eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Diamond V2000 Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond V2000 Antenna
Diamond V2000 Antenna Reviews: 43 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $150 - $175 Average (2/2003)
Description: Tri band (6m/2m/70cm) omnidirectional base station antenna.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond V2000 Antenna.

Page 1 of 5 —>

M1OOO Rating: 5/5 Feb 25, 2015 09:35 Send this review to a friend
BEST OF THE BUNCH  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned a DIAMOND V-2000 for around 10 years and I am impressed by the antenna's performance on all three bands. Yes - the 50MHz performance can be improved by replacing all 3 radials with extended-length radials - see mod here: http://ea4eoz.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/modifications-to-diamond-v2000-and.html

In my opinion, the genuine DIAMOND V-2000 is the way to go if an omnidirectional tri-bander is reqired. There are less expensive (or should I say cheaper) copies on the market - but you get what you pay for! DIAMOND IS QUALITY. Why pay good money for a transceiver and then ruin its potential performance by using an inferior product that under-delivers?!

The ONLY beef I have is a weakness in the mounting structure which DIAMOND HAS NEVER ADDRESSED (shame on them) - the mounting architecture is reliant solely on ONE grub-screw at the base of the antenna. This grub-screw secures the WHOLE antenna to the short-length supplied tube which is, in turn, secured to the pole on which the whole antenna system is mounted. This is a weak point that will need rectifying by the user at some stage, so better to do so before first erecting. (Make some hacksaw cuts in the supplied, short-length tube and secure to the main antenna WITH A GOOD QUALITY STAINLESS STEEL JUBILEE CLIP. You won't regret it, and the whole installation becomes pretty well maintenance-free. SHAME ON DIAMOND FOR NOT RECTIFYING THIS EASILY-RECTIFIED PROBLEM.

It's great that DIAMOND refers to their gain figures in dBi - 2.15 dBi gain on 50 / 6.2 dBi on 144 / 8.4 dBi on 430. This equates to REAL-LIFE GAINS of 0 dBd gain on 50 / 4.05 dBd on 144 / 6.25 dBd on 430. dBd (real-world dipole) is 2.15 dB LESS than dBi (isotropic theoretical). Too many suppliers KNOWINGLY & FLAGRANTLY misrepresent these figures by quoting the HIGHER gain figures and just adding "dB" (without the "i" or "d") in order to mislead (con) purchasers into believing they are purchasing a higher gain antenna. So - come on suppliers, less of the con, and publish gain figures as dBd!!!
 
KI4WVZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 13, 2014 22:34 Send this review to a friend
I like it  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had this antenna for a few days, and I thought it was going to be a bear to set up 6 meters... so easy a monkey could do it...
flat to 1.3 swr's on 2m and 70cm
center freq of 52.500 is flat swr's
1.3 at 50.000 and 1.2 at 54.000
can't ask for any better than that ...
I haven't made any contacts yet, but then there are very few in the area ...
 
W4KVW Rating: 4/5 Oct 30, 2013 18:42 Send this review to a friend
Does what it's suppose to do.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Well I've owned & used the antenna since February 2011 & it has GREAT SWR on all 3 bands.It's not up very high but I will get it on the side of the tower one day or on a taller mast.I think the price is a bit high but at least it has worked for what I need it for so far.Beats having two or three antennas for what I use it for.
 
G4VVQ Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2013 17:07 Send this review to a friend
Good Performer  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great antenna, works on 6 mts, 2 mts and 70cms, works as 1/2 wave on 6 mts, 2 x 5/8 wave on 2 mts, 4 x 5/8 wave on 70cms, I have used it quite a lot on 6 mts under sporadic E condition and have good reports back from the European Continent, Sweden, Portugal and Spain etc, it's quite costly but being Diamond well made, has 3 ground planes, adjustable one for 6 mts, which I left alone, power rating is 150 watts, I have tried 100 on ssb and no problems, vswr on all bands is good, can't think of anything bad to say about it, the joint in the middle is a bit loose, but not really a problem, works good on ground wave as well, it's performance is as good or better than other makes I have used..73 Fred g4vvq UK.
 
G7NTG Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2012 03:19 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
l bought myself a clone V-2000 (I WONT BE SPECIFIC AS TO MANUFACTURER BECAUSE THERE ARE MANY SUCH CLONES AVAILABLE IN THE UK AT ABOUT 80) which had a one piece fibreglass radome and a non-adjustable long radial. When l had assembled it l put it on top of a pole 7.5 metres above ground level and measured SWR on all three bands; 70cm band it was 2:1 at 433 Mhz, 2m band it was 1.7:1 at 145.5 Mhz and the 6m band it was 3:1 at 51.5 Mhz. All pretty bad! lt was as deaf as a post on 70cm and 2m although 6m was pretty good if l used an antenna tuner!
l took this antenna down and replaced it with a Diamond V-2000 which gave the following SWR readings when mounted in the same position.
70cm 1.1:1 at 433 Mhz, 2m 1.1:1 at 145.5 Mhz,
1.2:1 at 50.5 Mhz. This antenna stayed in place!
UHF is fantastic with lots of different repeaters on the same frequency coming up when using different CTCSS!
2m is really good and on 6m it performs the same as my homebrew 5/8 vertical whip.
THE ONLY DOWNSIDE TO THIS ANTENNA IS THAT THEY DID NOT INCLUDE FOUR METRES!!
 
M0MCX Rating: 5/5 Dec 22, 2011 05:41 Send this review to a friend
5 Years, 5 stars  Time owned: more than 12 months
Many of my club members "make do" with various random white stick co-linears for VHF, not realising the V2000 is a real beefy antenna which blows most others away. I have not had any of the issues or bad experiences that a small number of other people have spotted. I have low SWR across all of my 6, 2 and 70cms bands and fabulous gain. The feedpont of the antenna itself is about 10m (30+ feet) above ground, well away from anything other than the 20 foot aluminium pole that it's bolted to on the gable end of my house. I'm feeding with 25m of Westflex (UK low loss coax) and regularly open repeaters 100 miles away.

I rarely work 6m band but I have used it on both FM and SSB and even scored some DX however it's not a yagi so I only use it with similarly polarised, locally based hams.

I am considering upgrading to an X-510N not because I'm dissapointed in the V-2000, on the contrary. I'm upgrading to the higher gain BECAUSE I've been so impressed with the V2000.

I will absolutely keep my V2000 and may even re-install it alongside my X-510N. I'll be interested in observing any side-by-side differences in the long term.

73, Callum.
 
WB4LCN Rating: 5/5 Oct 24, 2011 16:17 Send this review to a friend
70cm, High SWR - CURED!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I mounted the antenna on a short drain air pipe on the roof. One of the radials was only about a foot off the roof. The SWR in the 70cm band was high (+4:1). 6m (after tuning) and 2m were great. I bought a 6 foot extension and raised the antenna up and that extra height cured my SWR issue.

Full steam ahead!! :)
 
ZL3AG Rating: 5/5 Dec 6, 2010 17:40 Send this review to a friend
Does the Job for me!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have mine at 45' fed with RG213 and it performs just great. With 100W from an IC746 I can lift a 2Mx repeater that is 200km to my south. Good gain and no rotator required. Would recommend.
 
KC7LFB Rating: 4/5 Nov 4, 2010 21:28 Send this review to a friend
After further modifications...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
>>The bad news is that the antenna is really only usable in the topmost section of the band. SWR goes up as frequency goes down; we hit 3:1 at 53MHz and it climbs rapidly below that.<<

After posting this review, I realized I had improperly converted metric to inches and thus the radials were slightly short.

After adjusting the radials to more than 1/4 wavelength at 6M, the usable portion of the band shifted down somewhat. 3:1 VSWR now occurs at ~51.6 MHz and drops smoothly above that, reaching around 1.2:1 at 54 MHz.

We also removed the factory 6M radial and reinstalled the third homemade radial, lengthened to match the others. No change was noted.

With these mods, I consider this antenna to be adequate on 6M. It is advertised as a 52-54 MHz antenna and it does cover that bandwidth, albeit with a bit more VSWR mismatch than I'd like at the low end. 144 and 440 both work very well. I'd almost describe it as a 2.5 band antenna, since it's really only suitable for the upper portion of 6M.

I'm thus bumping up the rating a notch to 4. Technically it should get a "2" since it definitely "needs help", but the mods aren't difficult once you know what to do.

The remaining question is whether there are any other tribanders out there that perform better in stock configuration than this one does. Anytime you ask a single antenna to cover multiple bands there will be compromise, but sometimes one product is better at that compromise than another.
 
G7MIW Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2010 17:04 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my V-2000 four years ago when I moved to my current address. Initially I was disappointed with the antenna as the rx was poor. Although tx was fine on 2 and 70 no amount of altering the length of the 6m radial would make any changes to an overly high standing wave. After taking it down for the 3rd time I figured that this can't be right, Diamond do not make antenna's that have this kind of fault so I placed the swr meter at the antenna and checked it with a portable trx. No problem on any band! So it was time to check the coax and more importantly the connections. Despite my best effort (solder, flux cleaning etc.) the centre core of the RG-213 at the antenna end was loose in the pin. A reheat and some more solder and flux had that sorted and up the whole assembly went with a single turn coil of 6" (150mm) as a choke. This time the performance was far greater than I ever expected. Nowhere in the tx bands was the swr greater that 1.2:1 So to say I was delighted would be an understatement.
Still after 4 years it is on top of the same mast, untouched and performing just as it did the day I finally figured out the problem, even with a 746-Pro running full power in to it.
Definitely a keeper.
 
Page 1 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.