eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | JRC NRD-545 Help


Reviews Summary for JRC NRD-545
JRC NRD-545 Reviews: 16 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $street price appx $1795 (Grove)
Description: Luxury Receiver covering 100 KHz to 30 MHz.
Optional converter allows coverage up to 2 GigaHertz.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.grove-ent.com/RCV21.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the JRC NRD-545.

Page 1 of 2 —>

AUSSIE Rating: 5/5 Sep 14, 2015 14:03 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my JRC NRD-545DSP in 2014 second hand but condition is brand new with the converter on board main intrest for me is monitoring aircraft on hf its hooked up to a wellbrook active loop and a metz antenna have received stations from around the world as for vhf using an Icom-AH7000 discone it also does an excellent job do have other receivers to compare from aor,commradio,drake,elad,icom,ten tec,winradio,yaesu
this one is just as good its not perfect but it comes down to what antenna to you are using so with that in mind i am very happy with my receiver.
 
KG8LB Rating: 3/5 Jan 18, 2015 12:32 Send this review to a friend
May be a good investment , not so good ast radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought one of the last of the JRC-545 just as production was ending . I had great expectations but reality wiped most of that away . The "DSP was a real let-down as the audio had a bothersome distortion and the noise level on AM when carrier drops would nearly drive you out of the room . To top it all off , the bugger just plain quit . Sent it back for service and it was returned a week later . The mute no longer functioned and the service center said it was the best they could do because they could not get replacement boards .

A very "pretty" receiver however with unbeatable ergonomics .

A brand new radio that doesn't work with no parts available is a poor "investment" in my book .

I'll stick with receivers that work and look to make money by other means .
 
AK9S Rating: 5/5 Mar 25, 2014 12:17 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Compared to the Drake R8 series, this receiver is able to make weak signals sound highly intelligible. It is extremely sensitive and offers an astonishing number of ways to deal with QRM.

Purchase used in mint condition as a collectable, I now have no intentions of ever selling it. Worth every penny of the premium asking price over retail. They just do not make receivers of this caliber and quality anymore. If you can find one, snatch it up quickly!
 
G7ENQ Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2012 12:16 Send this review to a friend
Not so much a receiver - more an investment  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my 545 new in the late nineties and have never regreted the purchase. It performs exactly as it says on the can - an outstanding piece of kit. I also bought the frequency extension card which takes it into the VHF/UHF bands. So in essence this should suffice for 99.9% of the needs of any shack in terms of Rx.

Selectivity/sensitivity wise, it works with the proverbial piece of wet string as an antenna. At least this goes some way to reducing your expenditure on fancy active antennas - it really doesn't need them, unless you're operating down a mine shaft.

It was sad to read that production of the 545 stopped in 2007, so my mention of the word investment is likely to be bourne out. They were never cheap when new, and they appear to holding their value extremely well.

Summary: If your wallet can stand it, don't let one of these cuties slide past you again.
 
ZL1003SWL Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2012 13:37 Send this review to a friend
Definitely the best receiver I used so far.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my JRC NRD 545 back in 2002 when I was living in New York. Got it second hand from Grove Enterprises.
So far I have owned and tried many receivers such as Grundig 2000, Yaesu FRG 7700, JRC NRD 345, Icom R75, Kenwood R1000, Yaesu FRG 7, Barlow Wadley XCR30 and no doubt the NRD 545 is in another category.
Yes, it does have some "issues", such as the strange "burping" noise when tuning a strong signal, very occasionally went blank on power on and it had its front end protection ceramic filter replaced by the folks from Sherwood Engineering as the original one was terrible when trying to do DX near stations with strong signals.
The sound quality is not that great but I don't care much as on DX I only use a very good Sony headphones.
The sensitivity is amazing. Selectivity is the best as we have all sort of tools to eliminate interference like selectivity filters, Notch filter, PBS, etc.
Anyway, for those looking for a PROFESSIONAL grade receiver, with excellent construction, excellent performance, excellent ergonomics I would recommend the JRC NRD 545.
I never regretted for buying it.
 
KB8QEN Rating: 0/5 Sep 25, 2009 19:25 Send this review to a friend
Bottom of the heap !  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Sorry but this is one of those great looking radios that does not come close to it's asking price. I bought one of these brand new from Universal, ( A fine company) I had expected a new receiver that would rival my old Drake R-8 and R-8A receivers. Not quite! The layout is gorgeous, the ergonomics are fine, the performance and reliability are NIL .THe concept was actually quite good but the execution was miserable. Pity too. THe continuously adjustable bandwidth coupled with it's passband tuning showed real promise. The limitations on AGC in the AM mode were dissapointing. The noise floor is near deafening when there is no signal present , the DSP overall is down right nasty . To top it all off the receiver is prone to just quitting , the DSP cards fail and JRC offers little or no support. Mine quit after but a couple of months. It was returned for service and came back "working" but not quite . When sent back for correction it needed a new DSP card. JRC would not supply the card and the radio purchase price was refunded . No problem there. I was glad to get the money back. It seems within less than two months from ending production JRC, Japan had decided to no longer support the 545 !
Unlike the mighty Drake R-8 series which is very well supported by the fine folks in Ohio. Then again I have owned 3 R-8 series Drake and never needed to service them. Recently a friend bought used R-8 that required service due to abuse by the former owner. The R-8 was promptly serviced and returned with a very low service fee charged. And yes, the Drake is a fine performing receiver that is still supported years after production was halted prematurely when the new owners took over.


If you want a very impressive looking radio that has a pretty display and are not the least interested in the actual performance nor longevity suffer the JRC.

Looking for a good high end receiver? DRAKE ! Not JRC, Not LOWE.(especially not LOWE)...DRAKE!
 
G0UUT Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2009 12:35 Send this review to a friend
fantastic 10/10all the way  Time owned: more than 12 months
the pepole who give this 0/5 or3/5 don't know how to use this pro rx or they do not know what DSP IS
i have x2 of them and it is great rx for all used ham sw etc well made you still can buy them but not in the US .
AND jrc HAVE A VERY GOOD SUPPORT IF YOU HAVE THE RIGHT e-mail address it is a very big company .
thank you JRC for this nice rx
 
KE5CBG Rating: 5/5 Aug 11, 2009 16:54 Send this review to a friend
A NICE RADIO  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I sold my first 545 and regretted it.I was lucky and found a very clean example from Universal Radio.It is well made and the controls feel as it is of professional caliber.I strongly disagree with the negative remarks about the audio. I have been a SWL for 35 years,and the audio is fine for utility and ham monitoring,and using the ecss function is good for am swb dxing. It is very sensitive and selective with a very attractive display.A keeper in my shack 73.
 
M1SPY Rating: 5/5 Jun 20, 2008 17:23 Send this review to a friend
Summit  Time owned: more than 12 months
I now own something like 20 receivers and can say this is the best! Not my favourite but the most capable I have owned. Are professional receivers better?
 
KE7GSK Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2008 07:28 Send this review to a friend
My favorite HF Receiver  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is my review of the JRC NRD-545 Serial 20XXX. This is my second JRC NRD-545 and after selling my first I regretted it so I figured Iíd better grab another one before they ran out of stock. JRC stopped production of this model in January 2007 with no successor on the radar. Rumor had it that they had maybe two years of stock on the shelves.

Iíve owned numerous higher-end amateur shortwave rigs to include the the AOR 7030+, JRC NRD-525, AOR 5000AU+3 etc., and have owned the Yaesu FT-2000D and Mark-V, Icom ProIII and 746Pro.

Likes:

∑ The manual notch is superb and the notch-tracking feature is very effective.
∑ An incredible 990 DSP bandwidth choices. In comparison, the Icom 756ProIII has 51 choices in two formats, Sharp and Soft. In the venerable Ten-Tec Orion II there are 590 (100 Hz-6kHz in 10 Hz steps), but in the JRC there are 990 (10 Hz to 9.9 kHz in 10 Hz steps) in either your choice of Sharp or Loose in AM/SSB/CW and RTTY modes all controlled from a front dial.
∑ Fantastic AGC flexibility. The 545 has a front dial that can be adjusted in 20 m second steps ranging from 0.04 to 5.1 seconds for USB, LSB, CW, and RTTY modes.
∑ In my opinion the display is second only to the Icom 756 series with large lettering and numbers in various colors. All the information youíd need is provided.
∑ A very well laid out front panel with quality encoders, dials and large buttons. Quality cabinetry. Nothing cheap here, this is a quality rig.
∑ Iíve never lost a lock in the AM mode so Iím very impressed with the ECSS system (AM synchronous detection).
∑ The sensitivity is outstanding. This rig hears very well and in this regard it is second only to my AOR 7030+.
∑ 1000 memory positions, RTTY Demodulator and PBS.
∑ AM-Stereo. Havenít used it but itís available with the correct set-up. From what I hear the AM Stereo feature works across the NRD-545ís tuning range, in Long/Shortwave as well as the AM broadcast band.

Dislikes:

∑ I do not like the 545ís DSP Noise Reduction and have used various configurations with the DSP and AGC to get it right but no matter what, it just doesnít do it for me. The background hash does decrease but so does the volume and the signal frequently becomes muffled or, in some cases, sounds like a person with bad dentures. My 756ProIII, 746Pro and FT-2000 had the technological edge in this regard. Maybe in time Iíll figure out the perfect combination. In all fairness I seldom ever used the DSP Noise Reduction in any of my rigs but even more rarely in the 545.
∑ In order to change your DSP and BC settings you must dive into the menu. With all the real estate available on the front panel of this rig you would think they could have added one additional dial.

Negatives Iíve read in different reviews:

∑ There were comments made concerning low-level AC transformer humming in later samples which would include mine. I do not hear any humming in this 20XXX serialed 545.
∑ Negative comments aplenty about the wideband CHE-199 converter. My first JRC NRD-545 did have the converter installed. Please understand that after youíve owned the AOR 5000AU+3 almost anything will pale in comparison. That rig is what I consider the best for VHF/UHF right up to 3000 mHz but for $3K it had better be that good. The 545 wideband converter was selling for around $400.00 so how does it stand up against scanners in that price range? I still would rather go out and spend it on a separate scanner. I experienced the same as others dissatisfied with the converter. Deaf with multiple birdies. Iíve heard that it is hit and miss in getting a good converter and mine was ďmissĒ.

After a 10-year production run, the 545 still holds its own in regards to features and performance. With everything considered the JRC NRD-545 remains my favorite HF receiver. If youíre thinking of buying one of these I would do so soon.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.