eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Verticals and Wire | HUSTLER 4BTV Help


Reviews Summary for HUSTLER 4BTV
HUSTLER 4BTV Reviews: 101 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $119.99
Description: 4 BAND TRAP VERTICAL ANTENNA
Product is in production.
More info: http://WWW.NEW-TRONICS.COM
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the HUSTLER 4BTV.

<— Page 5 of 11 —>

WB4TJH Rating: 5/5 Dec 18, 2008 06:33 Send this review to a friend
Best vertical bang for the buck.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I used one of these 30 years ago, mounted on the house roof with radials, and was very happy with it. Recently, I acquired a newer, slightly used one, and ground mounted it with 8 radials to start. I have to say I am very, very, impressed. It does about the same job on long haul as my dipoles,even better in some directions, and fills in the spots where the dipoles are weakest. I measured it right from the book, installed it on a short metal fence post driven into the ground, connected radials just laid on the ground, and it works perfectly. I will probably add to my radial field, and bury them, as I go along, but overall, I have to say this is a fine antenna. At the prices it is available for from DX Engineering, is the best buy in a multi band vertical antenna, bar none. But DO install a good radial system under it. My radials, being on the ground, are not tuned lengths;most are random 25 to 30 feet or so long. I will probably add 30 meters and 17 meters to it in the future.
 
PD1JP Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2008 15:10 Send this review to a friend
Excellent performer  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I imported this antenna from DX Engineering into PA. Compliments for the excellent service from DX Engineering. After installing it on the roof top here at 10m height, I had to recalibrate all traps. It took me about 4-5 hours to get it tuned. With 4 radials for each band, 10m, 15m, and 20m, SWR is under 1.5 on all three entire bands. On 40m I only have 2 radials pointing East and Southeast, SWR there is still under 2.0 across 70% of the band.

I have tested it against full size 1/4 GP's on 10m and 20m, and the 4BTV does the same job. It is not a great DX antenna for 40m, but still I have heard some VK over here with it. When I work into Europe, I easily break through pile-ups with just 25W, probably because it does an impressive job at the somewhat higher take off angles.

It is well constructed. But I do not like how it bends around the lower tube section when it's windy. Here 15km from the coast, it is causing too much stress on the bottom parts. So I have modified the antenna and replaced the top 32mm diameter tube (the 1.5m above the spider) with a 10mm diameter tube. Now the wind load on the top section has decreased, decreasing the stress on the lower parts. It's electrical performance has not changed with this modification.
 
DC2KN Rating: 5/5 Sep 9, 2008 04:11 Send this review to a friend
nice Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Important thing first : I like this Antenna !
Last weekend I did set it up in a semi-portable operation. I had no Antenna Analyzer with me and tuned it with the internal SWR Reader of my FT-450AT. The location was far away from optimal, and I also had only one Radial per Band. Within two hours I had it set up with SWRs that the internal Tuner of the FT-450AT could tune it easily.
Nice Antenna !!

DC2KN
 
W0XXX Rating: 5/5 Jul 4, 2008 21:02 Send this review to a friend
It works!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Mine is ground mounted with 4 radials per band. The radial system is snaked around a garden area, and not spaced out at the base of the antenna like it should be. So the installation is a bit challenged.

The swr curves fall where they should, and it tunes. Tonight on 40m (4 july 2008) I worked east coast, deep south, and midwest easily.

Take the time and effort, add a good radial system, and tune it correctly. You wont be dissapointed.
 
KC8NTP Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2008 23:47 Send this review to a friend
Best antenna on 40m I've used  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am completely blown away by this antenna on 40m. I was helping out the people in the WPX contest yesterday (I don't compete myself), and could not believe the DX that I was getting on 40m. I worked quite a few VKs, ZLs, JAs, and just about every part of the world imaginable. The one that floored me was a station in central LU that said I was S9+15Db! I loved the fact that a lot of DX was working splits up into the General part of the band. I hope that I can get to a test session so that I can upgrade and work more DX on 40m; since I have noticed that most of the DX does not work split up into the General section most of the time. What was also amazing was the fact that I was breaking DX pileups on 40m with just 100w! I am a believer now when it comes to low-band DX and verticals!


The thing is, I still have the antenna ground mounted with only 2 radials. On my next days off I am going to put it up into the air and see what happens. K9EX does have a very valid point. I am sure that I am going to play heck -- once I eliminated some of the ground losses -- getting it to tune to resonance. I also know that once I get it tuned that the feed-point impedance is going to be lower than what it is ground mounted. Figuring out a tuning scenario is going to be the fun part, as I already know that tuning one band is going to affect the other; hopefully I can figure out a shunt feed that will work on all bands. After I have done a little studying, I realize that these type of antennas rely quite a bit on ground losses to make tuning of the antenna easier. I also found that an antenna analyzer is an investment that every HAM should make, since you can find out feed-point impedance and resonance almost quicker than you can blink.


Again, K9EX is very right, if you have a poor grounding system you should not have a problem, but once you improve the system and reduce ground losses you will get into trouble rather quickly. When I ground mounted mine I used a piece of mast pipe that is 6ft long and pounded into the ground with 2ft exposed; I also used an 8ft ground rod and two 33ft radials, and I played heck getting it to tune, so I know that if my ground system was improved more I would have even more trouble getting it to tune. If somebody does not want to deal with the trouble that is involved with tuning this antenna with a good ground system, they should just do a simple install and leave it at that.


I have had a chance to use it on 15m and it worked fairly well. As far as 10m goes, I have not seen an opening here to test it. I will be doing a mod to it for 17m in the near future as it is one of my favorite bands.


If you want an antenna that does fairly well on 20m-10m, and does a fantastic job on 40m this is the antenna for you. Be forewarned, however, this is not a plug-and-play antenna, and an antenna analyzer is very helpful with tuning.


73, John, KC8NTP, east central Nevada
 
KC8NTP Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2008 19:38 Send this review to a friend
Great for what it is  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought my Hustler 4BTV because I did not have very much room for an antenna, and needed something that would cover multiple bands. I have not tried it on 15m or 10m, but I am very impressed at the performance on 20m and 40m. I used it quite a bit on 40m, which I have gotten signal reports from Florida and Maine the other night that were very impressive -- 15Db-20Db over S9. Considering that I have the antenna ground mounted with only 2 radials, this seems pretty good.

Also, the other night I was listening to ZLs working Hawaii, and I was able to copy the ZLs at 56-57 and the KH6 stations at better than S9, which I have never been able to do with my dipole. I am going to mount it on a 30 mast with tuned radials in the next couple of weeks, and I know that I am going love how it works then.

I did have a little trouble getting it to tune at first, but I decided to tune it using the traps, which I pulled out my MFJ antenna analyzer and found out that the traps were tuned very low (about 250khz on all bands). After I figured that out, it was a breeze to tune.

Once I get it mounted up in the air a little I will post another review.

John, KC8NTP, east central Nevada

PS, people that have problems with this antenna are crazy, or don't know what they are doing!
 
N4KC Rating: 5/5 Feb 29, 2008 09:10 Send this review to a friend
Don't worry about SWR!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Got mine for $50 used. I mounted it on a 4X4 that was sunk in the ground about 4 feet and had about 4 feet above ground, using DX Engineering saddle clamps and lag bolts. I also use the DXE radial plate and already had a field of about 80 radials laid down for a previous Army surplus telescoping vertical (see www.n4kc.com for that installation story).

First, ignore Hustler's advice about using tuned radials for a ground-mounted installation. That's goofy for radials on the ground. Cut them at least a quarter wave for the highest band (40 meters in the case of the 4BTV) and do as many as you can. You'll get diminishing returns after about 30 or 40, but it is still better to have more than fewer. Curve them, bend them, cut 'em short...do whatever you have to do to make them fit your space, but the more symmetrical a spread beneath the antenna, the better.

Secondly, quit worshipping at the altar of SWR! I see where some of you have taken the 4BTV up and down so much you've boogered it up, all to try to get it to 1:1. Or you take ground radials loose to see a slightly lower SWR. Don't! Tune it--with radials attached--to as low an SWR as you can on all bands, then go in the shack and OPERATE. With a multi-band vertical antenna over typical soil, a low SWR usually means you don't have ENOUGH of a ground plane!

This is a great addition to any antenna farm...cheap, easy to install, tough as a Waffle House steak, and it works as intended.

Don N4KC
www.n4kc.com
www.n4kc.blogspot.com
(A blog dedicated to technological change and its
effect on life, society, and ham radio)

 
W7NWH Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2008 18:14 Send this review to a friend
Excellent trap vertical  Time owned: more than 12 months
I love mine, easy to tune and really nicely constructed. I sank a 4 foot steel fence post with a sledge hammer, no radials and when prop is good can work the world with 50 watts. Bought a 5-BTV for another property with same results. Finding I don't need a ground plane with my wet soil. Not so into traps but for the $$$ can't be beat! Suggest using the rf traps described in manual.
 
K1WJ Rating: 5/5 Nov 2, 2007 06:49 Send this review to a friend
4BTV with 17m add-on  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the 4 BTV for 2 yrs. works good for a ground mounted vertical. Mine has 16 ground radials of various lengths.

Just added a 17 meter 13 ft wire to the BTV yesterday, and worked NM,FL,KS with 5-9 reports on 1st or second call, not too bad for 30 minutes of work and minimal cost & parts. Works great 1:1 swr 18.110-18.168. Swr of other sections changed a tad after 17m mod, 10 meters was effected the most, but still good.

17 meter add on info can be found at N4UJW's website HamUniverse.com. NICE.

Looking forward to working more 17 meters!

I have installed a couple of these BTV's, any qustions my e-mail is good on QRZ.

73 K1WJ David
 
AI4IT Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2007 18:04 Send this review to a friend
Simply Works WELL  Time owned: more than 12 months
On my forth 4-BTV due to simply being cheap. But moreover, reasonable. These antennas work and work very well for what the price tag is blended with the low angle of take off. Traps? Yes. But it tunes fine with the radials. If I had the financial wherewithal to buy a big beam (I do and I have one), I would still get one of these for practical purposes. It works.

NN4P,
Brian Jett
 
<— Page 5 of 11 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.