eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - 6M/VHF/UHF+ | Lunar Link LA Series Help


Reviews Summary for Lunar Link LA Series
Lunar Link LA Series Reviews: 10 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $3400
Description: 144 Mhz Amplifier & Power Supply <br> RF metering <br> 2 x 3CPX800A7's
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.lunarlink.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Lunar Link LA Series.

N1SV Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2017 06:25 Send this review to a friend
The finest amp I have ever owned  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my LA-62A 6m amp for eight years so far and I can say without reservation that this is the finest amplifier I have ever owned in my 37 years of being a ham. The innovative split design with its remote HV supply begs the question why don't all amplifier manufacturers do this. This allows the small RF deck to be easily placed where you want it. A mere 25 watts of drive is all that's required to produce 1500 watts of clean power and its just loafing at that. Its a dependable workhorse I can always count on when I flip its power switch on. The user manuals are well written and customer service is great if you ever need it.
 
N5KDA Rating: 5/5 Sep 29, 2011 13:35 Send this review to a friend
Works of art !  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've used every model in the LA series, even the 6 meter one. The amps that Steve builds are works of art. Yep, the peice tag looks big but after you see one of the amps and use it you will see they are bargains.
 
KI4M Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2010 19:02 Send this review to a friend
Excellent performer/Outstanding  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased my LA-200 2M amplifier used and just recently got it on the air. All I can say is WOW! The construction inside and out really is outstanding. K1FO really knows what he is doing with these wonderful amplifiers. The components are top quality and very rugged. K1FO is absolutely a gentleman to deal with on any questions you may have. Wonderful support on an excellent product it doesn't get any better than that!

This amplifier easily does 1.5 KW output and the exhaust off the tubes doesn't really get that hot. My amplifier is using the 3CX800A7's not the CPX variety. The blower isn't all that noisy and is quite tolerable. The power supply being remotely located, in my case in the floor, is a huge plus. Add that to the ability to use the power supply on more than 1 RF deck and you have a single op contest station dream.

I love my LA-200 so much that I am going to find a companion LA-70B or LA-72 so it can have some company on my desk.
 
NZ5N Rating: 5/5 Mar 8, 2010 09:56 Send this review to a friend
Great amp  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Get one if you can afford it and are serious about VHF. Mine is an LA-200 modified by the manufacturer to be the same as an LA-22 except it lacks an output power meter (which would be a nice addition as you need a high power VHF power meter to tune and run this amp).

Easily puts out the legal limit with 30 watts drive.
 
K7ERQ Rating: 5/5 Aug 25, 2009 13:20 Send this review to a friend
OUTSTANDING!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This amplifier, My LA22A..what a Brute! what a Beauty! Easy to use! Easy to tune! Rock Solid!
I just like to look at the construction inside...a piece of real craftsmanship.

If you ever get a chance to buy one...or use one, dont pass it up! A CLASSIC! This thing pumps legal limit all day long!

outstanding service and support!
 
WV4I Rating: 5/5 Aug 5, 2005 17:45 Send this review to a friend
LA-200 a serious 2m amp  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I acquired this amp to do serious 2m SSB here in FL, where there is quite a bit of activity. First of all, the fit, finish, workmanship, and quality of contruction is immediately evident. This amp, in all these areas is in a class by itself. As one reviewer suggested, it probably is mil-spec.
With 33 watts in, the output is roughly 1kw on a mid quality watt meter, key down, with almost exactly the predicted Ig and Ip, as well as Tune and Load settings. Not having a quality wattmeter yet that is capable of safely reading over 1kw at 144mhz, and some concerns about putting more than 1kw into a M2 12dbd gain yagi at only 25 feet, and fed with LMR-400, has kept me from running this amp up to full legal limit, thus far. The LA-200 is the older version of the amps (LA-x2's) currently being offered by Lunar-Link, but is very similar. The newer LA-x2 series normally comes with the higher Vp capable 3cpx800a7's vs mine that uses the older 3cx800a7's. All the differences, pros and cons, between these two tube applications can be found on RF Parts' or Lunar's web site. The separate power supply is also a very well made piece of gear as are the Tohtsu relays sold by Lunar-Link. In short, if you are looking for a legal limit amp for V/U and can find one of these used, buy it!!! Alternatively, if you must buy a new one, you still won't be sorry. Lunar-Link is the last V/U amp you will ever buy.
 
N1DZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 6, 2003 22:35 Send this review to a friend
LA-22 The Best!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ordered the PA a couple of weeks ago and just received it. This PA is beautiful. Very small. Quiet and can generate ligal limit with ease.
Steve K1FO is a true master builder and a great person to do business with.
During my 20 years plus I worked with many amplifiers. (Dressler, Commander, TenTec, hombrew 4cx250, GS35b) This one beats them all.
 
K5QE Rating: 5/5 Oct 30, 2002 16:37 Send this review to a friend
The best available  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
After being off VHF for 20 years, I needed to rebuild my station. I have known about Steve, K1FO(WA1FFO) for about 30 years, and knew that whatever he was doing would be first class. I bought a rack mount version of the LA-22 amp for 2M complete with the matching power supply. Installation was easy and I had the amp up and running in only a few hours.

The plate line of this amp is a beautiful silver plated stripline(there is a lot of silver plating inside this amp). The stripline uses a sandwich type HV blocking capacitor. After a few days use, the sandwich shorted out. Steve was immediate in his diagnosis of the problem and shipped out the necessary repair parts overnight. I installed the parts, and the amp has been 100% solid ever since. It turns out that Steve used some "lock tite" goo on the sandwich screws to keep them tight. The goo did not respond well to 1500watts of RF!! Steve does not use the goo anymore, so the problem is permanently solved.

I cannot think of another manufacturer that has or would respond that quickly. Every experience that I have had with LunarLink has been top notch. I have now purchased two more of the rack mounted LA series amplifiers with the power supplies. Each works perfectly and is a joy to use. Everything about these amps is just the best in the industry. I highly recommend the amps and the company. If you want the best in a legal limit VHF/UHF amp, this is it.
 
K8BI Rating: 5/5 Dec 27, 2001 10:42 Send this review to a friend
Love it!  Time owned: more than 12 months
After much careful study of the high power 2-meter amps available on the market today I chose the LA-22 (B version). Steve, K1FO has been a great help both before and after the sale. For those who have not heard of Steve, he has written numerous articles for QST for both amplifier and antenna designs for VHF and UHF.

The amplifier comes in two separate enclosures, the desk-top RF deck and the power supply. The RF deck is beautiful just to look at with it's dual illuminated meters and multi colored LED indicators. I ordered my LA-22 with the optional 2.5 KW fwd/rev/peak reading wattmeter built in to the unit. The meter is very accurate and helpful in keeping my power output below the legal limit as this amp is capable of over 2KW output! Another nice feature that is standard is the grid overload protection circuit. With the pair of 3CPX800A7 tubes costing $450.00 EACH it gives me a little peace of mind just in case I accidently transmit with out the antenna connected (which I did once).

I did have a few initial problems with the amplifier, but Steve's commitment to his customer's satisfaction has got to be the best in the industry.

When I first received the amp, the grid current was much higher than what it should have been. Steve checked with Eimac and it was determined that Eimac had a problem with the manufacturing run my tubes came from. Steve sent me a pair of used "loaner" tubes to use while I waited for warranty replacement of the original tubes. Although tubes are warranted thuough the manufacturer, Steve handled all the arrangements.
The replacement tubes arrived and when installed were found to have very low grid current. Steve had tested the replacements before sending them to me!

Another "small" problem I encountered had to do with the plate strip-line. The strip-line consists of two silver plated plates with an insulating material sandwiched between. A few months after the amp has been in service the insulating material failed, shorting the full B+ to ground. The resulting arc damaged a resistor and one of the diodes in the power supply. I called Steve and he immediately offered to take the amp back and repair it. I suggested that if he send me the components that I could perform the repair. The parts arrived, along with a new set of fuses, in a few days. I made the repair according to Steve's directions and all was well for about 1 month when the strip-line again failed. This time Steve sent me a completely new strip-line assembly (just the insulating material
was replaced the first time). Installation of the replacement strip-line has fixed the problem and the amp has performed flawlessly since. Steve even called back to let me know that there was a problem with the original strip-line. It seems the company that machines the parts didn't properly de-burr the tapped holes that are for the screws that hold the assembly together. This problem has been addressed and should not occur again.

During the summer months when lightning is likely I disconnect my antennas from my equipment. Once I inadvertently transmitted without an antenna connected. Thank goodness for the grid overload circuit! A new fuse and a flip of the reset switch and I was back in business (albeit feeling a little stupid). I thought the strip-line had failed again and called Steve about it. When I discovered that the problem was my fault I confessed to Steve and he was very gracious and didn't even "rub it in".

I currently run the amp to 4 M2 18XXX antennas at 70 feet. Almost anytime I try I can hear my own "moonbounce" echos quite strong.

On terrestrial paths the performance is just amazing. I get signal reports of 20-40 dB over S9 from stations 300 miles away!

I believe the LA-22 is the best 2-meter amp available even with the few problems I had. Even though the problems were not Steve's fault, he stood by me all the way. I would not hesitate to recommend the amp to anyone who wants a "killer" signal on 2-meters!
 
BRIAN_MANNS_EX_W3EME Rating: 5/5 Jan 27, 2001 16:55 Send this review to a friend
Best VHF available  Time owned: more than 12 months
Having owned a Henry 3002 (big,noisy,& design problems) and a KA6NBC 8877 amp (nice: www.antennaworks.com) I must say that the Lunar Link amplifier I have (LA200 - older version) is the absolute best....the others are not even close. This amp is built to perfection....I have
been using it on EME for about a year or so, and it performs perfectly. For about the cost of the Henry, you can have the top of the line. The price shown has alot of options....the cost can be
reduced afew hundred dollars. Check out the web site. Steve, K1FO is one of the best around & you will not find a more honest small business owner.

Brian W3EME
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.