eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | QYT KT-8900D Help


Reviews Summary for QYT KT-8900D
QYT KT-8900D Reviews: 16 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $140
Description: Compact 25 watt dual-bander with quad receive.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.qyt-cn.com/en/pro_info152.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the QYT KT-8900D.

Page 1 of 2 —>

BURGERLOVER65 Rating: 0/5 Feb 8, 2018 15:31 Send this review to a friend
Transceiver from hell  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've been playing around with this radio the past three weeks and still can't make heads or tails out of it. Right now I can turn it on, use the volume, and change the frequency. I still haven't figured out how to program it. One thing I have discovered over three weeks is that some functions work but only when the squelch is turned on. Other functions only work when the squelch is turned off. It took me until this morning to figure that out. So basically the squelch control of the radio is a FUNCTION control like a menu that I thought was the function control. If this you idea of fun don't say no one ever warned you.
 
N1NUH Rating: 4/5 Jan 26, 2018 12:03 Send this review to a friend
Wad da want for $75 bucks?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It may have been an impulse buy from Amazon, but I bought it with a 144/440 mag mount stinger for the truck. The (generic?) programming software had to be downloaded from the vendor. Software loads OK under Win 7. I can't get it to upload the file on the xceiver. I tried CHIRP and found the build for the KT-8900 same thing. Clones the system uploads it and it doesn't show up on the screen. Manual programming is slow but easy. Instructions, as usual was a Google translate to English. Clicks in machines 15 to 20 miles away. Good audio and signal reports. Good audio on the Rcv. Does almost what I want it to do, except software programming. Plug in the cigarette lighter, draws about 5A DC and the rests nicely on the console. I bought another dual band from Amazon, to put in the shack; different brand, different box probably the same guts, same price. Also, I went for the Amazon 3 year extended warrantee for about $2.00. Probably will cost me as much to ship it back as it would for a new box. 73 de N1NUH
 
VE6KK Rating: 4/5 Jan 3, 2018 10:53 Send this review to a friend
Nice radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I used and tested a KT-8900D for a few days for a friend. Among the "brick" mobiles it is a great choice. I own a Leixen VV898E and it is much more quirky. The Leixen is a bit smaller and it just fits in my Acura's overhead sunglasses compartment. I did not buy a KT8900 (not D) at the time because of the top buttons. The KT8900D menu access and operation is easy - MENU to access, MENU to choose and MENU to confirm. There are many settings due to the 4 channel display There is an exit key - PTT will not exit.

The display screen is very nice, visible, but herein lies the tragedy of the radio. **It would have been possible to provide a 2 channel display with 2 lines each** - one for frequency, the other for name. I, like so many hams set my units so that the top display is frequency and by tuning to the same channel on the bottom I see the name. Who memorizes a hundred or more channels? I did not test the unit with Chirp.

Testing the unit on a service monitor revealed good VHF/UHF SINAD sensitivity in the area of 0.18-.23 uV (better than spec), Tx Power was around 22 W VHF and 18W UHF. One surprise was that the low power setting was a practical ~ 10 W, not higher as spec'd. Audio o/p was strong though a bit muffled on NBFM, curiously better on FM BCB. One youtube shows a plastic deflector above the speaker - that helps. I thought I detected some bleed through from RF on one channel while listening to another but had no time to confirm. In all tests the frequency accuracy was within 600 Hz but we had a surprise when the owner came to pick it up. In a cool basement ~16 deg.C, the initial error was around 1800 Hz! It quickly drifted into spec after a short warm up with TX cycling. This needs to be confirmed and tested on other radios. For this reason I rate this as a 4. It is a great unit for the money. You still cannot beat the Yae$u mobiles though. Cheers and 73.
 
VE3TSK Rating: 5/5 Dec 6, 2017 11:15 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Value  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased the radio from Amazon.ca for $112.96. It was an impulse buy on a Friday that was delivered on following Sunday. First I installed the software that came with it. The manual, as you probably heard elsewhere is typical Chinlish. I was able to learn enough to program one memory channel before I fired up the OEM software. It is NOT user friendly, but not impossible. I programmed 20 local repeaters and disconnedted.

I set it up in my car using a comet dualband magnet mount that I used with my HTs. With a SO239 to BNC adapter I hooked it up and tried it out. My first report said the audio was good and I have been receiving excellent reports whenever I key up.

The quad watch is a neat gimmick and it does work but you do have to be quick to note which channel is being received. Most of the time I leave it off.

It is small. So small that I keep it the console between the front seats and attach it to the satellite radio cup holder mount on my console.

What started as an impulse experimental buy has turned into quite a nice radio and is a pleasure to use. I wish there was head set made for it but I will have to craft one for myself. The only question is whether I craft for use from the front or the back speaker port.
 
KM4NYI Rating: 3/5 Nov 20, 2017 04:44 Send this review to a friend
Great radio (for the money)  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I ordered this radio from Amazon under the brand name Talkcoop. The manual and model number stickers all have the QYT logo, so it must be that the online seller bought enough of this radio to have a private name on the front. I picked this model particularly because the power level (25 watts) is low enough for them to sell it with a cigarette lighter plug to power the radio. I use it with a mag mount as a portable for when I travel with somebody who doesn’t have a rig installed in their car. So far, it has worked very well for this purpose.

The radio came complete with the programming cable and software, so for $75 I thought it was a pretty good deal. Right out of the box, the audio was really low on transmit, enough so that I had to pretty much yell directly into the mic to use it. THe mic is a knock-off of the Kenwood mic, and the element is in the back of the case underneath the PC board. I enlarged the hole in the board and mic case to try and get more sound through it, but no joy. An email to the Amazon seller resulted in a new mic being shipped to me, which solved the problem entirely.

The good: this is a tiny radio, but packs in alot of nice features. The display is phenomenal, and you can pick and choose from several bright, vibrant colors. The received audio quality is acceptable, and pretty loud considering the tiny size of the built-in speaker. I have received good reports on the transmit audio quality, and with the replacement mic had to reduce the factory mic gain setting a little. The quad-watch feature is nice, but you have to be careful to remember which of the 4 frequencies you are set to transmit on before keying up if running in the scan mode. Mine won’t quite hit the 25 watt transmit power its advertised for, but it’s close and remains steady even on long QSO’s. On high power, the fan kicks in quickly to keep things cool, but it still gets pretty warm after a while.

The bad: I never could get the factory programming software disc to load on my computer, and ended up using CHIRP. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, as it took a short amount of time to use CHIRP to load up 100 repeater pairs. There is also a glitch with the VFO knob where it doesn’t always move the frequency up and down correctly. I have found it works well if you turn it in a slow and deliberate manner, but if you turn it fast it might move the opposite direction or not at all. You can, however, use the up and down buttons on the mic without any issues.

I often hear folks refer to this as a quad-band radio, and it is not. It is “quad watch”. The quad-watch feature means the display on front shows 4 separate frequencies at the same time, but it does not actually receive all four frequencies simultaneously. In other words, if you have it set to listen to the frequency in slot A and somebody transmits on the frequency showing in slot C, you wont hear the second station. You can set it up to scan between all four frequencies, and this works well because of the fast scan speed. However, you have to be alert and make sure the arrow on the display is pointing to the frequency you want to use before transmitting.

In the end, this little radio does a lot and works well for being an under $100 transceiver, and you would be hard pressed to find another unit that offers more features for the price. The quality doesn’t approach the “big 3” ham radio manufacturers, but neither does the price. I bought it for a specific purpose, and so far it has served me well.
 
W6CAW Rating: 5/5 Nov 10, 2017 10:57 Send this review to a friend
Working great for me  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
So far it is working great. Don't know about any VFO problems. I programmed mine up using their software and only use the frequencies I have programmed. One heck of a radio for under $100.00
 
N4NYY Rating: 4/5 Nov 9, 2017 17:45 Send this review to a friend
Super portable analog 2M/440  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Positives are size. Just a great portability. You can have it as a base and then just take it into the car as a mobile. Receive audio is outstanding. Programming was a breeze with chirp. Get great TX audio reports. $90 with programming cable.

The VFO is flaky. It skips, goes backwards, and so forth. However, you can move the freq or channel using the mic. Owner's manual is horrible. A very bad Chinese to English translation. Chirp bypasses most of what you need to know in the manual.

Saw this for the first time at Field Day. Fell in love with it then. Let's stop mocking the Chinese. Not the greatest quality, but a newer ham can get on the air with about $150 buying one of these and a Diamond base antenna. For $200, he can have this radio, a base and mobile antenna. You can't beat that.
 
LNXAUTHOR Rating: 4/5 Jun 24, 2017 13:53 Send this review to a friend
small & inexpensive  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just finished setting up a new KT-8900D. There are many similar units on the market, and most run in the sub-US$90 range. Mine came with a programming cable - Prolific unfortunately (i refer FTDI) - but i simply rebooted OSX 10.10.5 to x86 PIXEL, plugged the cable in, ran chirp, downloaded an image from the radio to archive, then copy-and-pasted in my local repeaters into the image file and uploaded to the 8900D - took about 3 minutes or so as i wanted to check off on some of the additional settings.

Next, I attached my Diamond DL-30A dummy load to a Tenma SWR/Watt meter and read off the difference between high and low transmission power on 147MHz - it was roughly 24W and 11W respectively.

The manual is pretty bad, just covering the basics. I'd love to know the temps at which the fan kicks in (i tried one-minute key downs on high power on the workbench, but the unit never even got warm and the fan never came on; maybe after some ragchewing?)

Opening up the radio reveals some really, really tiny SMD work, along with obvious human soldering. The work in my unit seemed clean, and ferrite cores are on the fan and power leads.

Speaking of which, it didn't look easy to swap out the power leads from the radio main board to a thicker gauge. I'll probably add another fuse an do a powerpole termination. The existing power leads are kinda wimpy for me. I wouldn't worry if there was a more flexible power setting menu, but there isn't.

We'll see how some on-air tests go. But so far, it looks OK to me.
 
ZS6SR Rating: 4/5 Jun 13, 2017 07:29 Send this review to a friend
Very Happy  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I picked up my QYT KT8900D about a week ago. I was impressed with the small size and robust construction of the case (I haven't looked inside). I was able to configure it using CHIRP on Linux using the latest daily chirp image. This identified the radio immediately without any fuss. I was able to setup all the repeaters and other settings I needed. I installed the device into my Land Rover Defender 110 using the cigarette lighter provided and had many complaints of "rain" and "hum" noise when transmitting. I took the unit out at home and decided to replace the power wires connected to the cigarette lighter with thicker gauge wires and instead of using the cigarette connector I connected directly to a small motorcycle 12V battery. After doing this I got very good audio reports. From the beginning receiving audio has been excellent. I am very happy with this device. The only comment I can add is that I would love to see these units coming out with a little better mic and amplification capabilities.
 
K8DXX Rating: 4/5 Mar 30, 2017 09:51 Send this review to a friend
Good for The Price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought this radio and a 1/4 wave 2/440 mag mount when I found that my Baofeng HT didn't have the oomph to communicate here in Sebring, FL. This setup will also make the drive back to Michigan easier. After 3 days of use and ownership, I can say this radio is basically good. RX seems fine with good speaker volume (although there are few really strong signals here). Audio reports are good. Fit and finish seem nice. It is tiny and could be mounter anywhere. I plan to just hold it in my lap. Heating of the case doesn't seem to be a problem. It gets warm but not hot.

I'd like to share a few points I've learned in making this radio usable. As a foreign language major 45 years ago, I think the manual is horrible but what do you want for $85. Here goes:

- The radio's user interface is a lot like Baofeng and other Chinese HTs. You set the frequency and then proceed through 5 - 6 menus to set offset (not automatic), CTCS tone, etc. Very clumsy!
- The programming software provided did not work for me (Windows 10). CHIRP does, which is good news.
- It's far easier to program memories and radio functions (CHRP appears to cover all of them) through software. NOTE Timeout Timer (TOT) is set to 60 seconds. You can increase this value either at the radio or CHIRP.
- I found it easier to set the four "Quad Receive" memories "By Channel"... See CHIRP. Once you get the Q-R frequencies and names programmed, you still have to go through the setting of CTCS tone, offset, etc. using the radio, even though they're stored in memory.
- One scrolls through the Q-R positions using the EXIT/AB mic button (as in ABCD)
- Once you highlight a Q-R entry, you can move up or down by the programmed step by pressing UP/DN (if in VFO or frequency mode). Likewise, you can scroll through memory positions using the UP/DN buttons when in Channel or memory mode.
- There apparently is a mic button to change between VFO and Memory mode but I can't find it. To date, I'm still using the front panel V/M button.

Should you buy it? I see no reason not to. Unless you're a real V/UHF enthusiast (which I am not) it works about as good as a $300 I-K-Y rig. BTW, I got mine off Amazon for $85.88 including software and programming cable. My radio carries the TALKCOOP name (paper sticker) but it appears 100% QYT.

73
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.