eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Icom IC-T2A & T2H Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-T2A & T2H
Icom IC-T2A & T2H Reviews: 74 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $159
Description: Icom 2 meter single band handheld. 6 watt, 43 memories. Tone Squelch (CTCSS Encode/Decode) Standard, with Pocket Beep and Tone Scan. 8 Programmable Keys. 5 DTMF Memory Channels, with up to 32 Digits Codes & Re-Dial for Autopatching Repeaters. 10 Weather Channels. MIL SPEC C/D/E for Shock and Vibration. Direct Keypad Frequency Entry. Back lighted LCD Display. Auto Repeater Function. 2-Step Power Save Function. Monitor Function. Lock Function. Comes with rechargeable "AA" Ni-Cd batteries and charger. Or, use "AA" alkalines.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/amateur/2mhand/index.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-T2A & T2H.

<— Page 2 of 8 —>

KD7MWR Rating: 4/5 Nov 11, 2006 16:25 Send this review to a friend
No DC in!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great radio, but it has three shortcomings:

There is no DC in to operate it in a car.
The stock belt clip is almost worthless.
There is no lighted keypad.

Here are the pluses:

There is great audio output on the large speaker.
The battery life using eight 2500mah batteries is superb.
The 6 Watt output using the battery is very helpful.
The radio is very rugged, other than the flimsy belt clip.
 
K4JC Rating: 5/5 Sep 25, 2006 13:21 Send this review to a friend
Excellent value on a rugged radio!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is one nice HT! As some previous reviewers have mentioned, it has a nice 'heft' and the 6 watts of power sometimes comes in mighty handy. Having a BNC antenna connector and being able to use AA batteries for power just adds to the versatility of this rig. Using high capacity NiMH batteries it seems to last forever. The lack of a way to run off of external 12 volts has been a bit of a problem, but I have seen some aftermarket 'battery eliminators' available recently. You can also easily homebrew your own.

This is a perfect handheld to use not only for public service events, but mine has been pressed into service more than once during emergencies. Instead of carrying around heavy marine batteries or gel cells, a pocketful of fully charged AA's keeps me going for hours. (You DO keep extra batteries charged and ready, don't you??)

The Icom IC-T2H reminds me of the venerable IC2AT, or the Realistic HTX-202 (without the pesky ERR messages.) It is rugged, reliable and versatile, and for under a Ben Franklin new, a terrific value!
 
VE4MM Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2006 14:04 Send this review to a friend
GREAT!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Nice radio!
 
VE6BGM Rating: 4/5 Mar 29, 2006 22:50 Send this review to a friend
Programming tough but good radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
The first HH that I had when licensed in 1999 was the early version [IC-T2A]. While it was a little confusing to know what some of the "function" buttons did, plus the A-D keys, I would not in any way downgrade this radio to 0/5. Although I don't use this radio as my "first line" today, I still carry it as a good back up. Not having the ability to use while DC charging may be a draw back to some, with the 2500 mAh batteries now available, there is little need for use while charging. Did have a power loss with one radio, but quickly fixed. They have fallen off bicycles, sat on while going back down a Mountain [antenna scratch all to heck], but they still work great. Have very good receive and output [T2A was only 5 watts max]. Working in an EOC last spring when we had some flooding, it was easy to work with Search and Rescue as they used the commercial version for their comms.. Yes, new radios are smaller and have more features. If one has a problem with programming, can use the RT software, this will make using auto repeater off sets easier! The belt clip on the batteries is plastic, so can easily be broken. However, cases, other belt systems can be used. It certainly is a much better radio than a 0.
73.
 
AB0RE Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2006 20:13 Send this review to a friend
Radio Works Fine Business  Time owned: more than 12 months
I previously owned the IC-T2H (Sport) and cannot figure out why the previous reviewer left the radio such low marks.

The instruction manual clearly outlines how to activate the tones and set the tone frequency. It can be found on page 26 of the manual. The manual can be downloaded at no cost from Icom's website:

http://www.icomamerica.com/support/manuals/ic-t2h.pdf

Giving the radio a zero rating because you don't have the patience to read the manual it absolutely absurd.

Here's why I liked the Icom IC-T2H:
1) The included stock antenna is very efficient. You don't see this happen much with handheld radios.
2) I always got good audio reports and the radio did a noteably better job than any of my other HTs at receiving weak signals.
3) The radio is relatively easy to use ONCE YOU READ THE MANUAL. Icom didn't pack the T2H full of useless features that complicate operations - it's rather straightforward.
4) It feels like a real radio (a "brick" as some may say). Buttons are large enough. Display is clear. What else can you ask for?

What didn't I like?
1) No direct DC (12V) input jack. That makes this radio tough to use as an emergency radio as you always rely on the included rechargeable battery (T2H) or AA-case (T2H Sport).

Given the very fair price of the T2H Sport I cannot discount the rating because of the missing 12VDC jack. For the money this is a very good radio that has stood the test of time.

73,
Dan / ab0re
 
KB4TPP Rating: 5/5 Nov 26, 2005 05:54 Send this review to a friend
Excellent no frills 2 meter portable  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned two of these (including the T2A which first appeared in 1997) and they are superb portables. You can't go wrong for a new HT at under a C-note. It has the feel and form of a land mobile radio (in fact, it is based on the IC-F3S/F4S commercial radios) and is easy to use. The 6 watts of power is a plus, and this radio is bulletproof in all respects (both physically and RF wise).

You won't be dissapointed with this fine radio.
 
KG4RUL Rating: 5/5 Nov 1, 2005 04:29 Send this review to a friend
A perfect half of a ten!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a radio that you can actually wrap your hands around, unlike my Wife's VX-5R which is more like a large piece of jewelry. Works great as an APRS tracker and uses easy to obtain, AA batteries. My only gripe is the backlighting for the display but, that is why I have a flashlight in my go-kit.

Dennis KG4RUL
 
KE7EYQ Rating: 5/5 Oct 31, 2005 21:32 Send this review to a friend
Great HT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The IC-T2H is my first radio. It is available for a very reasonable price ($99) and works well on the local repeaters. I get good audio reports on a repeater that is about 20 miles away. It allows you to use standard AA batteries (I use rechargeables but regular alkalines will work). The manual is easy to understand, and the radio has all the features that a new ham such as myself might use.
 
KB0RDL Rating: 4/5 Jun 24, 2005 00:07 Send this review to a friend
Very Good, but...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I really like this rugged, solid and practical HT. I've never beem comfortable with the tiny, feature-infested HTs that seem to be so popular today. It has everything I need for 2-meter communication, easy to program and has very good audio. My primary complaint centers around the anemic display. The letters are small, the backlighting seems dim and I need to use glasses to read it. That aside, I think this HT is a winner.
 
KI4JBG Rating: 5/5 Jun 16, 2005 17:53 Send this review to a friend
Great features/price.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have owned this HT for about 3 months now. I bought the radio because of the reviews on this site and the price/features of the T2H. ICOM did a wounderful job with this HT. I have worked with HT's for years, not as a ham but as a civil servant. This HT is a pleasure to use and is loaded with features.
 
<— Page 2 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.