eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Alinco DJ-500T Help


Reviews Summary for Alinco DJ-500T
Alinco DJ-500T Reviews: 11 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $130
Description: 144MHz/430MHz FM semi-duplex dualband 5W transceiver. IP54 sealed. 1000mW audio. Wide/narrow tx/rx. 200 memories. VOX.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.alinco.com/Products/DJ-500/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alinco DJ-500T.

Page 1 of 2 —>

SWLCHRIS Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2017 18:10 Send this review to a friend
Great beginner rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got my ham call KC3ITX a week ago and had this ready for the local nets. The indoor rubber ducky signal is lacking but with a mag mount on a window unit I was good to go ,solid signal.
Easy to learn and the manual was surprisingly clear enough to understand.I set up the local nets and repeaters in memory using the software and it was pretty easy to do.
I'll buy another one if I need one.
 
PETER6 Rating: 4/5 Sep 5, 2016 15:21 Send this review to a friend
Great for the price  Time owned: more than 12 months
Very good modulation, sensitivity, speaker is loud and crystal clean.

I have 3 this radios (DJ-500E).

The first is from first series (s/n number 1865): Rating 5+, all work perfectly

The second radio (s/n number cca 2300):
Rating 3, S-meter dont work, main dial switch skips the channels.

The third radio (s/n number 4399):
Rating 4, S-meter work only in laboratory, outdoors is very unreliably - shows only 0 or 9. Others work perfectly.

Great Radio, but the S-meter...I would pay more, if the S-meter work.
 
W1KJL Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2016 10:43 Send this review to a friend
It's a steal at $99  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I love this radio so much, I bought 2 of them. I used to be a huge fan of the Yaesu FT-60R, but this radio changed my mind. Is it as full featured as the Yaesu? No, but what it lacks in features it makes up for in other areas.

This radio is smaller and lighter than the FT-60R, seems durable, has better selectivity and sensitivity and the Li-ion batteries last a long time! The audio is clear and loud with its powerful speaker. My audio reports have also been very good. Accessories are cheap too! Programming is a bit tedious by hand and not as easy as the FT-60R, but I use the RT Systems software and cable and it's a breeze with that. The only negative I have with it, is it only has 200 memory channels. For a bare bones, basic dual band HT, I think this one is great!
 
W9KHZ Rating: 5/5 Aug 8, 2016 08:26 Send this review to a friend
Great radio-Great price  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This little HT is a fantastic radio! I've always had great service from Alinco products but this one is exceptional. Very responsive, excellent out put and the speaker is very loud if you need it. I am surprised at the low price. Night and day better than the cheap chi-com radios. It is now my EDC HT and I leave my older Icom t-90A at home. I bought a Diamond 15" whip antenna and I can hit repeaters over 20 miles away. The dual frequency display is a plus too.
 
W9JN Rating: 5/5 Jun 22, 2016 20:13 Send this review to a friend
NICE RADIO  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
howdy I've only had this radio for a week. Programming is done with RT Systems software and cable. Of course I'm able to program using the on board menu. I had two of the Chinese Bxxxxx HT's. Never again. The audio on Tx and Rx are excellent. I changed the antenna to a longer whip. the new antenna did work a bit better. For the most past the original is just fine on local repeaters that are within 15 miles or so. I'm using 5 watts. I only have charged the battery once. I will see how it preforms after a couple more charge cycles The belt clip is sturdy and holds securely. At $99 from Universal Radio this is a bargain.
 
KC2QQR Rating: 5/5 May 5, 2016 16:08 Send this review to a friend
Solidly Built Handheld  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had this radio for about 2 months now as my every day carry radio. What I like about it, is the sturdy feel of it. The radio is actually a commercial grade radio, that is modified for amateur bands, which can be easily modified using Alinco's free software. The software is kind of cheesy, but it does support all modifications of the radio, which is nice. I bought a relatively inexpensive programming cable from Amazon, and it allows me to easily program the radio. On the fly, the radio is not that hard to program compared to some radios I have encountered. I tested it on my power meter, and it is about 5.7 Watts output on a fully charged battery.

The stock antenna is OK, but not the greatest. I recommend buying a different antenna. I wanted smaller, so I went with a Comet SMA209J, which works well since the receive on this radio is outstanding. But for longer distances, I recommend a bigger antenna. I use this mostly for local repeater work, so the little whip is good for me.

The only knock I have is that Alinco should have recessed the display. I can see it getting scratched quite easily, especially if it gets dropped.

The menu structure is not badly organized, but I have seen worse with other rigs.

The extended battery is inexpensive, but you need to buy the belt clip separately. However, you can charge the extra battery in the supplied charging base while using the radio, so you will always have a charged battery handy. The battery charges from dead to full in about 4 hours.

Overall, if you are looking for a heavy duty HT, this radio is perfect.
 
N8KIM Rating: 4/5 Nov 12, 2015 16:33 Send this review to a friend
A good choice  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
So far it's all pros for this radio, try D ft-60r first and had problems so I tried this one and it seems to be working perfectly, well almost. I do need a louder receive audio in my noisy environment at work if I turn this radio all the way up the receive is slightly distorted making it unusable had that volume. But that's the only bad thing I can say about it. The price is great it's built well battery lasts a very long time nicer drop in charger then others I've tried. Very happy with my purchase good luck.
 
KK4WEY Rating: 4/5 Sep 25, 2015 07:38 Send this review to a friend
Nice Radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is my second HT, my first one was a Baofeng. I was able to program this HT manually which I loved. My audio reports have been excellent. It looks well made, and the backlit keys are great. If your looking for an affordable HT, look no further.
 
WB5LFV Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2015 07:51 Send this review to a friend
excellent high quality  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
well first off the review below me says it was made in china not so look on the box it was made in japan! plus this is a high quality radio with a super hot receiver. mine hears a 440 machine 60 miles away on the stock duck antenna setting in the house. it has very high quality transmit audio and the receive is very pleasant to listen too. the fm broadcast has very nice tonal audio quality coming out of the speaker, and the programming isn't hard. plus I have the rt systems software but really isn't needed,just a nice edition to have if you want it. everything is user friendly and I enjoy listening to this radio as it sounds very professional. all in all a great radio and well worth the money! plus it is rainproof,shockproof,built tough!! get one and see for yourself!
 
W2DI Rating: 5/5 Jul 18, 2015 12:31 Send this review to a friend
Great for the price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had the DJ-500 for almost 2 months and I think it is a very good ht, especially for the price. The build quality seems solid and the xmit/receive characteristics are also hi-q.

It has a good feel in the hand, is easy to program and understand, though the manual/instruction is rather poor. But if you know your way around hts, you'll be ok. A newcomer might have difficulty with the manual and should consult an Elmer on programming.

I could be wrong, but I believe this radio is from China. The reverse sma arrangement and the bottom part of the supplied rubber duck antenna getting warm on high power is what makes me think this.

So, first, replace the duck with a better quality one, making sure to get the female sma on the antenna. I got an adaptor to use a bnc antenna and put my Larson dual bander on it, but there are good alternatives for less money. Most hts come with a marginal antenna so this is nothing new.

Having the drop in charger come with the unit is a plus. Many brands will make you buy the drop in charger at a steep cost. The extra batteries, should you want one, are reasonable too.

Despite some of the negatives, I feel, so far, this is a quality dual gander at a low price and most would like it. How it holds up is something I'll have to judge over time.

Thanks for reading. Joe - w2di
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.