- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Kenwood TM-G707A Help

Reviews Summary for Kenwood TM-G707A
Kenwood TM-G707A Reviews: 130 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $350
Description: Dual-band 2-meter and 450 mHz FM mobile transceiver
Product is not in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TM-G707A.

Page 1 of 13 —>

KC1FMV Rating: 5/5 Sep 11, 2015 14:35 Send this review to a friend
Great used purchase  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Both the wife and myself are visually impaired hams. We found one of these used with a VS3 speech board installed for very short money. Ihave found it to be the easiest rig I have ever used. We have it out back in our three season room with a cheap indoor antenna and its performance on 2 meter and 70 cm is impressive. Easy to get into repeaters and also scans non ham frequencies well when we just want to listen to something.
WPQX931 Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2015 13:03 Send this review to a friend
Good all purpose mobile  Time owned: more than 12 months
I just remember how much easier to change the programming of the kenwood than my Yaesu FT-xxxx. nice large easy to read display. good audio. good receive. I had it in my car for 5 years, then i accidentally cut the wire on the separation kit, and so it has been living inside my house for the last 8 years.

I do have 2 complains.
1). it did stop working about 10 years ago and I have to send it away to get fixed, but it has been working since
2) the separation kit is a little clumsy. it uses special screws and connectors. so if you cut the thin data cable like I did, it will be hard to find a replacement now. To separate the head, you will need the head separation kit, a 8pin mic extension cable, and obviously the speaker cable.

compare to the Yaesu separation kit which is basically just the bracket and a 8pin RJ45 cable.

WA4ZYN Rating: 5/5 Jul 20, 2013 20:20 Send this review to a friend
Update: Still great! Found a separation kit!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Update: still love the little rig, and it's still going strong. I finally found a separation kit from Airstream, part #JTV-7. It's a little fussy to line up the connectors, but easily enough done. I'm very pleased with the result for my Honda Civic.
KB2VUQ Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2013 23:23 Send this review to a friend
Still going strong...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Own 2, use them daily in each car, never a single issue in 16+ years!
KI4GTJ Rating: 5/5 Oct 28, 2012 22:33 Send this review to a friend
Great Duel band radio   Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I pick this radio up to use with the DV-RPTR board for a simplex D-STAR HOTSPOT it runs just about all day and half the night. It does spend 99% on low power(5w) with a HT antenna on the back of it Does everything its needs and works great on 2m/440 analog easy to program with out software WILL pick up another on for a back up one day
M0KRL Rating: 5/5 Jan 31, 2012 04:45 Send this review to a friend
Solid performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
Not much to say about this radio, my first dual band, solid performance, reliable, and one of the best displays I have seen. My only gripe is the rear fan, runs even on low power when the radio is cold, but apart from that it is totaly reliable and I would recommend it to anyone.

Karl, M0KRL
WD6CMU Rating: 4/5 May 20, 2011 09:56 Send this review to a friend
Bang for the buck  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have two of these. I used one as motorcycle mobile and it worked great with excellent signal reports in that terrible environment for several trips and bicycle events I patrolled. But one day it stopped working and I bought another to replace it which is still working today.

I later found a schematic for the broken one (still looking for a service manual) and discovered a SMT fuse had blown, so it is now back up and working in my trailer. Probably something shorted when the remote head was plugged into the dock. The dock has also caused some minor problems due to dirt and corrosion from being exposed to the elements on the motorcycle, so it's not quite up to that task but should be fine for mobile/base use.
W2XAD Rating: 5/5 Dec 16, 2010 09:02 Send this review to a friend
Much better than my TMV-71A  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio new from a ham who decided that he wanted a radio that had V&U at the same time.
This radio has been as bulletproof as it gets.
The receiver is more sensitive than the TMV-71A's and gets little to no intermod.
I have never had a problem with this radio and I have owned it for about 7 years.
I just wish Kenwood's products were ALL this good!
KG5KS Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2010 12:06 Send this review to a friend
Very Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my Kenwood G707A a few years ago new and has been mobile ever since. Never had a problem with it. Use it for both tone input 2m and 70cm repeaters, simplex operation. Noticed some one had problems with theirs, hate to hear that as the model seems to hold up well. I have thought about selling it for a cross band rig, but haven't done it in the last few yrs..hi However, I did get a Kenwood D710 the other day..
73 to all
AA6FE Rating: 1/5 Mar 13, 2010 11:50 Send this review to a friend
Poor quality, poor service  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the 707 several years ago, it would never open more than about 30% of the repeaters, when I sent it to the Service Center, they said the warrantee had expired, and yes it had but it was not far out of warranty, they wanted $70 for the service for something that was obviously a manufacturing defect, and the Service Supervisor I spoke with was rather curt to be polite about it. I can only guess he is paid by what he could save the company or its subcontract service center. When I reinstalled it, nothing had changed. On the 707 there is no adjustment for the tone level. It worked sort of for about a year and then died, it is bear to remove from under the back seat of my pickup, so as yet it has not been removed to be checked. I feel like returning it again to Kenwood is like throwing more good money away. Based on the poor initial quality and the service, I have gone to Yaesu. No More Kenwoods.

It my be I just got a lemon, but as this feature is not an adjustment or something I could control, I feel the bench tech should have seen it was a defect from manufacturing and Kenwood should have done something, anything. it was like they just sent it back to me.
Page 1 of 13 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.