eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Leixen VV-898 Help


Reviews Summary for Leixen VV-898
Leixen VV-898 Reviews: 30 Average rating: 3.3/5 MSRP: $150
Description: Tiny dual band vhf/uhf mobile transceiver
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Leixen VV-898.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

M0KFO Rating: 4/5 Mar 26, 2015 14:33 Send this review to a friend
Value for money  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Not much to say. It's a fairly basic rig, that does what a basic dual bander should do. RX & TX are fine and at 10w it's okay for most things.

This is all reflected in the price of about £80 and you can't expect too much for that. You can use Chirp to program it. The best thing is that it's the size of two fag packets (for the colonials, fag is slang for cigarette).
 
NR7J Rating: 4/5 Mar 24, 2015 16:44 Send this review to a friend
Overall not too bad.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It's a fun little radio.
Volume at ZERO is more like a 5.
Programming it is just like all the new menu driven radios.
 
N0FPE Rating: 3/5 Mar 22, 2015 14:13 Send this review to a friend
Just ok so far  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I picked one of these things up at the local hamfest yesterday brand new in the box. Price was right so i hauled it home. A real PITA to program even using CHIRP. Once i got it going it seems to work ok. I want to use it in my work van so we will see how it holds up. The reason the OM was selling the brand new unit was he was not aware that it was a real bear to program without the software and cable. well I have a kenwood cable that works fine and of course the CHIRP software is free..time will tell if it is any good out in the real world.
 
EA2EFI Rating: 2/5 Feb 27, 2015 16:42 Send this review to a friend
a LOTO ( una Lotería )  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Dam e Mesuie, Hams.. And curious. Do you play LOTO ?

This review will be written in Spanish because is my language and cos there are a lot of good reviews
that you can find here, and in www abt the 898-VV and clones. But the title is good. A LOTO !

Después de mucho buscar, llegue a la conclusión de que un walkie está bien para " portable " pero tiene algunos inconvenientes si piensas usarlo en base o en el coche. Calor, fatiga, alimentación, antena, micro... Así que puse mis ojos en el nuevo - para mí - LEIXEN VV898.

Y fue un leixen y no un clon ( de dynascan, de crt, etc.. ) por aquello de ir a la fuente y comprar la ultima hornada. Recién salidita y calentita ( luego veremos que había " nacido " en octubre del 14, pero bueno ). Llegó a casa sin problemas. No como otros envíos que traen un recargo de ADUANAS. Este no. Tal vez porque es pequeño ó qué se yo.
La caja, desaseada. Como cuando algo esta tiempo en un estante... El contenido muy, muy sencillo.: Factura, manual en inglés, el aparato, el cable, la peana y el micro DTMF. Simple.
La manufactura pobre. El micrófono, liviano, de plástico barato que tiene un retintín como si se tratase de una maraca de juguete, debido al mal encaje de los botones y pulsadores. Y el cable enroscado también de aspecto barato. El jack de 8pins lo miré varias veces porque no me infundía mucha confianza. Pedro, he tratado antes con cosas de este tipo y factura y... Pues bueno, por lo que cuesta, qué vas a pedir !
El cable de alimentación corto y en consonancia con el resto del equipo. Muy mejorable. Aún así, dentro de lo que cabía esperar. Eso sí... en uno de los supuestos menos favorables.
El transceiver, curiosamente, lo menos malo de todo.
Pequeño, compacto, de poco peso - menos que un talki con baterías - sin ventiladores ni partes móviles... Que espectacion.
El tacto y el manejo, vuelven a situarte en la realidad. Es un gadget chino en toda su extensión figurada ( no olvidarse que China va a la Luna - y más allá - y nosotros no salimos de casa ). Pero, esta vez hay que decirlo.: Qué emisora puede uno comprar hoy por 100€ ? (*)
(*) Un Leixen.

Dejando de lado la botonera, el display y pasando al manejo... No es difícil.
Tiene CINCUENTA opciones que no voy a detallar. Solo hablar de un par de cosas.: Si pulsas simultáneamente la tecla de función y el encendido, al soltar, entras en un menú de depuración. Puedes limpiar los últimos ajustes o bien volver a dejar el aparato como venia de fabrica ( reset ). En la parte superior siempre se ubica la memoria y en la inferior el VFO. Hay operaciones que solo funcionan en modo vfo y otras que dependen de una operación o función previa. No desesperar y leer y probar hasta que consigamos domarlo a nuestro gusto. Yo tengo un kenwood te de hace 30 años y tiene mejores menús y más complejos. Así que por ahí nada nuevo bajo el sol.
Es de destacar, la función imprescindible del micro y su botonera tanto para introducir frecuencias como para poder navegar con soltura por las distintas opciones. Otro truco.: Si estas subiendo o bajando frecuencias y pulsas "Up" ó " Down" simultáneamente, los saltos son en ciclos. Es decir.: vas de 145 a 155 ó de 438 a 448 en lugar de funcionar la selección step que tuvieras. Durante la operación de transmitir, es realmente molesta la disposición de estos mismos botones, que se activan sin desearlo y cortan la modulación o hacen que des saltos en la banda o con el sonido, etc. Creo que esto podría mejorar simple mente pegando un taquito de goma en la esquina del micro.
Dicen que no filtra mucho y que se te cuela todo quisqui que ande cerca. Yo no lo he notado, porque vivo como un ermitaño. Pero si digo que la voz, para escucharla bien en un ambiente de ruido, hay que subir la un poquito ( < 4 ) La modulación sale un poco ruda y con clicks que se escuchan también cuando el qrm sobrepasa el squelch. Yo he abierto el micro y le he puesto una bolita de espuma como la de los micros profesionales que salen en TV. Ha mejorado. Pero creo que puede añadirse o sustituir algún componente en el circuito para darle mejor presencia, que dicen que tiene que ver con el tono de los s asiáticos....
Lo peor de todo es que ha estado funcionando 30 minutos.
Después, se ha vuelto loco y ya no obedece. Le programo algo y se lo pasa por el arco del triunfo, emite portadora pero no modula, me corta cuando le da la gana, y cada cinco o seis minutos emite un pitidito, como diciendo..: Función, Función, Función. Así que sin más, voy a devolverlo.

Pero, aunque no gaste yo mucho en loterías... En cuanto me devuelvan la pasta, me pido otro igual.
Si vuelve a estropearse, diré bien alto que es una Puta M.!
Si no, que me tocó un limón. Pero que una vez superado el SHOCK, es un juguete al que no le confiaría mi vida, pero que me entretiene.




 
N5CNN Rating: 1/5 Jan 31, 2015 13:38 Send this review to a friend
Don't Waste Assets On This One  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Obtained three of these for evaluation and review in 2014.
Problems mentioned in previous posts in all test units. Software and manual -- nightmares.
Of the three, one crapped out. However, three attributes:
Unit will operate on two bands.
Push button volume control on microphone.
Small size.

NUTS! Don't waste your money or time assets on this one.

Bob Hutchinson, N5CNN
Wireless Industry Association
n5cnn@wirelessindustry.com
 
KF5FEI Rating: 4/5 Jan 19, 2015 07:23 Send this review to a friend
Neat Baby Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Picked one up at a local hamfest last weekend to stick in a go box for use where more power and an elevated antenna are necessary. Included cable worked fine with my previously installed Prolific drivers and was able to read from and write to the radio via Chirp and the factory software.

However, I was not able to export the file from the latest daily build of Chirp and manually edit / add frequencies from my local list as I had done for other radios. It seemed to choke on an invalid tone setting for my UHF frequencies when I tried to import the file.

I was able to open the factory config file with Notepad, edit my list to match their format and paste it into their file. The factory software was happy with the edited file and it uploaded and functioned just fine.

On-the-air testing reported the audio sounding tinny compared to my various other radios. I enabled the compander and this seemed to make it worse. I'm going to look into the mic mod later to see if this corrects this.

Overall, this looks like a decent inexpensive radio which will work for what I need.
 
K3NXU Rating: 4/5 Dec 15, 2014 06:34 Send this review to a friend
Compact Crossover Xcvr  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I consider The Leixen VV-898 a Crossover transceiver fitting a niche market. Small size with plenty of features make it great for a Go Box, boat or small vehicle. The original manual was updated in September, making it a bit more fluid. Sensitivity is very good, but an occasional stray pager might appear if you're in a Metro area.

It's also being supported by CHIRP, which will make programming life a bit easier. 10 watts seems to gets me anywhere I want to go. For local work, I keep one on top of my PC with a small mag mount.

Will it compete with the Big 3, no. I personally don't believe it was meant to. But what it does, it does well.

Here's a full review:
http://www.miklor.com/COM/Review_VV898.php
 
N9SIU Rating: 4/5 Nov 20, 2014 11:52 Send this review to a friend
Good mobile radio for the price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought my mobile radio about a week ago and so far I have had good results with it. My radio is sold under the Jetstream name and model number is JT-270M. Jetstream sells this radio with the programming software and programming cable for $139.00. It does put out a good ten watt signal and the audio is good. However the intermod is a problem in the city but in a non-urban area it is crystal clear.
It is a good radio for the price but you can not compare it to the other big brands. I like the size because it fits just fine in my Mini Cooper console.
 
G3UCA Rating: 4/5 Oct 27, 2014 08:20 Send this review to a friend
Good for the money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Programming with the lead is no problem.I have written a program with every U.K. two meter repeater in it. I am willing to send a copy to any one requiring it.My problem is finding a way to print the program......can any one help with this?
 
PD0AC Rating: 1/5 Oct 27, 2014 04:33 Send this review to a friend
RX nightmare  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Fun radio if it would cost much less. TX is quite reasonable, if you don't mind spitting out some harmonics. Build quality is sub-par, manual is a joke.

The receiver section is a Halloween nightmare in an urban environment. Even 10 meter signals managed to leak through the (probably non-existent) front-end, so expect a lot of intermod / out-of band signals to ruin your day.

 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.