eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Diamond CP6 multi-band trap-vertical Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond CP6 multi-band trap-vertical
Diamond CP6 multi-band trap-vertical Reviews: 41 Average rating: 3.9/5 MSRP: $320
Description: The CP6 is a multi-band trap-vertical antenna for HF bands, covering the 80*, 40, 20, 15, 10 & 6m amateur bands. Made from heavy-duty aluminum, the CP6 is easily assembled, yielding excellent performance and reliability from a compact base station.
*80m CW only. SSB requires a tuner.
antenna.

This product has been discontinued.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.rfparts.com/diamond/multi2.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond CP6 multi-band trap-vertical.

Page 1 of 5 —>

JO3SLK Rating: 5/5 Oct 13, 2012 01:08 Send this review to a friend
Great performance  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the CP-6 for a couple of years and really like it. The antenna is very easy to assemble and tune. The performance has been outstanding, working all over the world. I am not a contester but I "hunt and pounce" on stations that I have not worked before. I have gotten through to some rare stations that were very busy, even with the 100 watt IC-7200 I have.

I have also been through several typhoons and the antenna has survived very well. I would recommend the CP-6 and would buy it again if I ever needed a replacement.

I use a RigExpert AA230 Pro to tune it to the portion of the band I will normally work and the antenna then just performs....

I have never had any problem with the construction of the antenna or the traps.

If you are looking for a good 6 band vertical that is easy to install, holds up well in adverse weather and performs well, this is an antenna to consider.
 
GM4LER Rating: 0/5 Oct 2, 2012 14:31 Send this review to a friend
Absolutly Rubbish  Time owned: more than 12 months
This antenna is the worst piece of kit that I have ever bought.

It cannot stand up to any wx ,it's not water proof & traps built far to flimsy to remain operational after any wind ,

Probably ok for occasional portable use ,but do not rely that it will work as the connections in the traps are very fragile
 
G3EJS Rating: 0/5 Aug 13, 2012 01:52 Send this review to a friend
Very poor build quality  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this six years ago to try and get active on HF from a very small garden, after being used to used to almost unlimited antenna space.

At first I thought it was great, seemed to work OK, but the only thing I had to compare it with was a piece of wire.

Went together OK, had to remove all but one of the top rods to get it to work on 80,

After about 18 months, I noticed the "sway" in the wind was jerky, very soon after that it stopped working.
As others have found, the construction of the traps is atrocious.

After repair it lasted a bit longer, but the plastic inside the trap is soft, and eventually it failed again, but the more holes you add for more repairs, the weaker it gets.

Last week I took it down and put up a Moonraker 2500. Although the Moonraker doesn't seem to get good reviews, it is a lot better than the CP6, signals well up, and hugely quieter regarding background noise (mainly local domestic)

The CP6 is sold in the UK as a quality antenna, at a high price. The quality is appalling, and it is worth about a third of the selling price. Now the price may be high due to large profits by the UK dealers, or maybe it is expensive from Diamond, but either way allowing for the quality and price it can only have a zero rating, comparing it with other makes like my TH3Jnr, which at 30 years old is still good.
 
KB9MLE Rating: 5/5 Mar 25, 2012 12:55 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have had the Diamond CP-6 up for over 10 years. Has worked very well. I'm starting to notice problems with my radio not being able to TX full power. Will have to look into this to find out what the problem is.
 
EI5KF Rating: 4/5 Jan 16, 2012 11:18 Send this review to a friend
Diamond CP6  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
CP6 cont'd......
After problems found with traps, contacted Diamond Japan, with issue of QC. New trap shipped with correct construction.
Thanks Diamaond
 
EI5KF Rating: 2/5 Dec 27, 2011 16:51 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna, poor QC from Diamond  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased a CP6 in July of 2011. After getting my licence in August, I commissioned the antenna and worked satisfactory on 5 band (no tx on 6m)

After 2-3 months noticed a change in VSWR on most bands above 10m, then 10m when bad.

Eventually, I got the antenna down and checked the antenna out. Sure enough, O/C in the 1st trap. Dismantled antenna and trap. Found broken connection on bottom of 10m coil and bottom of 15m coil at earthing point. These breaks were basically down to bad design and construction of the trap. Only 2 rivits are used to secure the trap insulatated former to the aluminium sections. These rivits are only seperated by 45 deg, which results in a lot of play and movement of parts in the wind and snap! If Diamond had put 4 rivits at 90 deg spacing, no issue. Drilling thru and puting extra rivets solves the problem, re-assemble and away you go.

Now you have a damb good antenna which does not need a ground and is suited to restricted spaces.

With this modification done, I would give the antenna a 5, but as it is bad QC from Diamond it gets a 2.

Best Regards,
EI5KF
 
F4FYJ Rating: 3/5 Nov 14, 2010 13:08 Send this review to a friend
Just for 10,15 and 20m  Time owned: more than 12 months
I boutgh a Diamond CP6 antenna last year for portable activity.

Just good for 10/15 and 20m very poor on 40m , 80m unusable.
too short for 40 and 80 ,narrow bandwidth need antenna tuner.

Replaced by G5RV "junior" 40 to 10m (inverted V)

Good :

when have not place
when just one shrot antenna is possible
One coaxial wire
roof of hight building
work fine on 10/15/20m

 
IZ0IRH Rating: 4/5 Sep 20, 2010 04:32 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna with restrictions  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought it one year ago: It's easy to mount, no problems with SWR.
Of course one has to be aware of this antenna's limits, as it is a short vertical trapped antenna

Pros:
- good for restricted spaces
- good quality of materials
- easy to build (but not to maintain, see below)
- good efficiency and 1:1 SWR from 20 mtrs up
- it's cheap

Cons:
- very poor/poor on 80 and 40 meters, bandwidth is too small, and so is it's efficiency
- noisy as many other verticals GP
- not very convenient: if you want just to replace the coax cable, you need to dismount the entire vertical beam. Not very practical.

In a nutshell, a good product for beginners, or if you do not want to spend more money.

73 de Mario IZ0IRH
 
2E0TZM Rating: 5/5 Sep 10, 2010 06:12 Send this review to a friend
Spot on  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought one of these off ebay 9 months ago to use at home was so inpressed found another for /p operations, they work very well for me easy to set up, would buy again.
 
M0CRU Rating: 0/5 Jul 15, 2010 00:08 Send this review to a friend
JUNK  Time owned: more than 12 months
good points- its an antenna

bad points- its junk, 300 junk.

you could make better out of wood and string, the build quality is very sad, dry joints in all traps, you need a good set of ladders, because you spend more time on the roof fixing it than you transmit on it.
ok for portable.
 
Page 1 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.