eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Analyzers | MFJ-226 Graphical Antenna Impedance Analyzer Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-226 Graphical Antenna Impedance Analyzer
MFJ-226 Graphical Antenna Impedance Analyzer Reviews: 11 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $329.95
Description: A Vector network Analyzer that runs a 2 AA batteries, covers 1 to 230 Mhz continuous, or selected portions thereof.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-226
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-226 Graphical Antenna Impedance Analyzer.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W9HAM Rating: 0/5 Dec 9, 2016 04:26 Send this review to a friend
Junk  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had mine replaced three times now. Enough said.
 
W4DEF Rating: 5/5 May 17, 2016 09:41 Send this review to a friend
Great tool for Ham Radio use.   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased the MFJ-226 in March. The build quality and feel of the analyzer is excellent. The screen is large and readable. It is accurate and easy to use. It is especially useful when connected to the computer. The software controls the analyzer and enables you to save or print your file for future reference.

The MFJ-226 is more than an antenna analyzer. It is a VNA that can be used to test many other components used in our hobby. I use it mostly on Return Loss measurements and have found the results very close to measurments taken with more expensive test equipment.

One word of caution: Mine came with an earlier version of the manual and firmware. Be sure to download the updated manual with the new firmware from the MFJ website before updating your unit.
 
2M0LDT Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2016 08:33 Send this review to a friend
Great !  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
WOW, what an EXCELLENT Analyzer !
Super stable, but i had bought the Feature Tech AW07A as i was "TOLD" it was the same .. it is NOT!
the cheaper Feature Tech LOOKS the same but man O man its not.. ive ready many spurious stories of MFJ re badging etc etc.. it contacted MFJ direct, and its all nonsense !, however they are aware of Feature Tech and are also aware of the tales that they are the same..

I have both and have examined them in detail.. they are Totally different internally. the MFJ is far superior in every way, components, soldering etc etc..
you get what you pay for !
 
KB1PFL Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2016 12:01 Send this review to a friend
Nice compact Analyzer  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Got this as a Christmas gift."Nice way to get permission from XYL for an expensive ham related tool".LOL.Anyway been fooling with it for a while now ,seems pretty good compared to my trusty 259B.
Shows graphs and is capable of downloading to a PC also got a windows 10 RCA micro tablet PC had some trouble getting drivers down loaded but MFJ finally had an update to their software and got it loaded seems goood to go now. very pleased with it so far.Jim KB1PFL.
 
WB2YVY Rating: 5/5 Oct 31, 2015 12:31 Send this review to a friend
It does Smithcard  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I updated the Software from MFJ. Finely the MFJ-226 is working as it suppose to do. The SYS update File hat to be where it wanted to go. Great unit for the Prize. The early software had problems that are solved now
 
W9HAM Rating: 3/5 Oct 23, 2015 05:16 Send this review to a friend
Problems  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased mine at the 2015 Dayton Hamvention. I noticed right away that the battery cover fits loose and slides off very easily. It turns off from time to time and it might be due to the light tension on the battery contacts. My biggest issue is that it does not work across the entire 10 meter band. I believe that MFJ will be replacing this unit though. I like the small form factor and the features. It's nice for tuning my Buddipole portable antenna.
 
WB2YVY Rating: 4/5 Sep 26, 2015 11:44 Send this review to a friend
PRICISION INSTRUMENT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got the Software to work on an Vista Computer with the Anti virus checker and Internet switched off. On the smith chard you have to move the dot one place, 14MHz reads 140.
This is a precision Instrument normally you can't buy under $1000. Software could be better
 
WB2YVY Rating: 2/5 Sep 22, 2015 14:13 Send this review to a friend
SOFTWARE NOT WORKING  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
INSTRUMENT IS GREAT CAN SAFE BUT NOT RECALL. SOFTWARE DONT WORK, COULD NOTGET HELP FROM MFJ. GOT ONE PLOT AND MY VIRUS PROGRAM ERASED THE SOFTWARE. LOADET AGAUN COULD NOT INSTALL, TOLD ME THE DRIVER HAS TO BE INSTALED FIRST. DRIVER INSTALL TELS ME IT IS INSTALED DEVICE MANAGER CONFIRMS IT.
THERE IS A ARTICEL FROM W3UEC :TAMING THE MFJ-226 DATA FILE. EHAM SEARCH SOFTWARE NEETS ALSO HELP
 
W3UEC Rating: 4/5 Aug 26, 2015 06:21 Send this review to a friend
Good Instrument, Limited software  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I had no problem saving data to any of the 29 internal files; however, I could not recall the data to the instrument screen; and the Wiindows ( 7 and up) program I downloaded from MFJ, was limited in how the data could be manipulated. My (hopefully temporary) work-around is is described at the link http://www.eham.net/articles/34974 . Now I need to get out my old C language compiler and try to do something more elegant :-}
 
KI6WJ Rating: 2/5 Aug 25, 2015 16:46 Send this review to a friend
needs help  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this model in February.I used it for two weeks and then returned it! The package and the display is is nice for working at the antenna site. The display size is ok but black.I could not make it save any data which has to be done so that it can be downloaded to the computer. MFJ techs could not provide any assistance. They had to contact the manufacture to seek help with no success.My disappointment was with mFJ not the product. They released a new product without any support. Maybe that will get corrected.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.