eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Yaesu FT-411E Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-411E
Yaesu FT-411E Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $359.95
Description: 2M HT
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/amateur/ft411.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-411E.

LISTENER007 Rating: 5/5 Aug 28, 2014 02:04 Send this review to a friend
Great workhorse indeed  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had a few of these remarkable little radio's over the years and although I have sold all but the one I currently have, I have always come back for more. You know what it's like, you buy and sell then sometimes you regret selling so you buy another - that's my theme for the FT-411E. I bought this one new, lord knows how many years ago, maybe 14 or more years now, and I refuse to sell this one because it just keeps hanging in there doing what it was designed to do. It's a no frills 2 meter H/H radio with no bells and very few whistles but it just keeps going and going. It's a dying breed of radio that is a real workhorse and doesn't give any troubles and I still use it often even though I have other brand new models to choose from. If I am going out into the field and want guaranteed fuss free results, the FT-411E always comes with me. I replaced the original stubby antenna with one about 3 times longer and boy does this baby fly - guaranteed to perform, always. I use Sanyo 2700ma NiMH's (HR-3U - Orange, blue & white ones), the best NiMH battery in the world, and these last for a long time in this radio. The receive audio is not the highest quality sounding but it gets the job done. This radio is a 10 out of 10 radio, based on what it was designed to do versus what it actually does, and I love it.

That's all I am going to say.
 
KK7VY Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2012 16:56 Send this review to a friend
Takes a licking and keeps on ticking  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought my FT-411e new in 1989. This little HT has a HOT receiver. Best 2 meter FM HT ever built. Still works like new after 23 years. You can't improve on perfection.
 
ZL4IV Rating: 5/5 May 11, 2011 01:38 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: more than 12 months
Brought mine in the early 90's. Full expanded TX/RX so I could use it on the marine bands. A very good radio that has not aged. Upgrade to what?
 
KC0YEF Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2007 22:20 Send this review to a friend
Great rig all around  Time owned: more than 12 months
I keep buying these and they just keep working
Very Highly sought after 2M with tones
 
KC4GMY Rating: 5/5 Dec 27, 2003 23:43 Send this review to a friend
Owned one of these years - fantastic tranceiver!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Has held up for years - still works great! Highly recommended!
 
KC4RZW Rating: 5/5 Oct 22, 2003 15:04 Send this review to a friend
Great Performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have had a 411E for over a decade, it has been a solid performer, used it while working many events. Added a bigger duck antenna. This radio has really been used. It is a solid single band 2m rig, and a legend in its own time. IMHO
 
KA7ZPW Rating: 5/5 Jun 4, 2003 02:28 Send this review to a friend
SOLID HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great HT. I own 2 of them, and cannot imagine life without one now. I just got into a nasty crash, sending my poor little 411 crashing ito the dashboard at about 60 mph. It broke one screw holding the case together, and dropped the battery. I squished it together, and it works like new. I've owned the older one since 1996, and my newer one for about 6 months. Rock solid and reliable. Best monoband HT I've used.
 
VE8NX Rating: 5/5 Dec 17, 2000 15:34 Send this review to a friend
Great HT if you want 2M only!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using Hts in work since the early 80's and for fun since becoming a Ham in 1992. Seen lots of good and bad.

I had a 411E from 1993 until recently when it went Tango Uniform after a bottle of suprisingly corrosive shower gel leaked into the bottom of my travel bag.

This is one tought little radio! It was dropped twice (that I know of) onto a concrete floor, once into a toilet (fortunatly and unused toilet) and survived a 400' fall from a helicopter - only cracking the AA case. After the fall I had it checked out at a radio shop and after they had put it through the test equipment they said it had better specs than most of the commercial HTs they serviced.

It is a very easy radio to use with plenty of bells and whistles. The essential programming steps are not hard to learn and although it is a small radio the keys are a reasonable size. Another plus is that Yaesu is still producing them after all these years.

I would recommend this HT to anyone who is looking for a single band 2m Ht.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.