- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Yaesu FT-70DR dual band digital HT Help

Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-70DR dual band digital HT
Yaesu FT-70DR dual band digital HT Reviews: 13 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $199.95

FT-70DR C4FM FDMA / FM 144/430 MHz Dual Band 5W Handheld Transceiver

The new FT-70DR is a compact and very attractively priced YAESU System Fusion transceiver providing both conventional analog FM operation and the advanced C4FM Digital mode. The FT-70DR provides up to 5W of reliable RF power, and its large Front Speaker delivers 700mW of Loud Audio Output. Because C4FM has better BER (Bit Error Rate) characteristics than other digital modulations, the user can expect exceptional audio quality. The new digital FT-70DR includes our unique Automatic Mode Select (AMS) function. AMS detects the operating mode of the received signal as C4FM digital or analog FM, and then automatically and instantly switches the receiver to the appropriate mode. Users do not need to manually change between modes. The multi-colored LED Mode-Indicator displayed on the front allows the operator to easily see what mode the FT-70DR is in at any given moment. LED Mode-Indicator clearly and visibly shows the transmit/ receive mode by changing its color so that the operating mode of the transceiver is easily recognized at a glance. One of the other distinguishing features of the FT-70DR is Digital Group Monitor (GM) with DG-ID (Digital Group Identification) and DP-ID (Digital Personal Identification) now included in the FT-70DR, to simplify the GM operation. Simply put, the transceivers selecting the same DG-ID or DP-ID can communicate with each other. Between 00 and 99 DG-ID and DP-ID are selectable which provides loads of flexibility so that users can enjoy group communication with friends in GM mode in accordance to their individual operational needs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://HTTPS://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-70DR dual band digital HT.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W5KVV Rating: 4/5 Mar 20, 2018 00:44 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLENT !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great little HT. Compact, but not microscopic. Good audio on both modes. C4FM is a novelty for my needs but better to have it and not need it than vice versa. Programming via front panel is easy once you familiarize yourself with the radio. No real need for computer software unless you're dumping a huge file into the radio. The volume control is a non issue once you get use to it.

My only gripe is battery life. It's a certified battery eater. Hopefully someone will offer a high cap battery for it in the near future. Also, Yaesu could have included a drop in charger. Come on Yaesu. Stop the nickel and dime routine. You're better than that.

Overall a great little radio. Mine is combined with a Diamond SRHF10 stubby antenna and makes for a stealthy little HT.
N1ART Rating: 5/5 Mar 9, 2018 11:17 Send this review to a friend
Yaesu FT70D  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a nice and compact radio,its loud, has alpha programming,automatic Digital switching to Fusion,goes from 108 to 500MHZ.Has banks you can name.Battery lasts forever.Has a DC jack.Free programming via ADMS Yaesu software and an included
USB cable thats for Both firmware And programming.
What else can I say? Seems perfect.
Doesnt get too hot and I talk on it alot.
Receives 220 mhz but you cant transmit? Why?!
Anyone mod it to do 220 transmit?

My beef :
Why are the new Yaesu HT's excluding 500-999mhz reception?
If I buy an FT-2DR I get this,if I buy a ftm-100DR I get this......Hey Yaesu we do want wideband receive in all your radios.
WQ0A Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2017 17:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent C4FM or Analog HT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've owned lots of HT's (FT-470, FT530, THF6A, VX6 to name a few) and currently own an FT1XD and FT2DR. With that experience behind me, I am convinced there is none better for the dollar than the FT70DR.

I initially bought it because C4FM is a fantastic mode and is bringing our repeater activity back to life. The price point of the FT70DR is bringing new users to System Fusion and I wanted to advise them on how to use this radio. At least, that's how I justified buying a new toy.

This HT scores high in most areas. It scans fast and receives well. The receive audio is clear, rich and a pleasure to hear. It has a solid build but it is lightweight and fits well in the hand. Programming is very simple and intuitive. With a few hints from the manual I was able to do everything necessary to get on the air without software. New flexibility allows for programming each memory with or without Automatic Mode Selection. Programming on the fly is as easy as it comes. After using this HT you will never want to do battle with a Baofeng HT again.

For me, there are a couple of negatives: The battery life is not exceptional but fortunately the OEM batteries are reasonably priced. Also, the volume control is secondary on the control knob, selected by the side button marked "Vol." It would be great if Yaesu would offer a firmware update that allows selection of the dial to control either volume or channel as primary. I use the volume adjustment far more than the channel selector.

As is mentioned by others, a recent firmware update from Yaesu now adds Wires X control to the radio's capability. It makes for a simplified version of Wires X access that I prefer over the other Fusion radios. That is an excellent demonstration of their commitment to further developing and supporting their products. The 3 year warranty is extra assurance from Yaesu that your money is well spent.
N7MUE Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2017 08:24 Send this review to a friend
The New FT-60  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've owned three FT-60's over the past 10 years. This FT-70DR is an excellent replacement. Even better, there is a new Firmware update that adds WIRES-X controls. No-way, Right? Yes, C4FM and WIRES-X for under $200.00. Yeah, the procedure for updating the firmware and programming via software can be a little intimidating. But, if you can read and follow directions it's not that bad. Get one, you won't be disappointed.
WS8B Rating: 5/5 Dec 15, 2017 17:40 Send this review to a friend
Very nice radio for the value  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Overall, this radio upholds the reputation of the Yeasu FT series. I purchased this radio on a whim while visiting Universal Radio 6 months ago. I did not need it nor was I looking for it. Eric, the sales manager said look at this - it just arrived. My first impression - Solid Radio. It kind of reminded me of the Dell military hardened laptop. It just "felt good". I played with it for a while.
The first thing noticed was the ease of programming. Each program channel can reference, use and memorize any of the 63 functional options. When ready to memorize a channel, set the functions and just hold the V/M button down until the next empty channel shows and hit it again. Done and dusted!
Overall construction material is a solid, glass-filled engineering thermoplastic. The plastic feels like a polymer/rubber blend giving it serious damage resistance. The belt clip hinge is cast and polished metal with substantial section. Defiantly, professional grade.
Looking at the left side, the radio controls are real, molded rubber with tactile switches below the rubber. No more conductive rubber problems that plagued the FT-50. The left side has 4 distinctive controls - PTT, Monitor, Volume and power/lock. When the bottoms are pushed, you know from the resounding "click" that the function is executed.
The front is typical HT but with the appropriately raised button guards. At the top, are two LED's that emit red, blue and green depending on the status and mode. The mode button switches from FM to Fusion Digital. The function button is clearly separated from the main buttons and is used for selecting the front functions or, with a longer press, the function menu.
The right side has a molded rubber seal that protects the charging jack (12VDC), the microphone jack and the serial plug used for programming. The radio package includes the appropriate serial cable. The programming and drivers can be downloaded from the Yeasu site. Evan though the radio can be easily programmed from the front, having free programming software is quite an extra.
The back is all battery. The battery easily slips under the belt clip and has a solid, re-assuring "click" when installed. Aa safety slide is also on the bottom of the radio that insures that the battery will not eject easily. As on all Yeasu radios, the battery terminals and radio contact springs are gold plated. When the safety clip is undone and the battery release is pressed, small springs inside the radio push the battery from the battery cavity. One little extra - a small hole in the back of the battery cavity that allows access to the main PC board for expanding the operational frequencies.
OK, the only surface of the radio to discuss is the top. The top is simple. Antenna and control knob. The control knob's primary job is to change channels or frequency (from air band to one half a gig). When the volume button (left side of the radio) is pressed, the control knob manages the volume. With a software switch, the control function can be reversed.
You can read the summery above and look at the specifications for additional details.
For the price, You will get a well- built, quality, analog/digital radio that feels and acts Mil-Spec. I highly recommend this radio over the less-expensive throw-always on the market today.

73 de Frank/WS8B
AK2U Rating: 4/5 Oct 27, 2017 18:21 Send this review to a friend
NIce with C4FM  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nice little dual band HT with C4FM. A far cry from my ICO2AT. Fairly easy to program manually, and loading and installing the ADMS10 programming software wasn't too much of a hassle. ON Analog FM good signal reports. Mic gain adjustment nice feature. The 1800mah battery doesn't seem to last too long with my mostly scanning and listening. One has to manage battery usage and carry a spare charged battery or two if out in the field. The optional quick charger provides a quick charge (3Hrs), however requires the HT and battery to charge. IT would have been nice if you could charge just a battery. Have been listening to a few of local C4FM repeaters, more comments later on the digital. The firmware update, looks like quite a hassle, with disclaimer and use at your own risk warnings in the instructions. After reading through the lengthy procedure for the firmware upgrade, and the warnings, etc., I decided to hold off on that for the time being. All in all nice little HT at a reasonable price.
SE6M Rating: 5/5 Oct 6, 2017 08:52 Send this review to a friend
First impressions  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First week of the new FT-70DE transceiver. It seems to be a solid radio with good sound quality, both transceivered and received. I have just tried FM modulation than, because I have not been able to try the digital mode so far.
To program the memories, it was very easy with the Yaesu software ADMS-10 available on Yaeus's website. Nice feature to download / upload contence to the radio from my computer.
I have only recharged the battery once yet, but the low battery symbole starts to light very quickly after some experiments and QSO, but I think charging needs to be done a few times before capacity begins to reach normal levels.
I will come back with a deeper review later, but the first reflections of this new transceiver meet with the expectations I've had.
DL1ESZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 5, 2017 00:37 Send this review to a friend
Fine Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Basic Radio for C4FM and FM. No DX Key.For use with DTMF Commands on Wires X and FCS and YSF, best for Hotspot use and FCS Repeaters. Works well with DV4Mini, DVMega and OpenSpot. Fine Audio "Mic Gain" Adjustable and nice haptic. Accu hold Long (unfortunally the batsymbol comes with half full early but hold Long).
Easy to Setup and fine programming software included cable. 10,7 Volt /2amp extenal supply makes it for Long Duration TX not so hot. Charge and works the same time. Standart equipment mikes,headsets (4pin 3,5mm Plug as standart Yaesu similar to FT50,60 e.g) works fine. Very sensitiv RX nice Sound and good Modulation on FM and Fusion.
KC2FYA Rating: 4/5 Sep 30, 2017 10:51 Send this review to a friend
Better than the 65  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this radio to replace my FT-65 and I am pleased with my choice. The radio is way easier to program by hand. The fact that it comes with Basic "Fusion" was a plus. The radio has a nice feel and fits well in my hand.

The audio quality is much better than the 65. I like the Mic Gain setting 1-9 as well. It sounds great on the local repeaters and simplex.

I wish it would pick up the FM Broadcast band, but oh well. This rig is solid with the IP-54 rating, it is not submersible. The display is easier to read too.
W9APX Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2017 15:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Fusion radio for a decent price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The FT-70d is a really good radio for those Hams wanting a Yaesu System Fusion HT at a decent price. Want APRS and GPS, this HT isn’t for you (you’d want to go with the FT-2D). But if you want a basic Fusion HT for $200, this is it. It is a solidly-constructed radio, and, like the FT-60, is extremely easy to program right from the keypad. The radio will detect the type of incoming signal on a channel and automatically switch to that mode for TX, just like the FT-1D and FT-2D.

I worked an Amateur FM voice satellite with this radio and a dual-band hand-held yagi antenna.
Page 1 of 2 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.