eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | JTAlert app WSJTX JT65HF Help


Reviews Summary for JTAlert app WSJTX JT65HF
JTAlert app WSJTX JT65HF Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $FREE
Description: Main site for JT-Alert software for WSJT-X & JT65-HF:

http://hamapps.com/

For direct help from Laurie VK3AMA and other JTAlert users:

https://au.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/HamApps/info

HamApps (JTAlert & JTMacros) support by VK3AMA
HamApps (JTAlert & JTMacros) support by VK3AMA.

Useful helper applications for JT65-HF and WSJT-X.
JTAlert - Provides several alert types based on decoded callsigns within JT65-HF and WSJT-X.
JTMacros - Provides additional "free Text" macro buttons for JT65-HF and WSJT-X.
Product is in production.
More info: http://hamapps.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the JTAlert app WSJTX JT65HF.

VK2RT Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2017 23:47 Send this review to a friend
QSO Relay Software JTAlertX 2.9.x link to HRD 6.x  Time owned: more than 12 months
QSO Relay Software - JTAlertX 2.9.x link to Ham Radio Deluxe 6.x Logbook

Since Laurie, who developed JTAlertX, announced that support for Ham Radio Deluxe (HRD) Logbook v6.x would no longer be available beginning with JTAlertX version 2.9.0., a group of amateurs who wanted to maintain this link between the latest versions of JTAlertX and HRD, decided to develop an application to achieve this end. The software was designed and developed by Chris VK2BYI who some of you may know, developed and designed FTRestore for managing menus and memories for the FT-991, FT991A, FTdx1200 and FTdx3000 radios. Our group have no bias either way with Laurie's decision to drop this support, we only want to maintain the link.

JTAlertX adds significant functionality with audio and visual alerts for WSJT-X (and JT65-HF etc) and now with QSO Relay we are able to keep using the latest JTAlertX application (2.9+) in conjunction with the latest Ham Radio Deluxe software (6.4+).

QSO Relay is a Windows desktop application that runs as a System Tray application that listens for contacts being forwarded from WSJT-X and JTAlertX via the User Datagram Protocol (UDP). As datagrams are received, they are logged locally in a SQLite database and then relayed via Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) to a Ham Radio Deluxe Logbook v6.x database.

QSO Relay was developed as a proxy application that interacts with JTAlertX the same way as one of the alternate logging applications supported by JTAlertX – Log4OM. This allows JTAlertX to verify that that QSO has been logged by querying the SQLite database, before the contact is relayed to the HRD Logbook database.

As confirmations of contacts are subsequently received from various sources such as LoTW, eQSL.cc and QSL Cards, the corresponding rows in the HRD Logbook database are updated. QSO Relay has a feature whereby contact confirmations in the HRD Logbook database can be made to the QSO relay database as well. This synchronisation process is requested by selecting a QSO Relay menu item.

This in turn should be followed by a ‘Scan Log and Update…’ in JTAlertX to update its Wanted Alert requirements.

Features
• Runs as a minimised application with an icon in the System Tray.
• Works with HRD Logbook v6.x with full support for logbooks hosted on the following database platforms:
o Microsoft Access (Standard Jet Database *.mdb files);
o Microsoft SQL Server;
o Oracle MySQL Server.
• Synchronisation between the HRD Logbook database and the QSO Relay database can be triggered when desired to ensure updates are replicated back to QSO Relay.

I have been part of the testing team and have been using this application for some time now with complete success. I recommend this application to those who wish to keep using the latest Ham Radio Deluxe with the latest JTAlertX.

The software is available at http://www.vk2byi.com.au/qsorelay/. As well as downloading the software, please ensure that you download and read the associated documentation.

The following link will take you to the VK2BYI-QSO Relay Forum where support will be available: https://groups.io/g/vk2byi-qsorelay/

I recommend that you join this Forum in order to keep up to date with any software changes and maybe provide constructive feedback, this will be the sole source for software update information and software support.


DE Bruce
VK2RT
 
WO2X Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2017 23:19 Send this review to a friend
Great program  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Using JT Alert 2.90 with WSJT-X and Log4OM.

Jt Alert adds nice functionality and is very customizable to allow you to track progress (DXCC, grids, etc)

It also allows online lookup of call and upload of QSO to several logging programs, including Log4OM.
 
VA3VF Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2016 11:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent add-on for JT65 and JT9.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm surprised there are so few reviews of this fabulous add-on. JT65 and JT9 are fantastic modes, add JTAlert, and the 'package' is complete.
 
N4ST Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2016 08:03 Send this review to a friend
Must Have Add On for WSJTX  Time owned: more than 12 months
JTAlert is a must have add-on for working with WSJTX. There are other reviews here that list the massive features of this software. It makes WSJTX operating so convenient. I credit my 8-band WAS to JTAlert (still missing KL7 on 160M for 9-band).
I am however, very sorry to see that JTAlert will not be supporting Ham Radio Deluxe in the future.
 
KF4FC Rating: 5/5 Aug 20, 2016 14:19 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product and Very Professional Support  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have just recently become involved with JT65 and am fascinated by the mode. During my journey towards discovery with this, one of my Elmer's (thanks Dave, AD4TJ) mentioned this software tool. I have recently built a computer for my ham shack and executed a dual partition between Windows 10 and Ubuntu Linux. I also dual partitioned a 256 Gig SSD for programs and app installation. I also did a dual partition of a 2 TB hard drive to divide between Linux and Windows. I am traditionally a Mac user and as such am used to having a "My Documents" folder which I can place anywhere. I defined a "My Documents" folder on my 1TB Windows 10 hard drive partition for use. I am also using ACLog for logging my contacts. Using this setup, JTAlert had trouble finding where ACLog had set up it's log file (which it turns out is more of an ACLog issue apparently).

My experience having this addressed by Laurie could not have been better. His response time was essentially immediate and he communicated with me during the resolution phase and even contacted the author of ACLog in order to facilitate a solution that could be incorporated into future versions of JTAlert. As you can see, my issue was rather specific in the way that I had setup my computer and yet Laurie was up for the challenge and had it fixed within days. One could not ask for a more responsive and professional approach to support. I highly recommend this very useful tool for this relatively new mode and again cannot say enough about the support. Thanks Laurie. Best, Fred KF4FC
 
WB4RFQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 12, 2016 07:13 Send this review to a friend
Must-have for JT ops  Time owned: more than 12 months
Try using any of the JT65 apps without a JTAlert companion app -- then try using them with it. You'll never go back to flying solo.

Everyone who operates these weak signal modes has some sort of a workflow, especially if you operate using the original WSJT-X software. I used to have to manually keep tabs on which DXCC entities were needed, and to more or less operate blind with regard to working whoever showed up on the waterfall.

With JTAlert, I can:

- have my contacts logged directly into my logging program (N3FJP's ACLog)
- get notified whenever a needed call shows up
- get notified when my callsign appears (put down the sandwich and answer!)
- have contact info automatically logged

The JTAlert suite of apps has a lot of features. You'll want to sit down and spend about 30 minutes to an hour tweaking it to perform how you want, but once that's done, you have a great JT* workstation at your disposal.

Laurie (the author) is very responsive via the HamApps Yahoo group, and there's a vibrant support community in that list as well.

Highly recommended.
 
W6AAJ Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2016 14:09 Send this review to a friend
A MUST HAVE!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
JTALERT is a "must have" tool for JT65 and JT9 usage. It tells you when someone new to your log is calling CQ, it beeps you when someone calls you, it can alert you to new stations your seek and it helps prevent you from adding duplicate contacts (if that's something you want do). Also, there's a separate window that shows you JT65 and JT9 activity by band. This is great for following the action. The product is well supported and is being enhanced regularly. What more do you need ! I highly recommend this software.
 
KB9UMT Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2016 08:33 Send this review to a friend
A must have for WSJTX/JT65HF users  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
For those digital ops using/interested in WSJT weaksignal HF modes here is an add on software that is a must have...hats off to Laurie VK3AMA for his great work creating FREE apps for all to enjoy/use (Laurie VK3AMA also creator of http://hamspots.net/ great spot page!)

Main site for JT-Alert software for WSJT-X & JT65-HF:

http://hamapps.com/

For direct help from Laurie VK3AMA and other JTAlert users:

https://au.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/HamApps/info

HamApps (JTAlert & JTMacros) support by VK3AMA
HamApps (JTAlert & JTMacros) support by VK3AMA.

Useful helper applications for JT65-HF and WSJT-X.
JTAlert - Provides several alert types based on decoded callsigns within JT65-HF and WSJT-X.
JTMacros - Provides additional "free Text" macro buttons for JT65-HF and WSJT-X.

Audio and visual alerts for several alert conditions
Your Callsign decoded (someone calling you)
CQ & QRZ
Wanted Callsign
Wanted Prefix (by Ban/Mode)
Wanted Grid (by Band/Mode)
Wanted US State (by Band/Mode)
Wanted DXCC (by Band/Mode)
Wanted CQ Zone (by Band/Mode)
Wanted Continent (by Band/Mode)
Wanted CQ Marathon (by Band/Mode)

Automatic logging to these log types when QSO is logged in JT65-HF or WSJT-X
DXLab DXKeeper
Log4OM
HRD Log V5/6
Standard ADIF 2.2 file
MixW CSV file

Various Web Services Supported
Online XML Callsign Database lookup. QRZ.com (paid) and HamQTH (free)
Upload logged QSO to Online Logbooks. ClubLog.org and HRDLog.net
Upload all decoded Callsigns with frequency and Signal report to HamSpots.net

Works with DXLab applications
Automatic log to DXKeeper when JT65-HF or WSJT-X QSO is logged
Automatic post decoded Callsigns to SpotCollector (local spots)
DXKeeper lookup of previous QSOs with decoded Callsign
Send Callsign to Pathfinder for lookup

Supports user-selectable Sound Card
Each audio alert type has independent volume setting & wave file
LoTW and eQSL membership flagging of decoded callsigns
Band Tracking or alerts. 160m to 2m, including 60m
Disable audio alert for "Worked B4" stations on current Band
Automatic "Worked B4" flagging of previous QSOs
Scan your log to update needs lists for alerting (US State, DXCC, CQZones, etc)
Dockable to bottom or top of JT65-HF and WSJT-X window
Bring JT65-HF or WSJT-X window to front of other windows on alert activation
Auto start & close of JT65-HF, WSJT-X and other applications on JTAlert start & close
Send TX Power and current QSO partner data "Name, Callsign & No. Bands worked" to JTMacros for dynamic macros

What a great addition and must have for any serious WSJT mode digital op/user...TU Laurie VK3AMA.

Don KB9UMT
http://www.30MDG.org
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.