eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Mosley Pro 67B Help


Reviews Summary for Mosley Pro 67B
Mosley Pro 67B Reviews: 13 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $$955.00
Description: 40 thru 10 Meter Beam, 7 elements on a 24 foot boom
Product is in production.
More info: http://Mosley@mosley-electronics.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Mosley Pro 67B.

Page 1 of 2 —>

K7JOE Rating: 4/5 Aug 6, 2017 21:32 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna. Lousy instructions and old technology   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased a Mosley Pro67B3. Should be an awesome performing antenna. It is. It's big. It's very VERY heavy at 137 pounds. You can read the other reviews for performance. It performs as expected for a 24 foot boom multi-band trap yagi. It's about the same as others of similar size and gain. No magic there ... it's physics.

I'll point to three issues with the antenna:

1. The instructions and manual are a disaster. I'm very mechanical and found the instructions to be printed on tiny paper with little pictorial diagrams or exploded view.

2. The assembly screws are 1950's "flat" blade machine screws rather than philips. No lock washers. Surprised.
Worse Using the flat screws was a pain in the tail. Philips stainless machine screws would have been much much better.

3. Did I say the manual was horrible. To spend $3000 for an antenna and have such a poor manual was disappointing. Even the Chinese manuals have pictorial diagrams and are printed on paper big enough to see. I'm a youngish ham. Can't imagine the older guys getting anywhere with the poor and tiny sized manual. It was a big turn off to an otherwise good antenna. Not the kind of first experience a customer wants to have.



Assembly took approx 10 hours total working methodically and using penotrox properly on every element.

Come on Mosley. Made in America. Make the manuals better and update the steam punk era machine screws

This is replacing a TH6DXX that's been up since 1964 and is at its end of life. Let's hope now that it's assembled and installed that it lasts and lasts.


 
W3UB Rating: 5/5 Oct 4, 2016 12:05 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
What a great antenna. It was delivered about a week ahead of the promised date. Went together easily over two days.

Considered a StepIR but was worried about long term reliability. The wind loading of the 67B is not too bad, considering what it does.

As for how it works, one word: great. SWR pretty much just like the manual. Gets out well.

Just make sure you have about 4 guys to help get the assembled antenna moved and up on the tower!
 
W7UV Rating: 5/5 May 30, 2015 12:37 Send this review to a friend
Good Performance for a Reasonable Price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was deciding between a DB-18 and the Pro-67-B I ended up going with the Mosley. The main reason was the windloading of the DB-18. My tower is rated for 15 SQ Ft of wind load. The DB-18 exceeded that, or not depending on which EIA spec you used. They gave three different windloads for the antenna, and when I emailed for clarification, I received and email back from Steppir saying to "contact your tower manufacturer for advice on wind loading". I've since found 3 hams with smaller towers than mine who have had the DB-18 up for a while without problems.

The manual for the PRO-67-B is a bit sketchy... more pictures would be nice. I'm pretty mechanical and had no problems putting the antenna together in a couple afternoons. My antenna arrived 4 days before the promised date. I had finished my tower just as the antenna arrived. It arrived in 3 boxes that seemed way too small. Moseley really packs their antennas efficiently. After taking inventory, I found all parts were there. I chose "Code II" for my tuning. I think Mosley should reword that. It makes it sound like there are 3 different CW (code) settings. Code I is bottom of band tuning (CW) Code II is midband and code 3 is middle of phone band.

After assembly I tested the antenna on sawhorses and (as expected) the 40 meter tuning was way low (because of proximity to the earth). The other bands all appeared to be close to correct.

My tower is a crankup/tiltover, however, the tower tilts right toward my swimming pool! The last few feet of the mast were over the lawn, and me an my ham buddy were able to get the mast through the ubolts of the antenna with the reflector and 40 meter director removed. Then I climbed into the pool and slid the antenna down the mast until it was seated just above the thrust bearing. The tower was then put vertical and the base bolts fastened.

Since the antenna sits 3 feet above the sloping roof, I was able to reinstall the elements and check everything for tightness. The mast comes within 1/2 inch of one of the "phasing lines" but as pointed out in the manual, that side should be the shield of the transmission line. No ill effects appear to occur from the close proximity to the mast.

Once up at its final 40 foot height (a comprimise to keep good relations with neighbors and wife) I found 40 meters to resonate at 7.150 with an SWR of 1.1:1 band edges 1.5:1 at 7.000 and 1.7:1 at 7.299.

People on my 40 meter nets say I have a great signal. The PRO-67-B is a driven and director on 40. No reflector, so the F/B is only an S unit or so. But enough to break some CW pileups so I'm pleased with it.

On my 20 meter DX net, I'm 6 S units over my OCF dipole (which no doubt has a null in that direction), and I can run JA's for the rest of my life if I wanted to on 20.

The 17, and 12 Meter coverage is nice, and the antenna is 3 elements on each of those bands. There are 4 elements on 10, but (of course) 10's been dead since I put up the antenna.

Yes it's an old design, but I had a Steppir vertical which broke down several times, I'm not a fan of mechanical devices in antenna systems. They always seem to break down at the worst times. I think the Steppir is a great antenna, but they do have a greater potential for failure IMHO (to which I am entitled).

All in all I'm really satisfied with my purchase, I had no problems so didn't have to contact support. My communications with Mosley after ordering and prior to shipping were excellent, so I had no issues there. Even my buddy who helped me assemble it (who hates traps in antennas) told me, that he would consider one for his next QTH.

So there you go, A solid design from an old tried and true company. If you decide to go with the PRO-67-B I believe you will be pleased.

73,

Joe W7UV
 
VE3CWJ Rating: 3/5 Oct 3, 2011 10:42 Send this review to a friend
Good but watch out for corrosion  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had mine since 1995, used it for about 8 years, then went into storage. I'm re-building it now, using DX Engineering 3/8" ubolts instead of the 5/16" Mosley uses. I agree another reviewer that many of the lock washers are corroded - use SS only when rebuilding. Same issue with corrosion for the traps.
Most of the traps now show high resistance, or even infinite ohms across the traps. The problem is the rivets inside the traps have no anti-oxidant on them. The wire and rivets look clean and almost shiny after 16 years, but are corroded in between. You have to drill out the rivet (where possible - 4 traps have full windings on one end, covering the rivets - must be re-wound) and use SS screws (with Penatrox). Also, many of the "plastic" forms inside have split or broken in two, due to drifting of the outside element inwards (only a 1/4" or so). Solution is to gently force the two halves back together, and put in a SS screw in the broken half that is on the outside part of the trap. (inside half is held by rivet/screw). Hopefully that will keep it from drifting any more. Trap covers are all split as well - use liquid rubber tape, or some other waterproofing to seal the traps when finishd re-building them.
Final issue is the mounting blocks for the driven elements. Mosley using only #10 (or #12?)machine screws is a bad idea. I've lost 3 of them from the bottom of the support arms, probably due to vibration over the years. I've re-build these with wider aluminum channel, and DX Eng. resin blocks (1-1/8" dia.). These driven elements are then all held down with 1/4" SS bolts and SS backing plates for the resin blocks. - Much more sturdy (and a bit heavier too)
I like this beam in general, it performed well on a 64ft tower before, but corrosion is a serious concern in their design of the beam - and I live nowhere near any salt water... Replace any lockwashers with real SS ones, use anti-seize on all u-bolts, and be prepared to fix the traps within 15 years, unless Mosley has changed their design since 16 years ago...
 
W0AFS Rating: 5/5 Feb 7, 2011 10:19 Send this review to a friend
very pleased  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The antenna is at 92 foot on a an-wireless HD-92. The SWR was as good if not lower than shown. I took my time and really measured to the nats hair. It payed off. Well made and easy to put together for the frequency you want due to pre markings (factory) and pre drilled holes for pinning. (screws) Perfect fit.. Been getting signal reports with 80 to 90 watts DX I have dreamed about. Don't be in a hurry for it.
It will take time but its worth the wait and its not cheap in cost or quality. Quality costs....
 
WS4B Rating: 5/5 Nov 23, 2008 18:57 Send this review to a friend
A 100 watt pile up buster!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I must preface saying that I am rating the antenna a 5/5, but Mosley customer service a 3.5/5 for this review.

This antenna rocks! I am an avid DX chaser and I quickly noticed that I can run barefoot with this antenna and compete with the "Big Boys" on Kilowatt Alley." I have yet to use an amp with this antenna, and I bust through pile ups on no worse than the third of fourth try. I only have the antenna 36 feet above ground, yet it is performing very well on 20 and even 40 meters at this height.

Now, DO NOT expect to order this antenna and expect to have it the next week or even the next month. Mine took almost 10 weeks to arrive, so you need to be patient. The reason why I rate Mosley’s customer service at 3.5/5 is because there were delays on shipment of the antenna that I had to inquire about. Mosley never took the initative to tell me there was going to be any delays. I only found out when promised delivery time lapsed with no antenna. I would have to call THEM and only then would they explain the delays. Both times there was a delay (allegedly) of them waiting on traps.

However despite the waiting period, the antenna is far worth the wait!! If you are a serious DXer, this antenna should be taken into serious consideration. I feel I made an excellent choice. Photo of my PRO-67B is available by e-mailing me and asking for a pic.

Brad W4BJM
E-mail: bmessick@tampabay.rr.com
 
VE2VOL Rating: 5/5 Sep 6, 2008 09:37 Send this review to a friend
OUTSTANDING  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great antenna,
Has been up for almost 14 Years without any problems..
Performance still excellent All swr curves meet specs.
Ice storms survival, high wind survival, big snow storms survival... (I had to replace Capacitance Hats after the big 97' Ice Storm )
Use 60 Ft. Trylon Tower &
Yeasu SDX-1000 Rotator
Hydro-Power (Quebec) should use the same Aluminum..
Thank to Mosley
Francoys
VE2VOL

 
IK5HHA Rating: 5/5 Aug 30, 2006 16:06 Send this review to a friend
Great !!  Time owned: more than 12 months
No problem, only a great satisfaction on all band.
'73 de Luca ik5hha
mobile 347.8245463
 
AF4Z Rating: 5/5 Nov 1, 2005 17:51 Send this review to a friend
Good 6-Band HF Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased the PRO-67B used and have owned it for about 8 years. One thing I have found, it's a dependable antenna. Even on 40 meters, I have worked DX stations easily I thought would be very hard. It is mounted on a Rohn 25G guyed tower at 55 feet and VSWR is much like the manual states for CODE 1 (CW). One thing this antenna does not have is high F/B . You will find perhaps 10 dB at best on the upper bands but for me, this is not a problem. If higher F/B is needed, get the 67C. If you are looking for a nice all around HF Beam antenna for 40, 20, 17, 15, 12 and 10 meters, I think the Mosley PRO-67B is a good choice. For me, it was a great choice.
 
WA6BOJ Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2001 14:12 Send this review to a friend
Excellent overall antenna, single feedline  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have had Pro 67A several years at 71 feet. It is a durable and reliable antenna. Rather heavy approximately 100 lbs. Single feedline is a very nice feature. Take the time to apply conductive compound at every joint and at every connection. Performed this at every trap and even internal to trap. SWR good all bands except 20M edges. Gain is comparable to most tribanders. 1-2 s units better than most dipoles and verticals used as a reference. F/B approximately 2 s units typical. Making a 6 band antenna perform well is a complex and challenging design task. The overall result balances compromises with reliable service and peformance
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.