eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Yaesu FT-7100M Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-7100M
Yaesu FT-7100M Reviews: 134 Average rating: 2.9/5 MSRP: $499
Description: Dual Band Mobile, V/V, U/U, V/U, Wide Rx, 50W/35W, 262 Memories, 2 Row Alphanumeric Memory Labels,

Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-7100M.

<— Page 2 of 14 —>

KC7MRQ Rating: 2/5 Oct 2, 2007 10:05 Send this review to a friend
Not the best I've owned.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The radio is ok for basic vhf/uhf needs. However, mine doesn't have a very good squelch circuit. The squelch keeps opening so I have to keep it very tight. The squelch problem is really bad when I am in the scan mode.

I will probably end up selling the radio for a more advanced APRS capable mobile unit.
 
JA1ML Rating: 5/5 Jun 22, 2007 10:39 Send this review to a friend
Very good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I used my FT-7100 every day mobile for over two years. I always recieved good aduio reports and it has always worked perfect with none of the reported problems I've heard or read about.
 
KC0TNH Rating: 0/5 Feb 13, 2007 05:31 Send this review to a friend
Better off wighout having one!  Time owned: more than 12 months
What a mistake this radio was!!!! bought it to fit in new car but it has such terrible intermodulation problems you can't use it anywhere near a city of over 10,000 population, it picks up everything! (tv, pagers, broadcast radio and public service ) without having them programmed in.

I think this is just a yaesu mistake .... See one for sale RUN dont walk away!
 
KA0YLP Rating: 4/5 Jan 5, 2007 13:26 Send this review to a friend
Mobile Mounting Equipment  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased the FT7100M several years ago without adding the YSK-7100 Separation Kit, MMB-Quick Release Mobile Mounting Bracket, MMB-62 Remote Front Panel Mounting Bracket, or the MEK-2 Microphone Extension Kit. If you know of anyone who has new or used equipment in very good condition please let me know.

My experience withe the transmitter is infrequent and usually with a portable antenna and battery. I would really like to make it a permanent mobile.
 
KG8FV Rating: 4/5 Jul 13, 2006 19:41 Send this review to a friend
No complaints  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had mine now for a long time and had no problems with it. It replace my 5100 which I miss badly and it has went to the grave yard. I guess you get a bad one every now and then. Yes Yeasu service department stinks and it takes forever! to get something done and done right.
 
KB1MZR Rating: 5/5 Jul 11, 2006 19:47 Send this review to a friend
A Good Starter Radio!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I just got into radio over the winter. A ham that swears by these sold me one and I love it. The only complaints I have are that there aren't enough memory channels (I know, 250 memories should be more than enough). The only other complaint I have is that it's easy to wipe the memory. But, I have received nothing but praise from other hams that have used the radio. I have not had any problems while operating and the radio runs cool. It is one of the 2.... serial numbers in case that helps anyone. I heard the 1.... serial numbers tended to have more problems. Check for that when looking at one.
 
N6PSE Rating: 1/5 Jul 8, 2005 13:11 Send this review to a friend
Worst Radio I have ever owned!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my Yaesu FT7100M for several years. It is a very poor transiever. Basically an intermod box. I would sell it but I don't want anyone to hate me........

I continue to own some very good Yaesu equipment, but some of it has been rather bad, inaddition to the 7100M, the Ft8000, FT727 and the first FT100 were all very poor radios.
 
AD5FO Rating: 0/5 Jul 8, 2005 10:12 Send this review to a friend
Nothing but problems.  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is my first dual-band radio and I don't believe I will purchase another Yaesu. It's been in for repairs 3 times and now it is having the same problems again. The squelch on the main band will not open most of the time. Now Yaesu tells me that they have one on the shelf (VR Unit Part# CB1376001) and that it may be a defective return, but that I will just have to take my chances. If it doesn't work, they told me that it could take over 30 days to get a refund. (Since the warranty is out, I was planning on changing the VR Unit myself). The technician also said that there are some VR Units on the 7100 that are hard-wired and others use connectors, but there is no way to tell which will arrive because the part numbers are the same. They told me that they will not do a trade-in on it on the radio either.

The programmable band scan memory scans from L1 to U5, not just within the one that you want to scan. The technician told me that this was an "engineering goof-up" and that there will be no fix for it. The Smart Scan feature also continues beyond the band limits.

The intermod is terrible, even after the warranty upgrades. I have had to replace the mic connector twice. The insulation is peeling off at the mic.

I also had the receiver go out on the subband.

Not a good experience with the radio or the support people for my first dual-band. I don't think the next will be a Yaesu.
 
KB9UKO Rating: 1/5 Jul 1, 2005 23:47 Send this review to a friend
Thanks KA1ACK  Time owned: more than 12 months
Thank god for the document you wrote on eham.net. I just got my 7,100 back from Yaesu today. The Mic was just it as bad as it was when I sent it off to them. The insulation is falling off it like a banana peels. Anyways I went to program my list of frequencies back into it and I couldn’t get the darn memory skip function to work. I remembered your posting about all the errors in the manual. I looked it up and sure enough pressing and holding v/m was the answer THAT’S NOT IN THE MANUAL! So THANKS for taking the time to point that out. I wouldn’t have been surprised if they messed up the transmitter again. Remember Quality only counts if you put it into All of your radios. The 7100m is a looser and so are the atrocious repairs they did to my radio.

Thanks,

KB9UKO
 
KD5VTZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2005 20:54 Send this review to a friend
A mod is a MUST!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ok if you are wondering why I gave the FT-7100 (1HXXXXX) a 5/5 I'll explain. I got the radio over Ebay. Big mistake! Apperantly the guy was in so much trouble with this "thing" he wanted to get rid of it by false adverts.. I fell for it. Got the radio the following week and let's just say the radio was, oh what's the word? Horrible piece of crap! Helicopter sound, low audio, shutting off, need I say more? The previous owner was kind enough to illegaly extend the transmit range above 450MHz so Good Bye Yaesu Warranty Card into the fire place. What saved me, and my 250 dollar cost, was some German guy who is very obsessed with the various ways of improving this specific radio. I followed his mods almost to the tooth and I now have a radio with the most clear, crisp, basses, loud sound. A few capacitors at Radio Shack, a steady hand, and the patience of my wife to help me out and I was done. Took me about 2.5 hours and trust you me, I'm no expert. The radio may inturn become a good short project with much desired results. So if you are in a position where you can not sell the radio because it is a lemon please do what I did and you'll be much more satisfied. At least this way the once ugly duckling may very well become the best VHF/UHF performer you have. Oh, the mods are on the web I no longer have the address but if you have trouble finding it I can email the pdf file. The file DOES NOT include the freq. extend mod.
flazarevic@yahoo.com
 
<— Page 2 of 14 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.