- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

Reviews Categories | Power Supplies | PAE-Kx33 AC Power Supply Help

Reviews Summary for PAE-Kx33 AC Power Supply
PAE-Kx33 AC Power Supply Reviews: 14 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $60
Description: PAE-Kx33 AC Power Supply for the
Elecraft™ K1, K2/10 and KX3
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the PAE-Kx33 AC Power Supply.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KB2NAT Rating: 5/5 Jan 31, 2018 14:11 Send this review to a friend
Well Done Product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This power supply has performed flawlessly and quietly with zero issues. It's plugged in and forgotten. It maintains its volt output when I'm transmitting at 15 watts so that my KX3 doesn't drop down to 12 or 10 watts. It is really quiet. There is also a small green LED that lets the operator know that the unit is on. The only nitpicking I can do is to suggest that they use a fisheye LED cover so that the light can be seen from a wider angle rather than from directly in front. Purchasing this power supply removes the need for discussion about hash, RF, induced QRM or the need for fuses. Checking around, I find the price to be very reasonable as well. I wonder why one would need anything else for a 5-amp power supply?
N9YB Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2017 16:34 Send this review to a friend
Top notch product  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is an excellent power supply for the KX-3. It is very well engineered and as a result, very RF quiet. It is very light, compact and packs away nicely. It works seamlessly with the KXBC3 battery charger.

The power splitter add-on cable provides the ability to fire up both the KX3 and the PX3. I do wish the distance provided by the splitter between the KX3 & PX3 was a bit longer, but it gets the job done.

It is a great value and a must have for the KX3 when operating at home.
KC8TYA Rating: 5/5 Jul 11, 2017 06:36 Send this review to a friend
Revised review  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The folks at ProAudio Engineering got in touch with me and worked very hard to resolve the AC hum issue I was experiencing.

The power supply is now working very well.

Excellent customer support.

W4OP Rating: 5/5 Jun 14, 2017 13:45 Send this review to a friend
A Well Engineered Supply  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This supply is unlike any other switcher out there.
This is not just another off-shore switcher relabeled. Custom engineered to be very low noise with only 100pF In/Out coupling capacity. Over voltage/ Over temp/ Over current protected. No one else is publishing their radiated spectrum plots. I use this supply not only with my KX-3, but anytime I need a low noise lab supply for bench testing. Howie always makes himself available to answer questions. More amateur companies should look to Pro Audio to see how to run a company.

Dale W4OP
K9JRI Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2016 20:07 Send this review to a friend
Very high quality supply  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I received the supply today for use with my KX3. I was pleasantly surprised in the overall quality. It was even better than I had expected.

The voltage was right on target and looked very clean on my Rigol scope.
WJ1R Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2015 14:40 Send this review to a friend
Excellent portable power supply  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well constructed and solid portable power supply with no discernible noise on the KX3. It also charges the KX3's internal batteries with no problems.
VK2JNG Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2015 14:43 Send this review to a friend
Great product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just received my PAE-Kx33 power supply. Works great with the KX3. Excellent for charging the internal batteries. Absolutely no splatter of RF detectable. Would not hesitate to purchase again from this company in the future.

Gerard VK2JNG
NU4X Rating: 5/5 Aug 1, 2015 09:33 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLENT PRODUCT AND SUPPORT  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I received my KX33 4 months ago, and recently noticed broadband noise on all the bands tested. I contacted Howie at ProAudio and he responded promptly, sending a second unit. Upon receipt I discovered that BOTH units worked just fine. It was, perhaps, an intermittent problem with the original unit, or just a coupling issue during my portable setup with my KX3.

Howie and his company are the definition of prompt, courteous and efficient customer service and support, long after the sale. What a great model for the industry! GREAT PRODUCT AND SUPPORT!
WB2FYY Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2015 17:54 Send this review to a friend
Solid performer; recommended  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this to replace an MFJ-4103 power supply for use with an FT-817. The MFJ supply was generally ok, except for the splatter of hash that always seemed to oscillate its way onto the HFPack calling frequency on 17 meters.

The PAE-Kx33 is blessedly radio silent. It puts out a 14.4 volts on receive even with the volume cranked, and dips to 13.9 on 5W FM transmit. [Measured by the voltmeter in the 817.] See the full specs at I just got it; if there are any surprises I'll amend this review. But for now, I am delighted with this supply.

Construction is solid. The FT-817 power adapter is convenient. The power supply was expertly packaged for mailing. WA4PSC offers a 1-year warranty.
N8JX Rating: 5/5 Feb 10, 2015 08:40 Send this review to a friend
Great company  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Am using the supply with a kx3 and it is working great no noise. What a pleasure to buy with a company with such great customer service (Thanks Howard).
Page 1 of 2 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.