eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Tower and Antenna Installers | BPTower Benny Peterson WB4SQC Help


Reviews Summary for BPTower Benny Peterson WB4SQC
BPTower Benny Peterson WB4SQC Reviews: 17 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $Very reasonable
Description: Good planning and good work.

Benny Peterson, WB4SQC

423-612-0451

hovernaut@comcast.net

Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the BPTower Benny Peterson WB4SQC .

Page 1 of 2 —>

AA4H Rating: 5/5 May 13, 2017 17:30 Send this review to a friend
Great guy, good work.  Time owned: more than 12 months
My 2nd review for BP Tower. Needed a rotor swapped and a 40 ft 6m beam aligned with the other beams on the mast. Benny got it done quickly, charged a very fair price and was gone so quickly that I didn't get out of mowing the yard.
 
K4DU Rating: 5/5 Apr 17, 2017 12:03 Send this review to a friend
Excellent work, great value  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Benny removed and helped us refurbish my 95 pound Sommers XP706 HF Yagi. He then reinstalled it on my 60' tower. He is knowledgeable, dependable, and creative. Benny knows what he is doing and I will use his service again when it is needed!
 
K9RX Rating: 5/5 Nov 2, 2016 05:17 Send this review to a friend
Ecxcellent work...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Benny is first and foremost SAFE! He is meticulous, honest, works hard without a single complaint ... I'd highly recommend him. Also reasonable rates. We did a 148' rotating tower with a rotary 80/75 dipole at the top, 4EL40, 5/5 on 20 and 6/6 on 15. 17 hours on the tower over 2 days.
 
N4DXC Rating: 5/5 Oct 13, 2015 05:02 Send this review to a friend
Successful Project  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My project involved a 25-G and tri-bander takedown followed by installation of a fold-over section four months later. Benny completed both tasks in a timely and professional manner. The fold-over configuration is a little more involved than the usual tower job and the installation presents some challenges that Benny overcame with his experience and wide array of special tools. He offered several suggestions which improved the safety of my setup. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
 
KX3C Rating: 5/5 Sep 7, 2015 05:59 Send this review to a friend
Job was professionally done in a timely manner.   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Benny arrived when he said he would and did a great job above
and beyond what we thought it would be. The weather was
excellent for the job. He installed a used HyGain tower and a
used rotator which was in pieces when I received it. We were
going to install a Mosley pro-57a but missing parts put a stop to that. We changed directions and installed a Hex beam with
a "Benny Special" porcupine on the top of the tower. I'm hoping Benny can return in the spring and move the Hex beam and install the Pro 57a on the tower. Benny is very reliable and does an excellent job, we enjoyed his company.
 
GWW Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2015 13:02 Send this review to a friend
Internet remote tower antenna and HDTV tower antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
Benny is competent, pleasant to work with, reasonable in his charges. Unlike others, Benny doesn't "pick his jobs", going for the easy or straightforward. He assesses what is needed, and just gets it done. In my case, the antenna was not guyed properly, leading others to decline to climb it (that part is understandable). Instead of simply saying it was not safe, Benny determined what was necessary to make it safe, did it, and then did the climb and restoration of service needed. All of this with a heat index of 100 + degrees, without any complaining at all. He did a turn key job under tough circumstances. Highly,Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!!!
 
K0EJ Rating: 5/5 Jul 2, 2015 07:00 Send this review to a friend
I would hire Benny again!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been blessed with a an excellent group of friends who have helped me with all my tower projects but when my 2L40 homebrew W6NL-Moxon suffered some damage, I decided to get professional help. The job involved removing the 40M yagi at ~80'(with half the reflector dangling below it from the element strut). A 3-stack of 6L10M yagis is also on the tower (1 above, 2 below). I thought we would have to take down part of the stack but Benny quickly determined he could tram the broken antenna down, even in tight quarters between other tower guys and some trees. It took some time and a few folks on the ground to do it safely but it came down without damaging the lower 10M yagis. He then trammed up a F12 MAG340N to replace it - again, dodging guys and trees. All done in one (long) day. Benny had the tools and know-how to do the job safely. Highly recommended!
 
N4DXC Rating: 5/5 Jun 24, 2015 11:39 Send this review to a friend
Well prepared and capable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Benny has the equipment and skills to do a wide variety of tower projects. He has invested in a range of equipment that includes a powered capstan winch that is a big help with lifting or lowering heavier items. He is prompt and efficient at setting up the equipment and doing the work at hand. He is very fair with billing for his time, and doesn't quibble over every minute spent. He works carefully without taking risks, yet maintains a productive pace. He needed to position his truck on my prized zoysia lawn, and he was very careful to ease it into position using 4-wheel drive to avoid damage to the turf. I will definitely have him back to finish the second phase of my project. Highly recommended.
 
KA4HXZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 25, 2015 17:59 Send this review to a friend
Low Power FM  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have personally know Benny for decades. Not only has he been exceptional on Amateur radio installs, but commercial as well. 3 years ago Benny installed a low power FM translator for a local AM station , org outside of Boone, NC . on a mtn top where we needed 4WD to get on a good day. In that environment, he didn't lack for anything equipment or hardware wise to get the antenna installed, & that inc a generator to power tools to cut thru rusted bolts that were on the tower for decades .

Later Moved the translator to Carter Co, TN. Installed a 2 bay rotor tiller ant on an AM tower, installed an iso-coupler on the ant feed line, dug a 200' trench to lay the 7/8 feed line from the transmitter building to the iso-coupler.

All aspects were done correctly, on time, & under budget. If any comm stations are looking at low power FM, I'd HIGHLY recommend BT tower for the install.

Sincerely,
David Edwards
Engineering.
WETS FM Quillen College of Medicine
 
KA4HXZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 20, 2015 10:57 Send this review to a friend
Commercial Broadcast Install / Repair  Time owned: more than 12 months
April 17, 2015
Benny Peterson/BP Tower has completed several tower/ antenna projects for Public Radio Station, WETS FM/HD, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tennessee.
June-July, 2011
WETS FMs 160 Foot Transmitter Site Tower, Holston Mountain, Carter County, Tennessee

1. Removed a Collins two bay FM transmitting antenna and 100 feet of 3 heliax coaxial cable.

2. Installed a 3 bay Electronic Research high power FM antenna and 100 feet of 3 heliax coaxial cable and cable support clamps.

3. Installed a 6 foot Studio-Transmitter-Link Microwave dish antenna and inch coaxial cable.

4. Removed a 8 foot Microwave dish antenna.

5. Installed coaxial ground-kits on new cables.

October 2014
1. Installed a 3 foot 5.8 Ghz dish antenna on WETS FM 160 Foot Studio Tower and cable to transceiver.

2. Installed a 3 foot 5.8 Ghz dish antenna on WETS FM 160 Foot Transmitter Tower and cable to transceiver.

3. Preformed alignment on studio dish antenna.

4. Changed-out jumper cables on WETS FMs studio 8 foot dish antennas.

March 2015

1. Aligned 5.8 GHz dish antenna at the WETS FM/HD, Holston Mountain Transmitter site and checked continuity of the cable to the transceiver.


Benny performed the WETS FM projects per our instructions and to our satisfaction. He was always on time and on the date scheduled. His rates are very reasonable and his quality of work is excellent.
Mitch Sandidge Chief Engineer WETS FM/HD 423 439 6444 sandidge@etsu.edu
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.