eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | FlexRadio FLEX-6300 Help


Reviews Summary for FlexRadio FLEX-6300
FlexRadio FLEX-6300 Reviews: 49 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $2,499
Description: FLEX-6300 for the Serious Amateur

The FLEX-6300™ is for the amateur operator who wants to
experience the magic of software defined radio in the
highest performance 100W transceiver family available today.
The FLEX-6300 provides an entry point into multi-dimensional
amateur radio operations from CW to the latest digital
modes. Providing dual panadapters and waterfall displays,
as well as two full-performance slice receivers, the FLEX-
6300 opens up new operating capabilities at an affordable
price.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.flexradio.com/amateur-products/flex-6000-signature-series/flex-6300/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the FlexRadio FLEX-6300.

Page 1 of 5 —>

K4YAB Rating: 5/5 Jun 6, 2017 04:28 Send this review to a friend
Top of the Line !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased my Flex 6300 and Maestro used. It is a Top of the line HF Transceiver . The Panadapter on the Maestro is Great ! GREAT RESOLUTION
 
KD2LMR Rating: 5/5 May 10, 2017 17:36 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful radio, easy to set up, use, and grow with.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have had my license for almost 1 year. Everything is new to me and I don't have the luxury of having a neighbor who I can ask questions of each day. I do have some friends at the local club that has helped with many things. However, I'm the only one in my area with a Flex (system) 6300. Fortunately, it's so easy to set up, I didn't need help. That's saying a lot for me because I'm not technologically inclined, nor the most patient. Learning curve is painless and quick.

I'm learning my way as I go and become interested in different things. Ham has so much to offer. I recently got started with PSK-31. I found it challenging to figure out on my other radio. Cables, downloads, etc. My Flex, I watched a Youtube video, followed the instructions and was up and running in no time.

I love having the ability of having two radios up and running at the same time, via the split screen, pan adapter function. Point and click where the action is, so much fun. I'm not much of a rag chewer, more listening at this point and it sure is easy to see all the QSO's out there.

Lot's more to learn and experience. It's nice to know I will not out grow my rig as it will probably grow (via SDR) faster than I can learn.

Haven't needed phone support but it's there. Excellent support via users on line at the Flex web cite and Facebook.

Go for it! I would be shocked if you didn't love it. If not I believe there is a 30 day return policy.
 
N5LB Rating: 5/5 Mar 22, 2017 14:09 Send this review to a friend
Two Months - Still A-Ok  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After two months and hundreds of CW QSO's the 6300 remains the best equipment ever in this shack. Today was a CWops CWT, a one hour CW event featuring moderate to high speed CW and sometimes a lot of power. The difference between some of the loudest stations at 10 over and the weakest at ~S3 (ambient noise level) had zero effect even when the two stations were separated by a few hundred hz. I know, not scientific at all but the fun for me in the past two months is experiencing no overloads, intermod as far as I can tell, and the ability to hear more stations than I can work at 100W. CWT can be very crowded at times and the 6300 holds up better than the F5000, and it was very good.

Oh, and not a hint of software issues running multiple programs and monitors on an A10/W10
 
VA3MW Rating: 5/5 Mar 22, 2017 05:49 Send this review to a friend
Onward and upward  Time owned: more than 12 months
By far the best HF deck I have used in over 40 years. And, I started with a DX40 and an HR10B :)

Any computer you can buy today that is built in the last 3 years will run SmartSDR fine with little or no effort. Interfacing all the sound card modes requires no additional cables to buy. And, it is easy to do. How cool is that?

I run mine at my remote base in an unheated building. It has seen -25C and has started up without effort and 'just works'. While true plug and play remote is not yet out (but is coming), I have been running remote for almost a year without a flaw using a Raspberry PI.

I have run it in an RTTY contest and copied signals where no other traditional radio was able to do so. I was able to operate closer to other stations than ever. If you want to give that a try, I highly recommend it.

I will never go back to a tradition radio as the thing is old once you buy it. Also, my 6300 outperforms many radios and give me the biggest bang for my buck.

In fact, I never use SmartSDR anymore to operator. I use my Maestro or sometimes my iPad. :) I bought my 6300 the day it came out at Dayton.

The customer service is second to none (ok, maybe Elecraft is in the same position). Try to get Icom, Kenwood or Yaesu to listen to feedback on how your radio works. You get what Japan sends you and they don't listen to feedback (I speak from someone who used to be a dealer).

I hope that helps a few of you.

Mike va3mw
 
WB2JVB Rating: 5/5 Mar 4, 2017 17:10 Send this review to a friend
Easy to setup, easy to use  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Like many, I kept toying with getting a Flex for a few years. But I never like the old ones that used firewire, and put all the processing in the computer. The 6300 is amazing. I had it setup and running in under an hour. The screens are very easy to use after about 15 minutes.

Of course you can do lots more, with profiles, and other settings, but just getting it on the air is painless. I have no network problems. It is connected to a switch in the shack. No traffic delays.

Seeing the spectrum while operating is so cool. Sure you can do this with other panadaptors, but here it is all integrated. See a signal, double click it and talk.

I use DXLABS for rig control and logging, etc. Works like a charm. Took a minute to setup. Much easier than my old Kenwood TS-590. JT65 works perfectly too.

I have had zero problems. No hangs, no needed reboots, etc etc. A first class piece of hardware.
 
N5LB Rating: 5/5 Feb 7, 2017 10:22 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Radio and Company  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First off I traded my F5000 with FlexRadio's program. They offered a price within a couple of hundred that I figured to net on the open market. Trading relieved me of worries about scams, shipping etc. So it worked for me.

I have had the 6300 for a couple of weeks and I find it to be much higher performance than my 5000. Mostly I chase CW DX and the 6300 meets all of my expectations. Software installation and setup went very smoothly and maybe took 30 minutes. No bumps or issues. The F5000 is an outstanding radio to be sure - no complaints except for the load on my computer.

The 6300 uses much less CPU time. So far no hiccups. None on a W10x64, AMD A10.

I have read some comments from hams complaining about the wideband noise blanker. Well, it works for me - followed the information in the software manual. The setting of AGC-T and the WNB both need to be used.

Some have noted the absence of preselector filters. I was concerned. No need. For me this has proven to be a non issue.

My experience with Flex throughout the transaction was uniformly excellent. From the initial discussions with sales to the receipt of my trade credit, each step was very professional and business like.

That's my two cents worth.

 
PA1EC Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2016 02:07 Send this review to a friend
Great!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I sold my Yaesu FTdx5000MP after 3 years and bought a Flex6300. I am very happy with this transceiver,no regrets that I sold the Yaesu. I also bought the Maestro and I am now QRV in the livingroom and garden and also use the IOS app for my Iphone and Ipad.
Great receiver and a lot of settings that makes using the TRX very good. I am using the latest beta software and have no poblems at all.

 
KA4KOE Rating: 4/5 Jul 20, 2016 07:50 Send this review to a friend
Good Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I swore off SDR transceivers about a year and half ago, or so I thought. I went thru a brief interlude of insanity and purchased a Flex 6300 in April 16.

I think the Flex concept has matured somewhat since I sold my 5000a. Instead of a "fat pipe" to the computer, the heavy processing is done inside the box. The computer/radio interface is very stable and not prone to RF like the firewire type of yore.

For the most part, I'm pleased. Myself and others have issues with the radio acquiring an IP address from routers and wifi extenders on first power up. A solution is to leave the radio on at all times.
 
HB9FLU Rating: 5/5 May 16, 2016 22:02 Send this review to a friend
just brillant  Time owned: more than 12 months
Obschon auch der Flex 6300 nicht perfekt ist - nichts ist perfekt - erhält er doch eine glatte 5 als Bewertung.

Als erstes SDR Radio kaufte ich mir einen Flex 1500 und fand sogleich Gefallen daran. Ich entschied mich umgehend auf den 6300er zu setzen und habe ich nach 2 Wochen überlegen gekauft - und nie bereut!

Ich besitze diverse Radios aus verschiedenen Dekaden und sowohl Einsteigergeräte als auch Premiumteile.

Der Flex 6300 ist ein tolles Gerät mit einem ausgezeichneten Empfänger, selbst an meinen "grossen" Drähten und am Beam bin ich bisher nie in den Hammer gelaufen. Andere zeigen da schon mal Beschwerden.

Ich verwende ihn ausschliesslich für SSB, Transverterbetrieb und für DIGI modes. CW beherrsche ich leider (noch) nicht und kann dazu nichts sagen.

Die unsäglichen Foren beachte ich nicht, ebensowenig wie das teilweise dumme, sektiererische Geschwätz auf den Bändern - in Bezug auf Model- Marketing- und Kommunikationspolitik von FlexRadio. (Ihr wisst schon: Predistortion........)

Es wird interessant sein wohin die Reise führt, ich habe den Flex Zug bestiegen, lasse mich überraschen und geniesse die bisher völlig störungsfreie Fahrt.

Just fell in love!

73 de Manfred
 
KH6DAN Rating: 5/5 Apr 12, 2016 07:59 Send this review to a friend
FLEX keeps improving  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
While doing some research on the internet I noticed the popularity of SDR transceivers increasing. I've been on HF since 2007 and have owned an Icom 706 and a couple of Kenwood (TS-530S, TS2000, TS-480 HX). I took a chance and bought a Flex-3000 on eBay.

Using a SDR for me was opening up a completely new dimension. It's comparable to driving a stick shift car, and then going to an automatic over night. The Flex-3000 software (PowerSDR) does require a desktop/laptop with some muscle. The computer should not be clogged up with numerous software programs, and it has to have a fire wire port. Provide all this and you are good to go. Once I started using the Flex, I only kept my other radios for "backup" purposes. SDR has totally changed my operating.

5 years later, I notice that Flex has a program to turn in your older Flex for the newer Flex 6XXX series. I thought their offer for my old Flex (as a trade in) was fair so I decided to order the Flex-6300. It's a total gas. The rig and software (SmartSDR) connects to your computer, or router (LAN) and uses your desktop/wireless laptop to control the rig. I do not use the mic that came with the rig, as I use my computer headphones/mic. This inclusiveness has now left me spoiled as everything is done through the desktop. I's great that Amateur radio is actually catching up to the 21st century. SDRs are not for everyone. Some folks are staying with their tube radios, where the audio quality still can't be matched. My audio reports for my TS-530S have always been the best. To each his own. The Flex-6000 allows you the chance to get right on frequency, and to experiment with the different settings with the software. The system is not perfect, however. There is a great support community on the Flex web site that has helped me some some fairly simple issues. For example. Out of the box I could not get the rig to talk to my router/desktop. Turned out to be my ESET security firewall. I just configured it to let the radio through and wham. Also, there seems to be an issue with transit audio on SSB that makes an echo sound. We are still working to figure this one out.

The folks at Flex were very helpful during the sale. It's only been about a month. So, I have not had to contact them directly for support. Been just using their online support system.

What did I do with the Flex-3000? Well ... I haven't sent it back to flex just yet. Give me time. 73 KH6DAN
 
Page 1 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.