eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | Ten-Tec 238A Help


Reviews Summary for Ten-Tec 238A
Ten-Tec 238A Reviews: 18 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $485
Description: 2000 Watt Roller Inductor Antenna Tuner
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.tentec.com/HIGH.HTM#model238
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ten-Tec 238A.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KZ4B Rating: 5/5 Mar 6, 2016 09:10 Send this review to a friend
My favorite of the 229/238 Series Tuners.  Time owned: more than 12 months
The 229/238 Series Ten-Tec Tuners are the most efficient Tuners available anywhere (with the exception of a near tie with the Ameritron ATR-30). This is because Ten-Tec's L Network is designed to switch in up to approx. 2000 pfd in parallel with the near 500 pfd Variable Capacitor. The more (virtually zero-loss) capacity available--the less relatively lossy (Series) Variable Inductance is required! Most T Network Tuners are limited to 350 to 500 pfd Maximum Variable Capacitors--so the Lossy Series Inductance Values must be relatively higher for any given "Tune"!

The Ten-Tec 238(A & B / Grey & Black respectively) are in my opinion the best of the TT Tuners. While the tuner "guts" are pretty much the same--the all-important Rotary Inductor Turns Counter and Crank Knob are superior on the 238 (A & B). The relatively "smallish" SWR/Power meter on the 238 (A & B) is not peak reading and requires relatively frequent sensitivity re-adjustments--but is (for me) more informative (I.E.--provides direct SWR Calibration Units) than the larger and better-looking "Cross-Needle" Meter in the 238C.

All of the 229/238 Series Tuners use relatively marginal [Current and Voltage (3 KV) Rating-Wise) nominal 470 pfd Disk Ceramic Capacitors (paralleled with the 500 pfd, 3.5+ KV Variable Capacitors). Unlike the earlier 229/238 Tuners, the 238 (A & B) Tuners use paralleled nominal 240 pfd Capacitors in place of singe 470 pfd Capacitors to improve the Current Handling Capacity. I have therefore modified numerous 229/238 Series Tuners with the addition of four nominal 470 pfd, 5 KV "Door-knob" Capacitors mounted directly below and in line with the Capacitor-Selector-Switch Shaft. I have NEVER had a Tuner failure with this modification even when running the Legal Limit with "Marginally" Tune-able (High SWR) Antennas. NOTE that I have avoided modifying 238 (A & B) Series Tuners because the Capacitor Selector Switch and Capacitor Mounting PCB (with relatively low current capacity tracing) don't look like they can handle the higher-current-rated "door-knob" capacitors. Note also that the burned-trace-prone PCB is no longer available from Ten-Tec. I therefore try to limit RF Power to the 238 (A & B) Tuners to about 1200 Watts PEP, 1000 Watts Continuous.
 
N2ETJ Rating: 0/5 Aug 10, 2010 06:48 Send this review to a friend
Buy a palstar  Time owned: more than 12 months
Second time back and TT wants in excess of $400 to fix. Don't think so. Ordered a palstar which I should have done first
 
HFRF Rating: 4/5 Nov 28, 2009 09:00 Send this review to a friend
Could be more rugged  Time owned: more than 12 months
I would use a well designed L tuner like this one than a high loss touchy T type tuner any day. The TT tuner is built using some flimsy parts and the new price for this tuner is very high. But it is a good tuner overall.

At one time TT made an auto/preset tuner that was essentially the same as this one except auto. After using a auto tuner, its hard going back to manual. It is fortunate that most auto tuners are L tuners and they run circles around T tuners.

I am not sure why TT has not produced a current auto tuner that will work high power. That would be a very desirable piece of equipment.
 
W4II Rating: 4/5 Nov 28, 2009 08:39 Send this review to a friend
Close.....robust?  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned this tuner for years. It is close to being a superb device. Very good loss characteristics, and truly wide ranging. BUT, I have now replaced the rear populated PCB twice due to burning holes in it at near legal limit power on high freqs (21-28Mhz). The ceramic impedance switch and associated wiring could be more robust!
 
KA5ROW Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2008 19:41 Send this review to a friend
By far the Best Tuner  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The Ten-Tec 238 A tuner I by far the best tuner I have owned. My previous tuners were a MFJ 989-C and a Dentron MT-3000 and both them worked fine, except on 160 meters. But on 160 meters They would arch at about 300 to 350 watts. The Ten-Tec would not arch, even at 1300 watts. The Ten-Tec is a L network and both the MFJ and Dentron are a T network. I don't know if that had any thing to do with it are not, but the Ten-Tec has never arch.

I wrote this same review on the Ten-Tec 238 on e-Ham.
The only thing I don't care for is the on the 238 was the slide rule dial. But the new 238-A has corrected that.

I have traded up and got the Ten-Tec 238 A same results no arching on 160 with 1300 watts.
"But I like the looks of this tuner, and will keep it"
 
N2ETJ Rating: 5/5 Jul 27, 2006 10:58 Send this review to a friend
Long Time Review  Time owned: more than 12 months
After ownership of this tuner for over 4 years, it still performs flawlessly. I use a 160m full wave loop and tunes easily any frequency with exact duplication by the numbers. A real bonus when band hopping. No problems with Alpha 99 at max. either(legal power that is)
 
K5NT Rating: 5/5 Aug 29, 2004 17:25 Send this review to a friend
A Great Product!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The versatility and flexibility of this tuner came to my rescue when I moved to a restricted community and found myself using an attic dipole (Alpha Delta DX-EE) for my HF activity. My smaller tuners just couldn't handle the challenge, but the 238A lets me achieve 1.2:1 on all bands, which my Corsair II likes just fine. In all its variations, this is a great tuner and I recommend it highly!
 
K8JS Rating: 5/5 Feb 22, 2004 03:23 Send this review to a friend
Very Close To Excellence!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
My own comments would largely echo those other previous "5/5" Ten-Tec 238 reviews.
No need for me to repeat them.
However, as a suggestion to Ten-Tec I would highly recommend as future improvements:
1) A LARGER meter that is also the modern design of dual-reading SWR and Peak at the same time without having to manually readjust it when changing bands and/or antennas.
I was truly disappointed when TT's "new" all-black 238B was still sporting that tiny old-fashioned SWR meter.
Oh well, at least TT eliminated that stupid smoky-dark, viewing window so that now one does not need to use the meter lamp.

2) Design-in more inductance and capacitance for better, more successful tuning on 160 meters.

The Ten-Tec 238 is very efficient when it comes to transferring the RF from your rig to the feedline. Unlike those T-network and Pi-network tuner designs, the L-network inside the 238 has hardly any internal losses. THAT is a big plus!!
An L-network type of tuner will not force a "fake" or "partially fake" loading only to end up merely heating up the tuners internal components instead of delivering most all of the RF into the feedline.
in other words if an L-network type of tuner design, such as the Ten-Tec 238, will not totally tune your antenna-feedline system, then that system isn't worth a damn, and should be modified or replaced.
Bottom line: An excellent rugged tuner that only needs a couple of additional modern design updates. ---John, K8JS

 
K5NT Rating: 5/5 Nov 2, 2002 22:23 Send this review to a friend
Great Value!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This tuner is truly a quality product. The construction is excellent, and the unit is both nice looking and a great performer. The metering is accurate, and responds so quickly that it could almost be advertised as "peak-reading". Being an L-Network, this tuner also serves as a harmonic supressor. I am told that T-Network filters do not do this. I am very satisfied with my investment in this tuner. There is now a version called the 238B, but the only difference is a black paint job to match Ten-Tec's new color scheme. You can't miss with one of these!
 
W3ULS Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2001 17:31 Send this review to a friend
Tuner for life  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Like WQ8Q, I use a Carolina Windom, a CW-80, with the Ten-Tec 238A. I have a Japan Radio JST-245 transceiver, which puts out about 160 watts (PEP), and has a built-in antenna tuner. The built-in tuner works fine on 80 and 40 with the CW-80, but not on 15 and 10, which is when I switch in the 238A. It works just as WQ8Q describes, quickly and efficiently. And, if I decide on adding an amp, it will be just as effective I'm sure. So, you only need to buy one tuner once to handle all a (modest) station's needs. A good deal.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.