eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Kenwood TS-590SG Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TS-590SG
Kenwood TS-590SG Reviews: 59 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $1759.00
Description: HF/50MHz TRANSCEIIVER
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.kenwoodusa.com/Support/Amateur_Radio/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TS-590SG.

Page 1 of 6 —>

K9NZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 7, 2017 07:24 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First off I have a K-3 to compare the TS-590SG too.
The 590 has a very good receiver and it does a great job of fighting qrm with the dsp filtering. I am mainly a cw operator, So with that said it is a joy to run CW on, filters are tight and sound good and the cw reader works really well. I've been playing with it on 80 meters cw dx'ing and have worked quite a few dx stations even with the noisy bands and weak signals.
I have received nothing but great audio reports
(its a Kenwood) from this rig with a old $10.00 R/S vocal mic. Audio is selectable 50 hrz to 3 K.
Filtering on ssb is good also, And I find my self on phone a lot more than normal. I really like the radio. It's not a K-3 but it half the price, it's a very good radio and a Kenwood seems to run for ever! from my experience. I am not going to get rid of the K-3 or the 590SG both have a place in my shack.For around $1,300 this a very good radio in my opinion.
 
CE3DNP Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2016 14:34 Send this review to a friend
Second TS-590  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
CW qso's are very easy. Tested several rigs FT-920, FT-2000, FT-3000, IC-7300, however my 3 years TS-590S y now, my new TS-590SG, have showed to be the best.
Kenwood has created the best filters for ssb / cw and all those annoying interferences disappear magically.
If necessary, in the future, I would buy a TS-590SG again.
Well earned the five stars
 
AC6EG Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2016 16:06 Send this review to a friend
Five Stars - Even with the cooling fan issue.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Word is starting to get out that the cooling fans were installed backwards in all of these radios built since sometime in July of 2015. I bought mine in September of 2016 and found I had to spend a few minutes with a Philips screwdriver to correct the problem. The fact that it took over a year for anyone to even notice tells me this is probably not a big deal, even though it might be a PR nightmare for Kenwood. The company has offered to fix the problem for anyone willing to ship their radio to a service center; even if those units are out of warranty. Many will probably do what I did and just turn the fans around themselves. The design engineers intended for the fans to pull cool air in through a vent across the bottom front edge of the radio and push it out through the rear. Reversing the air flow pulls heat from the power amplifier deep into the radio and pushes it out at the front. If you own a TS-590SG with a serial number higher than B57xxxxx, you should fix your fans! It is easy and it is important.

I had considered the IC-7300 & thought I might have buyer’s remorse due to the lack of a spectrum display so I also bought a SDRPlay to use as a plug & play panadapter. The versatile DRV jack on the back of the radio made this effortless to set up. The free HD-SDR software gives me a full screen spectrum display and allows me to tune the radio with the click of a mouse. I use a MFJ-1788 magnetic loop antenna with very narrow bandwidth and have found the spectrum display allows me to precisely tune the antenna to any operating frequency.

I use WSJT-X to work the JT9 & JT65 digital modes and have found that this radio has such an incredibly wide bandwidth I can operate both modes at the same time on one waterfall display.

I like the fact that Kenwood included options for both USB and RS-232 connections to a PC and provided three antenna inputs. They provided a free and very useful CAT program that can be used to backup your menu settings with a few mouse clicks. It came with a full size 96 page easy to read printed user manual. It is solidly built and even comes with a carrying handle you don’t have to buy as an option.

I have absolutely no regrets about buying this radio and expect that it will serve me well for many years.

If you would like to find out more about the cooling fan issue, I have put together a table of TS-590SG serial number prefixes that have been reported to have been found to have the fans mounted backwards. I have also made up an illustrated guide for those who want to make the simple repair themselves. You can find a link to these files on my QRZ.com page. There are two Yahoo forums dedicated to the TS-590 line of radios where you can find more information.
Not sure if links are allowed here, but if they are you can also find the files here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/onr7rjoj2qo5tuo/AAAKdpGMtrtACgEzYQ5rO_w3a?dl=0

Gary – AC6EG
 
AC6EG Rating: 5/5 Dec 12, 2016 20:47 Send this review to a friend
Five Stars - Even with the cooling fan issue  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Word is starting to get out that the cooling fans were installed backwards in these radios since about August of 2015. I bought mine in September of 2016 and found I had to spend a few minutes with a Philips screwdriver to correct the problem. The fact that it took years for anyone to even notice tells me this is not a big deal, even though it will be a PR nightmare for Kenwood. The company has offered to fix the problem for anyone willing to ship their radio to a service center; even if those units are out of warranty. Many will probably do what I did and just turn the fans around themselves. The design engineers intended for cool air to enter through a grill across the bottom front edge of the radio and exit through the rear and that is the way they should be used.

I had considered the IC-7300 & thought I might have buyer’s remorse due to the lack of a spectrum display so I also bought a SDRPlay to use as a plug & play panadapter. The versatile DRV jack on the back of the radio made this effortless to set up. The free HD-SDR software gives me a full screen spectrum display and allows me to tune the radio with the click of a mouse. I use a MFJ-1788 magnetic loop antenna with very narrow bandwidth and have found the spectrum display allows me to precisely tune the antenna to any operating frequency.

I use WSJT-X to work the JT9 & JT65 digital modes and have found that this radio has such an incredibly wide bandwidth I can operate both modes at the same time on one waterfall display.

I like the fact that Kenwood included options for both USB and RS-232 connections to a PC and provided three antenna inputs. They provided a free and very useful CAT program that can be used to backup your menu settings with a few mouse clicks. It came with a full size 96 page easy to read printed user manual. It is solidly built and even comes with a carrying handle you don’t have to buy as an option.

I have absolutely no regrets about buying this radio and expect that it will serve me well for many years.

Gary – AC6EG
 
W3QE Rating: 5/5 Dec 7, 2016 07:54 Send this review to a friend
The 590SG TRUTH Review  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own the TS590SG and the IC7300. Been listening to all types of HF radios for going on 35 years. I like em both.

Which is better is like asking what religion is better. To State--- "No contest, buy the TS-590SG. I heard both"-- as you read on here, that comment is unacceptable. This forum is for personal opinions and not a forum to tell others what radio to purchased solely based on one's personal opinion/taste.

I own both the 590SG and 7300 and do A/B tests all the time. The noise reduction on the IC7300 is not as harsh as it is on the TS590SG. On the other hand the TS590SG blows the IC7300 away below 500Khz where NDB's are located. The Icom gets overloaded down there with image frequencies where the Kenwood shines.

As for weak signal reception I can comment. I work all CW with lots of weak signal work in the Milliwatt range, QRPP. The Kenwood hears weak signals on EQUAL with the Icom. Also, the selectivity on both radios is a match. Of course this is STRICTLY my personal opinion. I would never tell another party what they like or should purchase.

Overall I call the TS590SG and the IC7300 EQUALS and today’s pricing markets reflect this fact, where in the used market the Icom wins hands down. Now you have another UNBIASED opinion.
 
N8FVJ Rating: 5/5 Dec 7, 2016 04:50 Send this review to a friend
Better than IC-7300  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
A follow up. I compared the TS-590SG to the newer Icom IC-7300. Some disagree on this sites forum, but I heard both on same outboard speaker and antenna. The TS-590SG handily outperforms the IC-7300 on weak signals. In fact the IC-7300 was so noisy it required a NR setting of four at all times with RF gain turned down. The TS-590SG did not need any NR, but was easier listening with some NR. No contest, buy the TS-590SG. I heard both.
 
W8ANT Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2016 07:23 Send this review to a friend
Truly outstanding!  Time owned: more than 12 months
A followup to my July 7th 2015 review, with over a year of added experience.

The receiver is as good as any other receiver I have ever used; compares to the K3S, and is easier to use to boot. Just finished search and pounce during the 160 contest; a friend sent me a spectrum scope scan from his Flex of the 160 band which was literally packed from 1.8 to 1.9 mHz with less than 200 hz spacing between signals. He was amazed that I was able to copy weak stations in this situation.

Despite the crowded band, with neighboring hams running 1.5 kW, the filtering and superior dynamic range of the 590Sg allowed me to add seven new countries on 160 CW in about 4 hours of operation, and three new states for my 160 CW WAS.

Probably the only thing that Kenwood could do to improve this rig would be to add a panadaptor, but they did provide IF out which allows me to use an SDR play as a panadaptor. I've looked at the new Icom 7300, and even if I could go back in time and buy that instead, I'd stick with the 590SG.

Running mostly CW these days, but the SSB audio quality is excellent and easily adjusted with minimal hassle for ragchews or contesting; when I do run sideband I get compliments on my audio. WRT CW, the 590 easily supports normal or reversed paddles, bugs or straight keys, with easy adjustment capability for CW waveform rise time. Adding a linear is easy, too.

Again, the hands-down best value out there for an HF transceiver, with a simply outstanding receiver.
 
KC8HXO Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2016 15:03 Send this review to a friend
Grand Slam!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
As others have mentioned, Kenwood has another winner. Clean TX and RX. Great value. Top performance. Easy to use. Reliable. Not too small.....I would have preferred it the size of my old TS-850, but I can live with it. Will operate on 12V battery voltage without complaints, other than lower output (To be expected). I would buy another in a heartbeat.
 
PY1KZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2016 09:26 Send this review to a friend
The Best of the Best!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Dear All Friends,

I bought my TS-590SG last than 3 months ago.

This is my fifth Kenwood HF equipment. I had in my list the following Rigs: TS-830S, TS-430S, TS-440S, TS-870S (still with me) and now the TS-590SG. Without any doubts, this is the best I've ever had, If we consider in this analysis, the cost, size, ergonomics and quality of TX and RX. I believe the reception one of the most important point of this equipment, in addition to the simplicity of its operation. I adapted very quickly to its operation in the same way that I was adapted to almost all Boeing family.
If you are considering buying a new HF, be sure to take into consideration the TS-590SG.

I'm thinking firmly to buy a second unit. In aviation we have the following concept: "Who has only one engine, has nothing."

73´s

Miguel Dau
PY1KZ

 
M5AED Rating: 5/5 Sep 27, 2016 12:24 Send this review to a friend
Real Radio !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Have only owned the TS590 SG for a few weeks so will offer only a very basic review. I did not want a touchscreen or waterfall display but a good clear display and easy controls are essential. The TS590 SG does indeed have a large display and enough control knobs / buttons. This means that once the radio is set up to your liking there is little need to go diving in to menus.

The TS590 SG is a pleasure to use, a vast difference to the touchscreen / menu driven Yaesu FT991 that I could not get on with.

Many radios have a built in auto aerial tuner which is limited to a 3:1 swr ability. Not sure what Kenwood claim but it seems to be far better than other atu's being very quick, wide ranging and stable. I say stable as I have known some LDG external tuners to suddenly play up after a few seconds of transmission, and they forget memory settings. No problem with the Kenwood.

Transmit audio is easy to set up and the standard hand microphone works well even with my soft voice, a rarity indeed ! Audio reports are good.

The receiver seems to be very good indeed and I use it mainly on the 40m band which can be very crowded.
 
Page 1 of 6 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.