq of amber light does make it easier to see than if it was a shorter wavelength like blue or something, but maybe some coloured plastic over the display would sufice, but its purely subjective, I'd preferably have it inverted like on the FT1000MP, thats the aesthetics covered.

Mine has the Inrad cascade filter board in, so the receiver is the nicest HF receiver i've ever heard. Ever. its just a joy to listen to, on a decent speaker, or even take baseband out to a seperate HIFI and hear how nice some tansmissions actually sound.

I have the AM pass-through board so i can BCL too, set on 'wide' its far too wide for comms, but for AM broadcast its outstanding. the 'Narrow' switch switches in some narrow filter then making it perfect for narrowband AM listening. best of both worlds.
Mine even transmits AM - and what quality TX audio too, but - without the proper filter board its a *little wide* but does put most AM on other HF sets to shame, though the 920 AM TX audio is likely the same as many others with the proper narrow AM filter fitted.. but i have no plans to do so. there's plenty of empty space on 10m, or 6m for wide AM use, although it would be very antisocial to use it on the narrower Amateur bands.

The 920 looks like it may be a nice CW rig, with many CW features not seen on many sets in this price range. The SSB TX bandwidth cant be changed, like you can on the IF DSP sets, bit there are 4 mic EQ settings along with carrier point adjustments so experimenting with other mic's are fun. compressor works well, stay less than 10db.
Amateur branded mics are such a rip-off, usually costing much more than (industry standard) Shure SM 57 or whatever, so get a stand and a non Amateur branded mic, an external PTT and maybe even a mixer/EQ.

FM is just a typical HF rig FM .. but on the FT-920 i like that it has CTCSS on RX too. The auto notch is only at AF sadly, but it does work on AM and FM too, (as do the DSP hi-lo cut rotaries) which i found odd when i first got the set, and listening to the USA repeaters on 10m ...

Summing up, it seems like the FT-920 should have been a FT1000MP with 6m, but some people the same problems with the sets, but to be fair, most y2k vintage rigs probably have these kind of issues too, but if you get a good one, hang on to it, and it will perform exceptionally well, and be good to listen to for very long hours without being tiring or fatiguing. People sell them, then miss them, then buy another.

If, like me, you get a 'slightly flaky' one and Yaesu UK basically dont want to know, you may be able to forgive any of the set's faults that it may have, i have, and it has been used hugely, and so i dont think i'll go back to any of my other HF sets, my Auto ATU stuck on once or twice, i sometimes have to switch the set on and off once or twice from cold, as the DSP light blinks, the VFO backup battery failed so its always on 40m at switch-on, even if i last used 6m, i still dont want to get rid of it, its too good a set for these niggles to make me get rid, although i often wonder what it would be like if it really was .. perfect..
Your milage may vary...
 
W9RNA Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2013 18:49 Send this review to a friend
Have owned it new since 1998  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio in fall of '98. To replace a TS-440sat, that had display problems. I was at AES in Milw. and did a side by side test with this radio, and a TS-570. The FT-920 beat it hands down.I have used this radio at field day sites, but mostly from the home. The tx audio is the best I have ever used. And the rx is next to none. I have been a ham for over 35 years. And have used everything form Heathkits to yeasu. And this one will never leave the shack. They will have to pry it from cold dead hands.
 
W7EJT Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2013 09:35 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLENT!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK, had it for about 2 months. Previous experience with TS-180s, TS-450SAT, FT-450D, IC-7200, IC-735 and FT-890SAT. None of these can touch the FT-920. Receive noise floor is REALLY excellent, and the audio DSP works better than IF DSP in other transceivers. It has the INRAD SSB filter and it really works well.

The only reason I gave it a 5 is that I couldn't give it a 6!!!
 
N7RST Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2013 11:35 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio - Period.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well, I have kicked myself in the butt over and over and over, each and every time I part with a 920 for something with flashiness only to wish and look for another. Why? The 920 has a very stellar receiver. Sure, not a contest radio but I don't contest on a continual basis. Very very quiet receiver, very easy to use, no funny business with goofy DSP filters that make it sound like you are listening in a shower, or muffled, or, you get the picture.

It may by some folks who love to spend $10K on radios, to be old, out of date, etc. but I can tell you, it hears and hears very well and have good reciever performance. For a radio under $1K, you cannot come close.

There is an allure with this radio, I have not quite figured it out. Either the wonderful recieve audio, looks, display, feel, don't know. But it is a great great radio.
 
AK6ZZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2013 22:28 Send this review to a friend
Nice transceiver   Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought a mechanics special FT920 about two years ago for $300 and drove it down to Yaesu for repair in cypress. They fixed it for about $200 and now it works great. It was in very nice physical condition when I purchased it, and now wow, it is a real nice rig.

I have it at my inlaws house in Texas and only get out there once or twice a year with my family but when I do it always powers on and it is such a nice radio to operate. The ergonomics are fantastic. The receive audio out of the stock speaker is very good. I also like the DSP and I think it is really effective.

I use an elecraft K3 at my home and it is awesome and in a different class of receiver but for $500 you can't compare the two transceivers. But if you get a chance to purchase one for about $500 it will be money well spent. This is a great rig for a second QTH or as a backup without a doubt.
 
KE4EX Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2013 08:15 Send this review to a friend
Still here still running strong  Time owned: more than 12 months
My last review on Feb 25, 2003 stands strong.
Wow can you imagine over 10 years, love it.
Almost traded her for a ft 950- WHEW....
The FT 920 is a great all around rig.
Not great in one area but very good in all.
I have added a 500hz cw filter so now she is loaded.
I guess she is a keeper..
 
LA8DOA Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2013 16:01 Send this review to a friend
YuuuP  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Use it 99% on CW.
Very easy and fun to operate!
Superb RX and great audio reports with Heil headset!
I love it a lot.......



 
Page 1 of 17 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.