eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Yaesu FT-891 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-891
Yaesu FT-891 Reviews: 17 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $889.95
Description: The FT-891 HF All Mode Mobile Transceiver once again continues Yaesu's legacy for legendary receiver design in a compact package, providing uncompromised performance for both the mobile and stationary Amateur operator. High end 32-Bit floating point DSP enhances the operating experience providing a cleaner, clearer signal and reducing overall operator fatigue creating a more enjoyable environment for any Amateur operator.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.hamradio.com/documents/FT-891%20Brochure.pdf
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-891.

Page 1 of 2 —>

DL4ZAB Rating: 4/5 Feb 21, 2017 23:25 Send this review to a friend
Fair  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hi folks,
judt got my 891 2 weeks ago with the aim to receive a small TRX for travelling or /p-operations.
So far, so good.

Compared with my FT-991 it lacks th built in soundcard, then it would be a great rig!
Why the heck wasn't it possible to integrate the aufio codec chip?
There is need for a separate interface like Signallink with additional wiring and 2 USB-Ports: One for CAT and one for the interface.

Setting up with HRD was quite easy but with JTDX it was a challenge.
If one chooses FT-891 out of the rigs, he or she can do whatever he or she likes: There will be no CAT communication
between the radio and software.
Now the funny fact:
If You use Your settings for FT-991 - with changing the COM-Port to the one occupied by the 891 - it works...!
Another annoying quirk:
During data transfer between TRX and PC the radio produces sounds like sn angry rattle snake in Arizona, hi!
I would have given it a five star rating, if these things were not included.
Have fun and DX, 73!
Ben, DL4ZAB
 
K5SOP Rating: 5/5 Feb 19, 2017 07:24 Send this review to a friend
Best mobile rig ever  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My first mobile rig was a Collins KWM-1 installed under the dash in my 56 Ford. Since then I have used IC-706's, TS-50, FT-707, FT-900, FT-857D, FT-817ND, small older Kenwood's and small Icom's, all with antennas ranging from the Webster Band Spanner, Hustler, Hi Serria, and Bug Catchers of all sizes. Of all of those the FT-900 and the Bug Catcher performed the best. Until the new FT-891 entered the market. I needed a rugged compact radio with a detachable display that I could easily see the controls and buttons and operate in the dark. The rig was to be install in a Jeep Wrangler. The FT-891 appeared the be the rig. For an antenna I chose the ATAS-120A. I mounted a steel light bracket from a Jeep parts house to the windshield hinge bolts. I carefully removed paint from the underside of the screw heads and paint from the mounting bracket to provide a solid ground connection for the antenna. Inadequate grounds seem to be an issue with the ATAS-120A. The FT-891 main unit was mounted in the storage tray in the rear of the Jeep. I used a heavy gauge 19 strand, silver plated Teflon coated ground strap from the rigs ground lug to the Jeep body. The positive power cable was connected directly to the battery and the negative power cable was shortened and connected to Jeep body near the main rig. These connections provided a solid ground for the antenna, power and radio cabinet ground. The control head was mounted to the console and mic cable routed through the console box. All of this was done before I ever applied power to the rig for the first time. I removed the ATAS-120A from the mount, terminated the connection, started the Jeep and powered the rig. It was amazing that I heard no auto noise, no alternator whine, no ignition noise, just quite white noise from the external speaker. The antenna was connected, programmed for the rig and then tuned on all bands without a problem. The next day I took a 250 mile trip and enjoyed the best mobile operating experience ever.

The display is large with variable brightness and contrast. A plus. The backlighted buttons are easily visible under all lighting conditions, day or night. Another plus. Audio output is great with plenty of power to drive a 4" speaker. Jeeps Wranglers are not known for a quite ride. Another plus. The menu is large and easily seen on the screen. A plus, but it is a lengthy menu. Band changing requires attention away from the roadway, a negative, but programming favorite frequencies into memories simplifies this and tuning from the mic up/down buttons makes it easier. A plus. The band scope is a great feature making it easy to find QSO's and net operations. A plus, but I would like for the band scope display to automatically change back to the normal display after a few seconds or a even a bump of the PTT button would be nice. But, if it did someone would complain. Trying to use all of the rigs features while mobile would be difficult but so it would be with all rigs.

Does this radio have flaws, yes, but for me it is a mobile rig, not a fixed station. Is it a perfect mobile rig, no, but it's the best I have ever used. It is far easier to use than the FT-857D and the Icom series and totally exceeds them in performance. Much lower noise and very sensitive. Yaesu did a good job.

I rated the rig a 5 because it is a solid mobile radio, easy to use and operate. If you want a fixed station rig, buy a fixed station rig. If you want to compare it to an FTdx-5000 - try to install an FTdx-5000 in a Jeep or any other automobile.
 
IW2CXJ Rating: 1/5 Feb 17, 2017 00:27 Send this review to a friend
Not a great radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I used FT 891 for a few weeks, I wonder if Yaesu engineers when they designed were drunk, use complicated menu, USB and LSB setting only menu, needless to USB-B port without audio codec, bad dynamic, the low bands It reminds me of my old IC 706 first version. I would say, yaesu bad work, in fact they are used less than 500 € Save your money!
 
NO9E Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 12:35 Send this review to a friend
May be best mobile radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I played with this radio for a few days. Amazing features although mastering them could take an hr or two. Equalizer with effective speech processor makes the signal sounding nice and really strong, perhaps the strongest of any mobile rig. Bandwidth and shift let vary the passband easily. BW down to 50 Hz in CW without ringing. Tunable APF (audio peak) is usually available only in expensive radios and is really effective in CW. A bit different changing of bands and modes by pressing a band button (longer for mode) and choosing with the main knob. Few buttons but it is easy to customize the three custom buttons. For instance, CW Speed, Bandwidth and APF for CW. Or Bandwidth, PROC and Notch for SSB. It would be nice for settings to be retained by band and mode, but the current features seem pretty good.

The rig does not have digital modes but I am not sure how many people use them mobile.

I was looking for replacement of IC-7000, which looks great but has trouble getting heard in SSB and hear CW under static. FT-891 may be it.
 
W4GRJ Rating: 2/5 Feb 9, 2017 05:13 Send this review to a friend
Disappointed - Don't give up your FT857D  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
What a disappointment in operating convenience when compared to FT857D.
Does not retain settings like DSP, Width, etc when changing bands or of power off to on.
Cannot change modes without digging into the menu.
So far, cannot figure out how to do frequency control with Winlink Express. Hopefully Yaesu can make improvements with firmware updates. In the meantime, my FT857D is back off the self.
 
OE3HPU Rating: 3/5 Feb 3, 2017 00:53 Send this review to a friend
nice but not perfect  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Overall I like the radio, since it is compact, has a very good cooling system and the transmitted audio sounds good. The sound on CW reception is clean as well-without much DSP garbage. The receiver is better than the FT857 in some respects. Due to its strong front end it doesīnot overload easily, when other transmitters are in close vicinity to it (as it is on fielddays etc.-try this with an IC 7300 !).The AGC the noise reduction and bandwidth possibilities offered are very good as well. On the other hand there are a few things that could be better, despite the low price:
1) The synthesizer noise is very high. I failed measuring the dynamic range at 10 and even 20kHz offset (NL at about 87dB). Phase noise is worse than on most of the other radios in a similar price range. There are a few spurii as well. 2)IM products on transmit are not acceptable in my opinion(3rd order:less than 18dB down at 80..100W). Competitors reach 30dB using the same RD100 FETs in the PA. 3) It is very strange that you canīt reduce the power or switch to the other sideband without searching in the depths of the main menu. There are a few other issues with the menu as stated earlier here. 4) USB connector but no audio CODEC ?? What about digimodes, Yaesu ??. The mechanical quality is OK. I`d give 3,4 = OK to good.
 
KC2RCX Rating: 4/5 Jan 17, 2017 17:31 Send this review to a friend
So far, so good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Current firmware version 1.04, 1/16/2017.
Most advertising brochures and almost all ads show the full length words displayed on bottom of screen for various functions. This is not the case, actual radios will be abbreviated with a different font other than what is shown in almost all the pictures of the radio from Yaesu.

Second, there is no audio capability with the USB as advertised.

Let's hope the Three year warranty mentioned on the Yaesu site for this radio is correct.

This is a menu driven interface. An outboard speaker with the exception of FM listening will be warranted for most listening.

Once one understands the menus and the effectiveness of the various options used either alone or in combination, very pleasing receive audio is very obtainable and makes a good DX hunter.

DNR under the current firmware is less effective than some other radios I have used. While noise is suppressed, so is the intelligence of voice signals while only using minimum adjustment. It also produces a garbled sound under the DNR option which makes listening less desirable.

Satisfactory display with all information placed logically. Haven't transmitted as of this writing but will circle back for some feed-back on that.
Full 100 Watts. Unique in this footprint. Has dual fans for cooling and can be set via menu to activate as temperature gradually rises for activation labeled "Contest Mode" opposed to default which is an on/off cycle once internal temperature set-point is reached.

Radio has a good build quality and all controls smooth including the main tuning knob. Main knob is rubberized and adjustable for tension. Rubberized buttons are firm and tactical.

All function buttons are illuminated and adjustable for brightness level. I would have preferred an LCD opposed to a dot matrix style, but perfectly acceptable.

For the money and feature set, this one will be hard to beat and should remain fairly competitive for the foreseeable future. $700.00 HRO Atlanta.

73's
KC2RCX
 
TF3JB Rating: 4/5 Jan 16, 2017 00:07 Send this review to a friend
A nice transceiver  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First impression is good and the unit seems to live up to expectations.

However, the Description is misleading: HF + WARC all-mode 100 watt mobile transceiver...

Why mention the WARC bands?

It should read: HF and 6 meter all-mode 100 watt mobile transceiver...
 
SQ5TSS Rating: 5/5 Jan 15, 2017 14:47 Send this review to a friend
great  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I find the receiver to be an excellent
Easy to operate and a good looking transceiver.
The receiver with NR and NB is outstanding. The filters work extremely well.
I find that the Noise blanker is very useful, I can gain as much as 2 to 3db less noise by using it when I need it. It is better than my previous rig (icom IC 7000)
 
KB1UYR Rating: 3/5 Jan 8, 2017 15:51 Send this review to a friend
Great radio with some flaws  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I replaced a FT-857D in my car with this radio. I liked the new design, DSP filter capabilities and wanted to utilize the 857D for portable usage.
After a few months, I have mixed feelings. The receiver is good for its class, the new filter functions are a big improvement over the 857 and the equalizer is also nice. So in general I would like rate this radio 4.5 stars....but here is what bugs me and the reason for the only 3 star rating. I think most of it could be solved with an firmware update so if it gets improved I will change my rating.

Here are the issues I have:

-after every band change (and power cycle) the WHD (filter width) filter is reset to standard values and off.

-after every band change (and power cycle) the DSP noise filter is deactivated.
-the band change is now done with one button and then the VFO is used for the selection of the band. WTF? There is a multi-use dial on the radio that gives for every step a feedback with a "click". Why use the VFO that does not give any physical feedback while driving? You HAVE to look to the screen to make sure you got the correct band. the up/down button solution of the 857D was MUCH better! If they would just change the firmware so the multi dial is being used it would be already much better.

I expect a mobile radio that is designed for mobile and and portable use to remember such settings for each band and to be optimized for simple operation. It is just not safe to change the settings again and again while driving. The NB filter stays on, why not the DNR filter?

Improvement recommendations:
-The quick menu should be customizable. It would be so much better if the user could choose the functions that are shown. E.g. there is a full page for CW. This is awesome when doing CW. Most users don't do CW while driving, so why not implement an option to switch this page off if not needed? Instead the user has to do an extra click to switch to the next page.

Those are my thought after using the radio in the car for a few months.
I sent the recommendations also to Yaesu US and JP customer service...maybe they want to improve the radio. But my experience with Yaesu is that there is not much hope.

73 Tobias
KB1UYR

 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.