eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Icom IC-910H Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-910H
Icom IC-910H Reviews: 78 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $1,500 (Street)
Description: VHF/UHF Satellite Tranciever
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-910H.

<— Page 2 of 8 —>

TERRY_PERRY_EX_W3VR Rating: 4/5 Jul 13, 2009 12:48 Send this review to a friend
Not bad  Time owned: more than 12 months
For an all mode, high power, amateur vhf/uhf xcvr it does the job well enough for me. I operate mine mostly SSB & CW. It is substantial, & well built unit from a mechanical stand point. It has nice sounding and xmit & rcv audio. It is a shame Icom does not have a 220 mhz module for it. I don't use it much for 2m/70cm FM, but for general use it does fine. Wouldn't it be something if Icom decided to make a modernized IF DSP version of this unit. Guess there's not much market for something like that or they would be making one. All in all, not bad, but it is a bit overpriced when you consider that the IC7000's 2m/70cm is quieter and has better selectivity (obviously not as much output power). Makes for a general purpose 2m/70cm base unit. Although I intend to hang on to this unit for a while, I probably would not buy another one if something happened to mine. I would probably go the transverter route with one of my HF transcievers.

I'm curious how the 2m module Elecraft is now marketing for the K3 will work out?

W3VR
 
W4AMP Rating: 4/5 Jul 13, 2009 12:18 Send this review to a friend
The Real Deal  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had a TS2000, and it is a nice rig. But IMHO the 910H blows it's doors off. Ordered mine from Dan at the ham station, installed the two dsp modules and 1.2 gig module myself. The rig has been flawless since day one. (six months now) No pre-amps needed, hot receiver on all bands. Lots of audio gain, like the hand mike better than the SM20. Worked the ISS during field day on 437.8 up with a GP98 verical! Reverse can be checked by pushing 7 (check) button.

Only knock on rig is option needed for computer logging/control. If not for that I would have given a five. Great rig, very pleased.
 
W3RXO Rating: 4/5 Jul 2, 2009 18:50 Send this review to a friend
Good radio, lacks some refinement  Time owned: more than 12 months
I love my 910H. Now, with that out of the way, let me badmouth Icom, for some serious oversights, and engineered deficiencies.
1) No built in cross band duplex. While it is really best used for 2m SSB, it is a very capable FM radio, and this would be a nice function to have available.
2) No DCS. PLEASE! Come on Icom, radios selling for 1/4th the price have DCS capabilities. Why skimp out?
3) No Alpha-Numeric display. Again, like my first two complaints, this is primarily a problem for the FM user. But, again, radios with a far lower selling price, have Alpha-Numeric display capabilities.
4) And this one is more geared for the SSB/CW and weak signal users. The receive, when properly tuned to peak performance, is fully capable of far more sensitive receive, which would negate the need for the external pre-amplifier. Then again, maybe this was engineered in, to help sell the pre-amps?
5) A digital microphone gain control, that could program the mic gain setting based on band, mode, etc, into the memory, would be helpful. When switching from SSB to FM, if you forget to turn off the compression, or turn down the gain, you will have VERY hot transmit audio, in the FM mode.
SUGGESTION for Icom-Build a 220mhz module for it. Seeing as no manufacturer, other than Alinco, is currently building a 220 rig, having the ability to put a 220 module in something like this, or the Kenwood TS-2000, could be a plus to manufacturers who do not wish to put forth a full effort to build a 220 rig. Even if it only had a 25 watt output capability, it could be a boon for the manufacturer who builds one.

Aside from my negative comments, above, I do love my 910H. It does everything it is advertised to do, and does it well. The menus are fairly easy to navigate, and it is a solid performing rig. I simply wish Icom had thought to put a few more standard features in it, that are typically found on much less expensive rigs.
 
G8YTZ Rating: 4/5 Apr 3, 2009 13:44 Send this review to a friend
Communist radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this radio second-hand on e-bay from an Australian dealer www.radios.net.au The radio was well packed in its original box within another box and packed polystyrene “wotsits” ensuring that it arrived in one piece. Shipping took about two weeks to the UK.

The general condition was more-or-less as advertised perhaps the seller’s description of “immaculate” was perhaps very slightly optimistic, but certainly the radio is in “very good condition” and it works perfectly.

The general sensitivity and IM performance is good, I live less that ¼ mile from a powerful UHF TETRA transmitter these is a little cross-mod but is fairly negligible and no particular issues have been experienced. I can’t say that about other rigs I have tried at this location though.

The Good:

• Fantastic audio quality on transmit and receive, SSB and FM
• Very clear and easy-to-read display, only a normal LCD, but very clear and large display and at the right angle.
• Very easy to use, intuitive easy to store memories and navigate the menus.
• Great s-meters with massive dynamic range, I don’t think they come any better than this.
• Great cross-band performance (no noticeable receive gain compression) when using a Diamond diplexer and a Diamond V2000 single antenna
• Powerful transmitter mine gives 115W on 2M and 80W on 70cm (when cold) reducing to 100W on 2M and 70W on 70cm when hot
• Flexible data connectivity on the back
• Good options list, even if some should be standard

The Bad

• Expensive, until you factor in the cost of those standard built-in 70cm and 2m power amplifier.
• Lacks AM reception, or for that matter transmission too.
• Lacks a wideband receiver function that’s a standard feature on any modern handheld.
• No reverse repeater button (listen input) at least I cannot find the function in the manual, however this is not really a repeater rig so ignore this comment!
• Fan is a little on the noisy side, at least for most use it only runs at its lower speed and only when on transmit unless the unit is used for very long over’s. As I live in the UK and we don’t have Tokyo summers I plan to change it to a slower-running model (RS Components 541-5025) made by Orion which is some 17dBA quieter than the original and the same physical size and mounting dimensions.
• Frequency stability with standard crystal is ok, but only just ok, so as I am fussy, I’ve ordered the CR-293 high stability oscillator module, this really should be a standard fitment.
• Would be better if the memory selection was via a knob rather than up/down buttons.

Summary

If you want a dedicated and high-power base station 2 & 70 rig with a 23cms option there is no better one on the market, but that does not mean that it is perfect, it is just that this radio occupies a monopoly market position and therefore represents the single party state. Come on Yaesu, how about some good old fashioned pre credit crunch capitalist competition? I’ll be first in the queue!. Unfortunately this radio is a little long in the tooth now, but don’t let that put you off if you want a serious SSB rig.

Justin G8YTZ
 
VK3NJP Rating: 4/5 Mar 8, 2009 07:07 Send this review to a friend
Good radio for SSB work but time for an upgrade/refresh  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I purchased this radio new at a local Icom dealer in Melbourne, Australia. My main use for this was for home and field-day use on SSB for 2m, 70cm & 23cm work. It's been on the test bench and runs 96w on 2m, 80w on 70cm and 9.5w on 23cm. All other specs are spot on. I've been very happy with this radio although it's probably time Icom updated this radio - it's been around for a while. This is not a radio to waste just performing FM & repeater duties all day long. It's excellent as an SSB rig though. Lack of PC programming isn't a show-stopper but it would be nice to have. It's scanning facilities are very basic. But then you don't buy a rig like this just to scan with. It's a rock solid performer, has a great display, runs full rated power easily and easy to use.

It just needs an update... like 30w on 23cm and standard, D-Star option, PC programmable, colour screen would be nice like most new Icom's now and better hand mic - even though current mic is fine.
 
GM1FLQ Rating: 1/5 Feb 17, 2009 07:03 Send this review to a friend
Single conversion rx on 2m !!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
£1000 pound radio and only single conversion rx on 2m - another one of Icoms rip-off radios.
 
M1IFT Rating: 2/5 Jan 10, 2009 03:49 Send this review to a friend
Average performance, many needed features missing  Time owned: more than 12 months
Where do we start?
If you are serious about 2m 70cms and 23cms don't buy this radio, but don't entertain the others either, A good Hf radio with transvertors are the best solution.

Whats wrong with this radio?
Poor I.f on 2m especially, it's noisy on receive, even with big signals there is still noise present. 70cms and 23cms are not as bad.

Lack of PTT outputs, there is only one, although I have produced a Mod so that the 910 has 3 outputs. This was much needed.
The original PTT output is weak and has a tendancy to blow the switching transistor.

As mentioned lack of alpha tags in memory.

Overstated power output, although all the other radios are the same too, It isn't 100w but 70 watts (rms) on 2m and lower still on 70. some large amps require 100w rms. On the other side the lowest power setting is too high for some transvertors.

There is no separate rx and tx for 2m , several have asked for this so I have produced a mod to enable tx from the radio and rx from either the radio or a transvertor.

Lack of band modules available, only 23cms, I have produced an onboard 4m module that uses the 2m receive, problem is you loose 23cms as there isn't any space inside for both. I don't think there any need for 6m as most hf sets now have this, although there could be a 220mhz? for the USA market?


I have produced several different screen illumination mods, the best is amber or the original.
The original UK/EUR model hase 1750Hz toneburst and no ctcss encode, A simple mod can swap this, I came up with this solution when the radio first came out, many have copied it on the internet and claimed it as their own, BE CAREFULL, most of the mods are wrong. Above all do not adjust the IF gains, this will give the impression that signals are greater BUT will increase the noise dramatically, and If you use the DSP the audio will distort.
A low noise mathead amplifier will be far better.

The Dsp units are not worth getting and dont help a great deal, especially on noisy 2m, the CW narrow filters are however usefull.

I have lab tested this radio against a new ft847 and ts2000, The ft 847 is a terrible radio for 'sprogs' and the ts2000 had a slighlty cleaner tx but weaker receive, although this sounded more natural than the 910.

The 910 doesn't perform as well as expected against some of the older icom 2,70, 23 radios of the 80's. There isn't much between 910,847 and ts2000 so i think its personal choice.

Regards Andy M1IFT / G0TTR
 
AE5EH Rating: 5/5 Sep 28, 2008 20:19 Send this review to a friend
REV 1-Great for what it was designed for.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
One of the stupidest things I've done in a while was to sell the 910H in order to try the TS2000.

Big, big mistake!

For VHF/UHF SSB, CW & satellite modes, the 910H is definitely my radio. Even with the extra expense of the CR293 TXCO, & UT106's, I still don't mind paying for it. I just got my brand new replacement from HRO this week. I'll be hanging on to this one for a while. The extra power for VHF & UHF is great too. I hate the 2m/70cm FM CB bands, and could care less how it operates there. I seldom use FM on any band least of all 2m/70cm. I wish the radio had IF level DSP like the PROIII & 7000, but it might not have been possible when this radio was first released. Even though I bet these do not sell that well, I'm glad at least Icom makes this special model radio. And I'm sure other folks that appreciate what this radio does appreciate it too.

If you are a echolink/2m/70cm FM CB space cadet weenie, go buy a Yaesu 7800R w/the cutesy little red back-lit DTMF hand mic. Don't have your mommy waste her money on this radio for you.

If you want a serious 2m/70cm all mode radio for satellites, SSB and CW, w/100W 2m/75W 70cm, and don't mind spending up to 2 grand for the radio plus accessories, have a long look at the 910H.

Terry-AE5EH
 
CHRISGM Rating: 4/5 Sep 27, 2008 21:47 Send this review to a friend
Works as advertised  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Purchased from AES in Las Vegas. Got the base unit, plus the UX-910 1200 MHz band unit, a pair of UT-106 DSP units and the UT-102 voice synthesizer, and the CT-17 level converter. Put it all together, and it worked without a hitch. Would have appreciated if AES had assembled and tested, but there were no issues. Also got the AG-25, AG-35, and AG-1200 pre-amps. The AG 1200 was purchased overseas, and may have been the last one for sale anywhere. Due to shipping issues it was three month getting here. CR-293 High Stability Crystal Unit, and two filters ( FL-132 and FL-133 were purchased on Ebay, and shipped from a vendor in Japan. Installation was challenging, as the original crystal unit had to be removed, and the new one soldered to the PLL board, the filters required the complete removal of another board, and without the assistance of a Hakko desoldering unit would have been nearly impossible. Instructions on the addition of all the options were less than clear,and more than once I wondered if I was in over my head. After all of this when the unit was reassembled, the LCD screen started blanking out. The manual forgot to tell you after all the changes that a CPU restart was necessary. All in all, it has been worth it, I would now like to find a AG-2400 down converter. Antennas are all M2's, as well as a tri-bander from Diamond. Have not been disappointed, but this is a specialized unit, not your everyday FM-vhf/uhf unit. Not for those on a limited budget, as the options make it happen!
 
IZ2OBY Rating: 5/5 Sep 10, 2008 06:09 Send this review to a friend
Fantastico !  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Possiedo l' IC-910H da circa un'anno utilizzandolo in QSO locali, SSB dx ma specialmente con i satelliti orbitanti Oscar e ISS. L'apparato si e' sempre comportato divinamente offrendo le prestazioni di tutto rispetto dichiarate dal costruttore.
Abbinato al microfono da tavolo SM-20 ( unidirezionale )o al SM-8 ( omnidirezionale )ho ottenuto una modulazione invidiabile, nonche' incredibilmente pulita e fedele.
Utilissima ed efficace la funzione AFC nelle operazioni satellitari: una vera "volpe" nell'inseguire la frequenza che shifta per l'effetto doopler !!
Un apparato di questo calibro e' sprecato per QSO su ponti ripetitori: andreste in Ferrari a fare la spesa ?
Grazie Icom per questo gioiello !!

 
<— Page 2 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.