eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Mosley TA-32 Junior triband beam Help


Reviews Summary for Mosley TA-32 Junior triband beam
Mosley TA-32 Junior triband beam Reviews: 10 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $235
Description: A lightweight, 2 element tribander
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mosley-electronics.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Mosley TA-32 Junior triband beam.

K6USN Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2014 18:11 Send this review to a friend
Exceeds Expectations  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is my 3rd Mosley beam over the years. I have purchased another one because for my requirements and physical surroundings nothing works better.
Well made, simple design. Easy assembly, light weight, reasonable cost. There is a big differnce
between a dipole or vertical and a TA32Jr. I work stations I could not even hear before. For all this, the physical footprint is very modest and has passed muster with the harshest critic I could find - the XYL. If you are thinking of moving to the next level above a wire antenna or vertical, give this one serious consideration.
 
KE5XV Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2014 15:43 Send this review to a friend
Great little beam  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This review is probably less about this antenna and more about having a beam over a compromise vertical. I’ve not had a beam antenna until now, and I must say that having one is a revelation. Contacting a station on 20-15-10 with my vertical was often an exercise in frustration, while establishing contact using the TA-32 Jr is easy. After quite a bit of work setting up a mast (MA-40) with a rotator, I installed the TA-32 Jr. I chose the antenna because of the good reviews it received on eham, its small size, its light weight, and its price.

I haven’t been disappointed. Another ham and I assembled the antenna, carefully following the instructions. The assembly is easy because of the color coded elements and element parts. Coating the mating tubing pieces with Penetrox was messy, but cleanup wasn’t a problem. There are only two ‘tuning’ choices (without modification of the antenna) CW and SSB. I chose the CW setting, the low end of the band, because I work mostly digital modes which are at that end of the band.

There were no missing parts and the assembly went smoothly with no problems. I ordered the 2” mast coupling with the antenna because the mounting tube at the top of the mast is that size. This was sold to me at a discount with the antenna.

Anything I say about performance is relative to the performance of a compromise vertical antenna that I have been using up to now. I operated during the 2014 CQ DX (SSB) contest and I worked quite a few stations with the setup. (I have a FT-857 transceiver, no amplifier.) The fun of it is that I was able to make reliable contact (often, but not necessarily on the first call) with many DX stations operating the contest.

Everything depends on band conditions, of course, but the antenna has added substantially to the fun of ham radio and reduced the frustration level.

On digital modes, where weak signals are common, the waterfall (JT-9) contrast is much higher (that is, the s/n of the signals is much better), although I can’t quantify this, and this could be a band conditions effect, at least partly.

Beam antenna design is mature enough that beam performance is dependent on physical properties of the antenna -- that is similar antennas will perform similarly. So, choosing an antenna has to be based on other considerations - build quality, customer support, number of elements, weight, price, and so on. This antenna was a good choice for me.

Other comments:

I3LTT reports that the boom can be easily deformed, and that’s true. Mine is somewhat deformed by the element clamps, so reinforcing the boom at the attachment point would be a good idea. None of this adversely affects the performance, though.

I got similar SWR readings as I3LTT, a bit higher than I expected on 20 meters, but acceptable, and very low on 15 and 10 meters.

Get the 2” mast coupling (if you have or will have a 2” mast) when you buy the antenna.

Get a ring-lug to PL259 cable. ABR Industries sells these, and I expect that others vendors sell them too.

Coax seal is always a good idea for any connectors that will be exposed to the weather.
 
W8KQE Rating: 5/5 Sep 23, 2014 19:38 Send this review to a friend
14 years later... still up, with NO issues!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this fantastic little tri-band beam antenna, up on the same chimney, with the same rotator (rotator has been working since the late 70's at my old New Jersey QTH, and now Ohio!), for 14 years now! Not once have I had to perform any kind of maintenance on the antenna all these years. It works as well now as it did on the first day I installed it! I continue to effortlessly work the world running 'barefoot' (100 watts) with this compact beam. Mosley's are truly GREAT, well made antennas that will outlast YOU!
 
I3LTT Rating: 5/5 Feb 17, 2014 02:41 Send this review to a friend
My opinion about TA32-Jr-N  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Hello to all!
I bought the TA32-Jr-N because the declared specifications for the antenna was nice for me.
I had sostitituire the Butterfly Butternut HF-5B, after nearly 18 years of honest service it was time to change it with something more performing and lighter. (Now I'm 63, no more 45.)
Having space problems I chose this antenna because it is the highest performing and light that is currently sold.
There are other antennas with similar characteristics, as well made in Italy, but heavier though apparently more robust.
I installed the late October 2013. Assembly is very simple and it is very light antenna, only 6.5 kg, which allowed me to secure it to the boom very easily.
The boom, in my opinion, is a bit 'too light. The end of the boom must be reinforced otherwise when you fix the hose clamps can easily deformed. You can easily insert a tube with an outer diameter equal to the hole thickness 3mm long and 5 cm. This solution ensures that the boom is more robust without making it heavy.
How it works: Analysis SWR fonia. (MFJ-269 Analizer)
10 m band: 1:1.1 from 28,350 to 28,900 MHz
15 m band: 21,200 = 2.3 - 21,300 =1.4 - 21,350 = 1.1 – 21450 = 1.4
20 m band: 14.150 = 2.0 - 1.8 = 14,200 - 14,300 = 2.0. I was expecting lower values.
In any case I am really enjoying it and I'm collecting many countries and islands that I did not.
The performance, compared to the previous antenna, is great especially in 15 m.
The fun is guaranteed!
Where I live a strong wind blows from the east, the Bora, and in my qth the maximum speed that I measured was 100 km/h. This year the maximum was 60 km/h and the Mosley moved just a little '.
I think I did a good purchase!
You can see the setup on QRZ.COM
73, Giulio I3LTT
 
W8KQE Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2007 07:06 Send this review to a friend
7 years later... STILL a GREAT 'compact' beam!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had the 2 element TA-32 Junior now for 7 years. It still sits in the same spot on the chimney at about 30 feet or so, turned by a light rotator. I have not touched it, or the coax connection to it in all these years. It continues to amaze me with it's performance running only 100 watts from my '756', even at the bottom of this sunspot cycle! If you are looking for a 'lower profile', truly lightweight triband yagi that is built like a tank and peforms very well, look no further. 'Mosley' builds tried and tested antennas that just may outlast YOU!
 
W1NDY Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2007 16:23 Send this review to a friend
Great performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Installed at 42 feet on a Force 12 LPT-1242 tower. Did not have room to swing the TA-33, due to the neighbor's trees, so this is a compromise, by both size and $$$. No rotor as yet, so I am currently aimed at Australasia, by choice. Running 50 watts to the unit, and to date have received some excellent reports, from locations other than where the beam is aimed. Today, worked both Brazil and Mexico City, plus several stations off the "back" of the beam, and this on a contest day, so my initial reactions are very favorable. Item was delivered two weeks later than quoted, is extremely well made and packed, should be up on the tower until I am SK. The instructions could have a little more detail, but assembly was not a problem, everything was there, and everything fit properly. I would have no hesitation in recommending this antenna, and at $325.00 plus shipping, worth the money. With a rotor, it would be a real contender.
 
K7UA Rating: 5/5 Nov 20, 2006 14:38 Send this review to a friend
Great little beam  Time owned: more than 12 months
Back in the 1960's I had a TA32jr up at 60 ft. It worked very well. I had it up for several years with no problems running 225 watts of AM/CW. Very light weight. Later in the 1970s I had a TA32 high power beam up at 40 ft. Worked over 200 countries with that one. Excellent antennas. With the WARC bands, however, they may be a bit outdated. 10-15-20M only. :( I would buy a used TA32jr if I ever got the chance as a portable/field day set up. 73 K7UA
 
KC4CP Rating: 5/5 May 21, 2006 09:01 Send this review to a friend
GREAT LITTLE BEAM  Time owned: more than 12 months
I installed this beam about 14 years ago. Sadly, I sold it 3 years ago (wanting a small beam with 12 & 17 meters). For 11 years it served me faithfully! It is hard to believe that such a small beam (6 foot boom) has such great performance ... but it does. I had it up at 35 feet and worked over 150 countries. It handled legal limit with no problem.

I replaced it with a Cushcraft MA5B. This is similar in size - but includes a third element which serves as a rotating dipole on 12 & 17 meters. It is also a great beam ... but I miss the TA-32. It was far better looking and less offensive to the neighbors & required no maintenance at all.

You just can not go wrong with the TA-32. It is small, light weight, and can be turned by a small TV antenna rotator. Put one up and you will get great results ... without the head-aches associated with larger beams.

 
M3SDX Rating: 5/5 Aug 6, 2002 12:27 Send this review to a friend
great portable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i brought my ta32 beam for £30 off a old ham who no longer used it and i can honestly say its the best £30 i ever spent. i have force 12 c3ss that i use portable but its rather heavy so when i tried my mosely ta32 i could not believe how light it was for portable work and the results were just great. i worked the iota contest with my mosely ta32 and i can honestly say if i could hear them i could work them,i believe that it works as good as my tri band c3ss and ive used both now portable, the ta32 is a trapped 2 element triband beam that covers 10,15,20m...it might be 20 years old or so but its still works like the day it was new hooked up to my old kenwood ts830m... if anyone likes portable work and useing a beam on field days the mosely ta32 is an ideal beam and i find mine very easy to take down and pack away for another day..
 
W8KQE Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2000 14:55 Send this review to a friend
Excellent performance, smaller footprint 2 element tribander  Time owned: more than 12 months
For those hams/DX'ers who want a smaller footprint, proven tribander that is lightweight and gets out well, the TA-32JR 2 element beam is your answer. First of all, let me state that I am not affiliated in any way with Mosley, as you may think due to my intense praise of this antenna in this review. My enthusiasm for the product is high because it has performed well beyond my expectations!

I assembled this antenna in less than an hour, and put it up by myself with no problems whatsoever. OK, my neighbor helped me guide the antenna up the ladder and onto the roof, but once up there I needed no assistance. This is how easy this thing is to put up (you may want to get help though if you are older, or may be potentially facing a fatal fall if you are in a tougher maneuvering really high up spot). It is mounted a few feet above my chimney at about a height of 30 feet, and my rotor is a light duty older CDE. I believe the only drawback to this antenna is that it may not take a full 'gallon' output, but is O.K. up to several hundred watts. I never run an amp anyway (makes the hobby more challenging). OK, by now i'm sure you want to hear about it's performance. In a word... stellar! Both on QRP and at 100 watts out. I am amazed at the 10 and 20 over 9 reports I often get in Europe and South America on all bands when open running only 100 watts and an Icom 756! I've worked well over 200 countries on this antenna on both CW and SSB combined, with many many VK's and ZL's no problem! And all this barefoot and at 30 feet!!! Definitely 'not your grandfather's tribander' here! This antenna is the best compromise between a larger, full size beam and a smaller directional antenna like a mini quad, Butternut Butterfly, Raibeam, etc. Great job Mosley!!! This easily gets a '5 rating' from me.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.