eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3 Mark II Help


Reviews Summary for BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3 Mark II
BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3 Mark II Reviews: 11 Average rating: 3.9/5 MSRP: $66.99
Description: Frequecy Range: 65-108 Mhz(Only commercial FM radio
reception) VHF: 136-174 Mhz(Rx/Tx). UHF: 400-520 Mhz(Rx/Tx)
Broad (Wide) / Narrowband (Narrow), High power / low
(5W/1W), selectable.
Selectable Frequency Step/2.5/5/6.25/10/12.5/25 kHz.
Function Busy Channel Lock "BCLO".
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.sainsonic.com/radios/baofeng-gt-series.html/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the BaoFeng/Pofung GT-3 Mark II .

Page 1 of 2 —>

PA8C Rating: 4/5 Jul 26, 2016 03:26 Send this review to a friend
Worth the $$  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
In essence a portable TRX with some problems but they are acceptable. Mine came from Kuala Lumpur and was ordered in Germany Berlin. After three weeks the package arrived in good order with all the thinkable ascessoiries. After unpacking i suffered from a firmware bug that was obvious the "Beep" bug. If "Beep" is turned off some erratic behaviour such as RX lock-up occurs. Made contact with the seller and after two contacts they remained silent. Issued a Paypal claim and after two weeks my money was returned into my account. So, i have a $0,00 HT with a bug. The receiver in this HT is of a exeptional quality and have excellent great signal behaviour. Audio modulation is acceptable but could be louder in some cases. Standard delivered INF-641 antenna is performing very well and battery life is acceptable when normally used.
 
N1PMD Rating: 2/5 Jun 4, 2016 20:44 Send this review to a friend
Programming is absolute disaster - manual or computer  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just received my Boafeng GT-3 Mark II. Looking for an inexpensive radio I can take to and from work. Based on what I read in reviews, I thought this would fit the bill.

Seems to be a reasonably sturdy radio for the money. However, the owner's manual is almost impossible to read - because it's in very tiny print. Gave up on programming with the computer software after trying several recommended fixes to eliminate the "Cannot connect to radio" error message. Decided to try manual programming - what a mistake. Just to program a single function requires an excessive number of keystrokes ("Menu" the select function then "Menu" then change function value the "Menu" then "Exit). And, unlike most HTs and scanners I've owned in the past where you can program multiple functions within a single "program" command, this radio requires you to "exit" the menu command and re-enter it to change between separate functions.

Now, for $38.50 (what I paid for my radio and the software/cable), I'm not expecting "one button and everything's done for you" programming.

A low priced basic HT is a great idea, especially to encourage novices to get into the hobby. But when it takes a person almost 45 minutes to correctly program on frequency for a local repeater, I can imagine that many might give up all together. I know I was briefly tempted to throw mine out the window earlier, and I've been in the radio hobby for about 45 years.
 
FORMER_K2OOL Rating: 4/5 Feb 13, 2015 14:09 Send this review to a friend
GT-3 nice radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I liked this radio but battery life is crap!
Worthess if you are a talker.
Why did they make a radio you cant buy extra Bigger batteries for?
Seriously a 2600mah battery is needed.
But the Baofeng company doesnt respond to emails in chinese or english,so they need help....
This is why I sold it.
 
PD0AC Rating: 5/5 Jan 28, 2015 10:53 Send this review to a friend
A polished UV-5R  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
In short: a capable radio with (finally!) a good front-end, plus bright and loud TX audio.

The Sainsonic antenna does a much better job than the standard UV-5R antenna, but proves to be fragile.

@DL8AAE: 1750 Hz can be transmitted by holding the A/B button while pressing PTT. Other tones are 2100Hz (PTT + Band) and 1450 Hz (PTT + VFO/MR).

You need to cut away some of the plastic of the programming cable, as the thicker sides of the radio prevent cables which run under a 90 degree angle to be seated properly. It's an easy fix.

A 'how to' and other useful info can be found at miklor.com or by reading the technical review of this radio on my blog.
 
K3HVG Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2015 12:09 Send this review to a friend
Nice, economical radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought a total of 7 of them for gifts and personal use. They all work as described with few issues. The only issue I have had is the speaker-mic RADIODDITY sells may not make good, reliable contact with the radio and its tx audio is not nearly as good as the radio, itself. On three of them I had to add a touch of solder to the tip of the plugs. OK now. I use the R/T Systems programming package and it is excellent! I understand there may be a MK III coming out?
 
DL8AAE Rating: 0/5 Dec 17, 2014 05:34 Send this review to a friend
Absolutely NOT recommended  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought one of these with a full set of accessories from an Internet shop based in Berlin / Germany. There were significant issues with the several items from the set:
- no interconnection between TRX and programming cable possible.
- 1750 Hz call tone (required to open Relais in Europe) out rabge, no repeater Operation possible
- Baofeng car lighter cable works when engine is turned off but stops when engine is running. Obviously the lighter cable recognises a too high voltage of more than 15V (as specified on the cable). Which the car Generator definitely does not provide.
Communication with the dealer was quite disappointing, looking like they use a Kind of Google translator to translate from Chinese to German in this case. Asking questions and searching for mistakes on customer's side over and over again. Finally they paid back my money.
Maybe there are good GT-3's around, for me it Looks like there is no or almost no Quality control in place.
 
K4GHR Rating: 5/5 Nov 20, 2014 14:50 Send this review to a friend
Great product, very happy  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have two UV-5R's that I have had since they were released. I use one in the car and carry one in a backpack. Great radio for the money that have held up very well. Along comes the GT-3 Mark II with new electronics but the same features at the UV-5R. Had to get one! I am not disappointed! The GT-3 has better speaker audio and conversations on air indicate transmit audio is excellent. It has a nice look, feels good in hand, and can use UV-5R accessories (except batteries).

I think this radio would be tough to beat for the price.

As with any of these small radios, get the programming cable (same as UV-5R.) Makes setup and changes so easy.

Brent / K4GHR
 
K1JOT Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2014 02:43 Send this review to a friend
4.9 out of 5.0  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Read all the reviews here. Decided to go with the Mark II for the advanced chipset. Very first contact remarked on the quality and signal strength, which is about all I can go on or care about.

I manually programmed it while awaiting arrival of RT Systems cable and programming software. The directions in Baofeng's booklet omitted that the menu button has to be hit three times - once to start scanning menu items, a second time to switch the up down arrows over from scanning to choosing which options you want for the specific menu item you stopped on, and a third time to confirm your selection. After that, programming it was easy.

The belt clip hinders insertion into the charger base. The rubber protective boot will key the hair trigger PTT button without your help - if the female voice has been deactivated in the menu you may never notice you're transmitting. I tossed the boot in a drawer.
 
BG6NIC Rating: 4/5 Jun 30, 2014 02:03 Send this review to a friend
Antenna Improvement  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Most different features are the antenna and the car charger cable. I have to say, with the new antenna, the GT-3 does transmit longer than ever before. I don't know if it can reach 8KM distance as they said on the website. But I think it is enough for me. And I haven't used the car charger cable yet. Whatever, I cannot be more happy with my purchase. The radio works even better than advertised and is far better in design than the orignal UV-5R, or UV-5RABCDEFGH
 
KC4CQS Rating: 4/5 Jun 26, 2014 14:18 Send this review to a friend
Not Water Resistant  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
#1 The Rig is no more Sensitive or Faster Scanning than the UV-82. It is not as Shock Resistant as I found the Faceplate of the GT-3 popped off from the LCD Display. Was easily fixed with RTV Adhesive. It does as well as can be expected from a 60.00 Radio from China but the best Deal by Baofeng is still the UV-82. It has an Aluminum Frame/Heat Sink with a Rubber Seal to protect from Water Intrusion. The front LCD Cover on both the UV-5 and GT-3 Series are "Not Water Resistant". Beware! The Battery life does seem alittle longer on the GT-3 Series but the output on Two GT-3's tested were One Watt Lower than the UV-82 so that would be the reason. Use the UV-82 Antenna on the GT-3 and all is well. The older Antenna on the GT-3 is nothing but a "Dummy Load" that Heats at the Base upon use, same as the UV-5 antenna and that means "Resistance". The UV-82 antenna and the UV-B5-B6 antennas are basically the same and can be ordered from Amazon for about 8.00 a piece. A worthwhile investment. Leave the Negoyia Antennas alone. They don't work as well as the UV-B5-B6 antennas or the UV-82 Antenna. Save your money and don't be taken by this antenna Manufacturer. Have tested 2 and are a disappointment. GT-3 with the UV-82 antenna good. Maybe the new version which has a longer antenna is finally not a dummy load although that Dog goes to the Kenwood F6 Tri Band Handi. The Worst but at least it did not Heat Up at the base.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.