eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | CountyComm GP-5/SSB Help


Reviews Summary for CountyComm GP-5/SSB
CountyComm GP-5/SSB Reviews: 15 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $79.95
Description: Portable SWL receiver w/SSB
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the CountyComm GP-5/SSB.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KK4NWW Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2017 22:44 Send this review to a friend
Basic lightweight and reliable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hello, I have had this mini wonder radio for a week or so. Well I can say its a hot receiver, I bought it to monitor the SSB ham bands during my delivery job. So basically have a external icom IC703 antenna connected to radio and an aux audio cable from the countycomm to the aux input on stereo equipment. Super nice small footprint and lightweight is a plus. FM sounds very good. Selectivity and sensitivity are pretty acceptable. I wish I could direct frequency entry thru number keyboard.
 
N8ZEE Rating: 4/5 Aug 3, 2016 20:16 Send this review to a friend
Great little radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
The best $80.00 I have ever spent. Radio works great on sw bands, but I use it mostly on ssb where it shines. A couple of my friends were on 20 meters and 2 of the three came in great the other one was pretty low on my ham radio so no big thing. Great for a go bag. Check out all the reviews and see what most think about this radio. My call sign is n8zee you can look me up on qrz if you want more info.
 
AA5IT Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2016 13:18 Send this review to a friend
Excellent for what it was designed for  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This radio fits into the "portable" category with its performance that is only "hand-held" in size. Very cool radio.
 
QRPNEW Rating: 3/5 Dec 29, 2015 18:20 Send this review to a friend
Can be improved  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought this as a replacement for the Degen SSB receiver. I wanted precise frequency tuning with USB and LSB. I also wanted it as a replacement for my Icom R20 which i used for hunting down RFI. The Icom is too expensive to leave in the back of the pickup!

THE BAD:
S meter wont stay on when Sideband is selected
No mode CW mode position
Tuning is fiddly for ham use
NO EXTERNAL antenna socket. The clip on long wire picks up too much noise and even a 3.5mm antenna connector like on the Degen would have been acceptable. I am thinking of modifying the MW or headphone jacks as an external antenna jack. A Stereo jack could be used for the antenna. One connection for MW and one for shortwave antenna.
Sensitivity could be better. The Degen 1103 is more sensitive on the whip.

THE GOOD:

MW and LW works well with the ferrite bar antenna. I had no problems hearing aero beacons and direction finding their direction

Shortwave tuning and memory tuning is OK

Size and AA batteries are excellent features.
Direct volume control is nice without having to use a menu.

CONCLUSION:

I see a lot of potential for this little receiver.
If it was made more ham friendly, improved sensitivity, improved user interface, S-meter on SSB, and a better ham user interface it would make a nice Shortwave general purpose RX. If this was done and a MUTE was added that allowed for transmit it would make a nice QRP receiver for use with homebrew QRP transmitters. The main reason that I bought it was finding all the crud in the house from switch mode power supplies. It excels as a RFI receiver.

 
K0CRX Rating: 1/5 Dec 10, 2015 08:17 Send this review to a friend
DEAF AS A STONE  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I read the reviews and I was pretty excited to get one of these little receivers. When it arrived, I was totally disappointed. It's hard to tune and takes way too much effort to get to a specific freq.

But, most importantly, IT'S DEAF AS A STONE!! Anxious to hear it perform on SSB, I connected it my 160-meter dipole and tuned across 80 meters during prime time. I heard ONE SIGNAL!! Thinking we were having some sort of radio anomaly, I tuned across 80 meters with a real radio and the band was hopping, as usual.

The bottom line - IT'S JUST ANOTHER DEAF PORTABLE SHORT WAVE RADIO. Save your money.
 
NZ5L Rating: 5/5 Aug 28, 2015 14:20 Send this review to a friend
great for a pocket receiver  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Despite the innovative "Easy Tuning Method" (ETM) it's difficult to scan with - odd, because that should be a digital radio's forte. But it's surprisingly sensitive, especially when hooked to a permanent antenna. The AM plug in loop actually works rather well, and the FM sensitivity is above average for the type. The adjustable BFO is able to "clarify" ham SSB audio fairly easily, and even CW sounds pretty good. FM stereo thru the earbuds (supplied) is excellent, and the little speaker gives reasonably good audio. It's very light and portable, and - this is important for an every day user like myself - the batteries last a long time.
Needs a better scan system and a better written manual, but it's definitely a winner in amount of performance per pound!
 
KI4GHQ Rating: 5/5 Aug 28, 2015 09:19 Send this review to a friend
Small But Smart  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Have this little for 2 days It's sitting on my desk at work and I'm enjoying it. Will get a second some latter. I've read all on the net about this radio and it lives up to what is written about it. Just the size to carry in the GO Bag or on the Belt. Very easy to use the more you use it the better you get.
TRY IT YOU WILL LIKE IT.....
 
KE8WO Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2015 06:13 Send this review to a friend
Best Small SSB Receiver I've Had  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I agree with the other reviewers here ... so I won't duplicate their basic comments. Very fine performance overall. A couple of general comments:

1. Receiver very briefly mutes as you tune from one frequency to the next. Not a big deal, but you can't rapidly scan from one frequency to the next without a brief, split second pause .. else you'll skip right over a station.
2. Would be nice if there was a button to select tuning rates of something like 1 mhz, 100 khz, etc. to facilitate more rapid tuning around the bands. Some memories can be set up to help with this.
3. The buttons are small and closely spaced. Probably at the limit for most folks fingers! They take a firm push to activate.
4. AM/BCB will only pick up the stronger local stations unless you plug in the supplied external AM/BCB antenna.
5. Good sensitivity FM and SW off the short whip antenna but much improved SW with an external antenna plugged into the 3.5 mm. antenna connector on the top.
6. Very good SSB reception, stable with good audio. Holds it's own against more expensive receivers and a Kenwood TS440 transceiver.
7. The vertical form factor is great for hand-held usage. But top heavy for setting on a hard surface. Using some sort of stand is recommended.
8. The volume control is a continuous potentiometer and not a clicky, discrete step control as on other Degen / Tecsun radios. Allows a precise setting of the desired audio level.

Its a very good value at the current price of $80 if you are in the market for a very small radio with exceptional performance, including SSB capabilities.
 
KC0EKQ Rating: 4/5 Aug 7, 2015 22:10 Send this review to a friend
What a kick!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I love this crazy little radio!

As small as a TV remote, but almost as sensitive on its whip as my other portables on AM and FM (excluding the Panasonic 2xxx radios, because duh!)and its little MW ferrite antenna actually will peak and null signals.

Audio is there but not great -- nothing unpleasant or bad, just no low end to be had -- but through phones it's nice, especially on stereo FM.

SW is interesting because it does hear much that my other radios hear, give or take, but it performs better below about 15MHz, and is almost deaf at 25MHz and up, to all but the strongest local signals.

The SSB function is so fun, though. I mean, it DOES work and on moderate and steady signals it works very well, without much drifting, and in fact I haven't yet really had to chase a SSB signal down the river, so to speak. It's pretty stable.

It can overload in the presence of strong signals and if you are in such a location and use the supplied clip-on wire antenna, you will get ghosting and splash and all the usual treats of overloading, on all bands.

I had this notion about it just now -- if you ever used a Realistic DX150/160 with a decent antenna, think of this as a handheld version of that (SW performance-wise), only with almost no drift, solid SSB and clean stereo FM added.

That's not a bad deal.

But it is really stinkin' fun, and works VERY well, enough to surely make it worth the $80 price point.

 
K8RDG Rating: 5/5 May 25, 2015 12:26 Send this review to a friend
I'm Impressed  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Impressive little receiver. The GP-5/SSB receives SSB (MWARA freqs.) using the 18" whip antenna equally as well as my Sangean ATS-909 using the 44" whip antenna, as tested indoors. The external High Sensitivity AM antenna improves MW reception. Compact design makes it very convenient for travelling. Solid feel and functional design. Good audio through the small speaker. The ATS and ETM, however, take a little getting used to but are no obstacle to performance. Their web site and the related You Tube videos gave me confidence before I placed my order. For less than $100 ($74.95 from CountyComm), you can't go wrong.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.