eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receive Accessories | MFJ 1026 Noise & Interference Canceler Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ 1026 Noise & Interference Canceler
MFJ 1026 Noise & Interference Canceler Reviews: 108 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $179
Description: The MFJ-1026 is designed to reduce noise or interference, or improve desired signals, before the noise affects sensitive receiver circuits.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-1026
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ 1026 Noise & Interference Canceler.

Page 1 of 11 —>

KB2SMS Rating: 4/5 Jan 26, 2017 06:37 Send this review to a friend
Works fine!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The 1026 works very well. I get hammered by local AM radio stations on part of nearly every HF band and this unit knocks it right out. Brings S10-20 noise down to S3. Check out the Youtube videos on it, including mine (Tommyr). It makes a HUGH difference. And I'm only using the built in whip.
I'm not spending $600 for the DX engineering unit, that price is totally ridiculous.
 
KC0EKQ Rating: 4/5 Jan 26, 2017 01:51 Send this review to a friend
It works...  Time owned: more than 12 months
... but not always.

I've been into the whole radio madness for decades now, and have used just about all the commercially available phasing/noise cancelling models over the years.

The MFJ 1025/1026 is a decent phasing unit, and for its price it's a fair piece of gear.

But it's not as easy to achieve a real null as a few other units, the best being the Quantum Phaser from Gerry Thomas at RadioPlus.

The 1025/1026 takes a longer time of fiddling around to find a null, and once you do, it still doesn't get quite as down and quiet a null as the Quantum or even the DX Engineering phasing unit (which is stunningly expensive given its competitors' pricing and its performance).

But it will kill lots of types of noise, and for those who think it's just junk, well, being an MFJ product it could easily have been a poorly assembled unit you were trying to use, but I have to chalk up any terrible review to user issues, not the product. It takes more than matching antennas to get good use of the 1025/1026, or any phasing unit for that matter.

It's a good model and it works when you use it properly... it's just not the best model.

 
ZS4U Rating: 5/5 Dec 29, 2016 00:44 Send this review to a friend
Works as advertised!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
If you have a single noise source and utilize a proper noise receive antenna this unit will astonish you. I was suffering from a neighbor's cheap diode lighting system and the MFJ-1026 took care of the problem. Highly recommended.
 
M0WNF Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2016 11:27 Send this review to a friend
It does work  Time owned: more than 12 months
My qth is in the middle of town with electrified railway system 50yards away plus a local retail area so noise can be considerable. IF you follow the instructions and don`t expect this to do what it was never designed to do it works and works very well. Mostly i can now operate when before i could not.
 
M3IUC Rating: 1/5 Jun 5, 2016 10:39 Send this review to a friend
save your money  Time owned: months
i have used this now for 4 months with very little
successes. i have 2 identical long end fed wire antennas of 127 ft aprx long one used as receiving
and one as TX both give same qrm and qrn . so should work well as far as MFJ say it should work.
But it just isnt worth the money for what it does.
i want to sell mine but now i have no chance after writing this review, But i dont wont others to waste there money.
 
MI0HPE Rating: 4/5 Apr 2, 2016 13:41 Send this review to a friend
good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got this second hand a few days ago for a reasonable price, it looks good so far, it needs a bit of careful setting up but it's great for people who like to experiment. The internal antenna is fairly useless unless you have very close qrm, with a good auxiliary receiver antenna,( Super antenna MP1) it really starts to show it's strengths, it even reduces qrn as soon as you switch it on, without any adjustments. By MFJ standards this looks like a very good piece of kit. 10 or so transistors and a good design concept, surprisingly good. 73 de Paul
 
KQ9J Rating: 5/5 Dec 25, 2015 18:11 Send this review to a friend
Works very well!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Santa just put this little gem under my tree and I had the perfect opportunity to test it tonite. Being Christmas time, the kids came home and brought their Nintendo Wii game device which puts out a 10bd over S9 buzz that blankets 160 meters. (I was really happy when that device left for college but it seems to always return).

Anyway, connected my new MFJ-1026 to the rig. It needed a little better noise pickup antenna than the included whip, but once that was in place, it took the noise from the WII down to nothing and I could copy S1 signals again!

I had one of these MFJ units many years ago but returned it because there were just too many noise sources where I lived at the time. But for a single noise source they work wonders. I will be keeping this one :)
 
VE3GZB Rating: 1/5 Nov 19, 2015 17:18 Send this review to a friend
Following the manual, it's great at amplifying noise.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The MFJ-1026 does not work as advertized. Not even with a dedicated antenna on the Aux. input.

Both main and Aux. antenna inputs can receive QRM equally. Using the Phase control, either on normal or inverted, does not produce any significant null.

It's just another typical example of Mighty Fine Junk - great in concept, terrible in execution.

Save your money. Take your XYL out for a fine dinner instead.
 
NH6RF Rating: 4/5 Nov 18, 2015 08:52 Send this review to a friend
Works for me  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had a terrible problem with noise on various HF freqs. I.E., this morning on 7.130mhz there was a buzz that was peaking at 20+. The MFJ-1026 completely took it out. My main antenna is a 67' OCFD at 35'. I initially used an end fed antenna for the auxillary antenna but I found that to be insufficient. I just wasn't hearing as well as the OCFD so finding a null was nearly impossible. I then put up a mini G5RV just below the OCFD. That worked. What I hear on the main antenna can also be heard on the auxillary antenna. The MFJ-1026 can't work correctly if it can't hear the noise on both antennas. As mentioned in some other reviews it takes some practice, patients and most likely some antenna work to get all things lined up, but once you do you won't be dissapointed.
 
AD1ET Rating: 5/5 Nov 18, 2015 04:43 Send this review to a friend
Right Product for Right Noise  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I live off grid and power is provided by a 3600 watt Outback Engineering sine wave inverter. This item is the source of periodic noise on all bands between 20 meters and 6 meters. Noise shows up as 60 cycle every 10 khz and extends about 7 khz. Determined this is not charge controller or power line noise by operating with radio on batteries and solar panels disconnected. This noise is on the house wiring and that is acting as a large antenna and radiating it. The MFJ-1026 kills it dead. I mean gone, flatlined, zippo, nil. You get the idea. Just amazing. Noise must be local and not just band noise. This is NOT a band noise filter but rather a local noise eliminator.
 
Page 1 of 11 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.