eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | Yaesu FT-920 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-920
Yaesu FT-920 Reviews: 171 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $2299
Description: Yaesu FT 920 HF/6M Transceiver
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.wm7d.net/hamradio/ft920/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-920.

<— Page 2 of 18 —>

W9RNA Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2013 18:49 Send this review to a friend
Have owned it new since 1998  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio in fall of '98. To replace a TS-440sat, that had display problems. I was at AES in Milw. and did a side by side test with this radio, and a TS-570. The FT-920 beat it hands down.I have used this radio at field day sites, but mostly from the home. The tx audio is the best I have ever used. And the rx is next to none. I have been a ham for over 35 years. And have used everything form Heathkits to yeasu. And this one will never leave the shack. They will have to pry it from cold dead hands.
 
W4FBI Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2013 09:35 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLENT!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK, had it for about 2 months. Previous experience with TS-180s, TS-450SAT, FT-450D, IC-7200, IC-735 and FT-890SAT. None of these can touch the FT-920. Receive noise floor is REALLY excellent, and the audio DSP works better than IF DSP in other transceivers. It has the INRAD SSB filter and it really works well.

The only reason I gave it a 5 is that I couldn't give it a 6!!!
 
W7NKR Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2013 11:35 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio - Period.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well, I have kicked myself in the butt over and over and over, each and every time I part with a 920 for something with flashiness only to wish and look for another. Why? The 920 has a very stellar receiver. Sure, not a contest radio but I don't contest on a continual basis. Very very quiet receiver, very easy to use, no funny business with goofy DSP filters that make it sound like you are listening in a shower, or muffled, or, you get the picture.

It may by some folks who love to spend $10K on radios, to be old, out of date, etc. but I can tell you, it hears and hears very well and have good reciever performance. For a radio under $1K, you cannot come close.

There is an allure with this radio, I have not quite figured it out. Either the wonderful recieve audio, looks, display, feel, don't know. But it is a great great radio.
 
AK6ZZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2013 22:28 Send this review to a friend
Nice transceiver   Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought a mechanics special FT920 about two years ago for $300 and drove it down to Yaesu for repair in cypress. They fixed it for about $200 and now it works great. It was in very nice physical condition when I purchased it, and now wow, it is a real nice rig.

I have it at my inlaws house in Texas and only get out there once or twice a year with my family but when I do it always powers on and it is such a nice radio to operate. The ergonomics are fantastic. The receive audio out of the stock speaker is very good. I also like the DSP and I think it is really effective.

I use an elecraft K3 at my home and it is awesome and in a different class of receiver but for $500 you can't compare the two transceivers. But if you get a chance to purchase one for about $500 it will be money well spent. This is a great rig for a second QTH or as a backup without a doubt.
 
KE4EX Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2013 08:15 Send this review to a friend
Still here still running strong  Time owned: more than 12 months
My last review on Feb 25, 2003 stands strong.
Wow can you imagine over 10 years, love it.
Almost traded her for a ft 950- WHEW....
The FT 920 is a great all around rig.
Not great in one area but very good in all.
I have added a 500hz cw filter so now she is loaded.
I guess she is a keeper..
 
LA8DOA Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2013 16:01 Send this review to a friend
YuuuP  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Use it 99% on CW.
Very easy and fun to operate!
Superb RX and great audio reports with Heil headset!
I love it a lot.......



 
K9EGS Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2013 20:25 Send this review to a friend
Great radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my FT-920 used in July 2009 at a local hamfest. I was a little reluctant laying out $600 to a complete stranger, but after spending some time talking to the seller I was convinced that he was a good guy and not trying to unload a piece of junk on me. I was originaly going to purchase a new Icom IC-718, but the Yaesu FT-920 was a bit cheaper and had many more features than the IC-718. This was my first radio and as far as I am concerned would be fine if it is my last.
It performs well on all bands. I operate SSB and PSK-31. It has great receive audio. I am told that it also has great transmit audio using the Yaesu MD-100A8X desk microphone, but I have to talk in a louder than normal voice level to get the ALC meter to proper deflection. I solved that problem with the addition of the EQplus from W2IHY. Wow, what an audio boost! The radio puts out a full 100 watts on all bands. The digital voice recorder is a nice feature to use for repetitive "CQ" calling for contests. The noise blanker works very well to remove pulse type noise. The notch filter usually cuts out any interfering heterodynes. The DSP high cut/low cut dials are very handy in reducing interference. The split function is very easy to use and the radio has 2 separate VFOs.
The FT-920 has a built in antenna tuner that works fairly well. I normally don't use the tuner though because it does not have as wide a range as my outboard MFJ auto tuner. One nice thing that I really like is that most all of the normal everyday functions that you would use are right there on the front panel dials and buttons. No menus to dig through to change simple things like RF power level, etc. There are many other features to this radio too numerous to go into here.
I have been quite pleased with this radio for 3-1/2 years and would recommend it to anyone. As you can see from all the other reviews on this site, most people are pleased with it. So if you get the chance to buy one I would say go ahead and see for yourself that it is a solid good performing radio.
 
MI6OJK Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2012 15:41 Send this review to a friend
excellent base rig  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Bought a yaesu ft 920 used few months back, it was like new nota mark on it. Its my second hf radio sold my icom 720a and accessories to buy it im Im glad I did.

pros: excellent receiver
Internal atu works brilliantly I always get 1:1 with my monoband verticals.
voice/audio recorder
good size radio
Dsp cleans up signals well with notch for pulsing noises
All in all love the rig would buy another!
 
W7NKR Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2012 08:30 Send this review to a friend
Came back to the 920  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned 920's off and on over the years and always find myself coming back to them. What is the allure?

Well, it is one of the most ergonomically well designed radios I have ever owned. The receive audio is wonderful to listen to, the display is easy to read, understand and all the pretinent data is right there. Menu options are mostly ones you set and never change so you don't have to go in and dink around looking for a power setting, etc.

Pros about the radio (IMHO)
1. Great Receive Audio
2. Ease in use
3. "Right" sized for base operation
4. Controls well laid out (RF Control is an actual knob!).
5. Sensitive receiver and great NB
6. Great Performance, built in keyer, Speech processor
7. Separate Rcv Antenna output for receiving

Cons:
1. Wish it had an IF Out so I could run a band scope (SDR IF Stage) software off it (working on that).
2. Wish the MONITOR function had more audio punch/output (a bit hard to really hear yourself well to determine your output audio).
3. Wish it came with the antenna Tuner Optional (to reduce weight, cost and heat). Never use mine.
4. Wish the display could be multi colored (but the current "amber" color is awesome.
5. Only 1 filter (optional) slot; INRAD add on boards are a bit clumsy and expensive. Prefer a drop in slot.

All minor nits from someone that is spoiled with other radios.

Seems Yaesu hit a home run with it. Just wish it had more filter slots rather than the INRAD klunky arrangement, but to date, I have no trouble with the CW Filter and the tunable AF DSP.

A well rounded radio for any op.
 
WU0R Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2012 03:31 Send this review to a friend
Underrated, great performer!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The 920 has been around for a while and quite honestly, a very undervalued, underrated performer. Won't do into all the aspects of the radio but here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
1. One of the top 5 ergonomically set up and designed radios.
2. Great rcvr, great DSP/NR (hard to believe non IF stage).
3. Easy to use, to understand, minimal menu tinkering required.
4. Hears exceptionally well and the rcv Audio sounds great!
5. Display is very easy to use, operate and understand. Nothing buried or too busy.


Cons:
1. Would like to see certain functions on the display perhaps in a Red font (i.e. MONI, Split, etc.). User preference.
2. Would like to see some extra controls brought out like the FT-1000 series. Again, user perference.
3. Remove the antenna tuner - make it optional. Most Base radios never use them when you run an amp in the shack.
4. Like to see add'l filter slots. INRAD switch board mod is a bit cumbersome and clunky.
5. AGC: would like to see adjustable AGC constants not just Off, Slow, Fast (then again, most radios don't have this feature either).


All in all, this radio for the 600-800 you pay for a used one, you won't go wrong. Exceptional rcvr, great on 6 meters, wonderful rcv audio, easy to use, all around great base or back up radio for your shack and doesn't cost you $xx,xxx.00 dollars. A keeper.
 
<— Page 2 of 18 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.