eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | MFJ 9406X 6M SSB Adventure Radio Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ 9406X 6M SSB Adventure Radio
MFJ 9406X 6M SSB Adventure Radio Reviews: 22 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $269.95
Description: 10W SSB transceiver with ability add CW adapter
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-9406X
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ 9406X 6M SSB Adventure Radio.

Page 1 of 3 —>

K4XXX Rating: 5/5 Feb 15, 2015 11:33 Send this review to a friend
Great little rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one off eBay a while ago as I was looking for a nice portable rig I could use while I had down time at work. Bought the rig, and purchased the CW module extra and this little rig exceeded my expectations. Now I have it on my desk along side my IC-756 and IC-7100. RX is great and I've always received good audio reports with the stock microphone. I can hear all the weak beacons my IC-7100 and 756 can hear with the MFJ rig on a PAR Omniangle antenna. I leave it parked on 50.125 listening for activity and haven't had any issues so far.
 
KF7YDL Rating: 5/5 Aug 24, 2013 10:43 Send this review to a friend
Lots of fun  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Bought one used on Ebay for about $170. The only problem is that the S meter doesn't work on transmit.

During the July band opening I worked quite a few grids from the California coast using a dipole strung between eves 10 foot up.

Looking forward to using it outdoors during the next band opening.

Signal strength and audio reports the same as my fancy 100 watt Kenwood. The analog dial and fine tuning work better than expected.
 
K9DTH Rating: 5/5 May 4, 2013 19:05 Send this review to a friend
Great QRP Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was given a used 9406 from a ham who never used it. I recently hooked it up to a off center fed dipole and tried it out. The receiver is great and I am getting very good reports.I have been a ham over 50 years but this is the first time on 6 meters. Lots of fun.
 
N1YPS Rating: 4/5 Aug 22, 2011 19:59 Send this review to a friend
A kind word for MFJ  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought my MFJ 9406 at a hamfest for 40 bucks. I figured for $40 there must be something wrong with it... and there was. No TX. I called MFJ several times for a schematic (none found on the net). Eventually, they sent me one AND emailed me one, with a few helpful hints. Long story short, and a new RF choke, my radio is working GREAT! It was worth the fuss AND the $40!
 
GW1MCD Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2011 04:14 Send this review to a friend
Just Brilliant  Time owned: more than 12 months
See my review of September 3rd 2001.My comments still stand. I sold my original and totally regretted doing so. Just purchased a "Brand New" replacement on Ebay , sold by a UK Main Dealer for 99.00.What a gift. Chuffed to bits!!.
 
KF4HPY Rating: 5/5 Mar 6, 2011 13:55 Send this review to a friend
Great first radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned one of these 6m. raduos in the late 90's as a Tech operater. I used it on camping trips, as a base station, and at condos while traveling. These early models had no phone jacks; but MFJ had a kit out to add one. There was a 6m. radio net on SSB weekly, so after listening to learn how to conduct myself on the air. Plunged into 6m. from EM84; working much of New England and many points in between. One evening I worked W1LP on board The "Chemical Pioneer" 120 miles off New Orleans with an inverted aluminum dipole. Later bought MFJ yagi. Later after several years and up grades sold the rig to an elderly ham who loved to work 6m. with it. That same radio is still on the go with the ham whose radio I added the jack to so long ago. I used this radio with dipoles of steel threaded rod, home brew inverted aluminum tubes, copper J-poles, homebrew 2-element Yagi's, Hamstick dipoles,and finally the 3-element Yagi from MFJ. This radio never disappointed me in its performance. I have a 9440x radio that is almost as much fun, even it only puts out 5W. I recommend this radio to any one starting in amateur radio as a first step. Or for that vacation cabin; camping etc.
 
KB0XR Rating: 5/5 Jun 14, 2010 05:29 Send this review to a friend
Great little rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking on Ebay for a few weeks for one of these. I had set a top price that I would pay for a used one. Finally, I scored a used one from another ham. It arrived and at first I was a little underwhelmed. Basic radio for sure. I applied power and tuned around the band once in awhile but 6 has been quiet here in the midwest. Yesterday, after constructing a basic dipole and hanging it under my deck out of sight of the association police, I fired it up for the ARRL VHF contest. 6 was in and out all day for me but with a little effort, I managed 26 contacts mainly in the southeast US and southwest also. Since it was a contest, no one was in the mood to critique my signal but I was impressed with my 9 watts out to the dipole. I really like this thing. This was my first outing on 6 meters and I've been licensed many more years than I would like to admit. 6 really is the "Magic Band"


I've got no complaints for what I paid for it.
 
KB9MNM Rating: 5/5 Oct 13, 2009 03:23 Send this review to a friend
Excellent radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I had mine for a few years, back when 6 was hopping. Worked Nova Scotia from EN51 with the MFJ 3 el. Yagi on top of my ranch style house. Sold it and when the new owner checked it out, they told me it was only putting out 3 watts! Wow! Never was able to get the west coast, but got Colorado and New Mexico. I miss it! May have to get another one.
 
VK4JAZ Rating: 5/5 Aug 18, 2008 16:08 Send this review to a friend
What a beauty!  Time owned: more than 12 months
After a bad start with mine (build quality was poor - the rig wasn't aligned properly and needed to be returned under warranty) I am now having a blast. Threw up a hastily-built 6m dipole and made 6 great contacts during a local contest. Receive quality is excellent, the radio is easy to tune even though I needed to 'calibrate' the tuning knob pointer, and the fine tune knob provides great tuning. Now for a better antenna and I'll be chasing those elusive grid squares! Thanks for your excellent work, MFJ, it is much appreciated Down Under.
 
KI6JPX Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2007 16:32 Send this review to a friend
Very hardy radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Simple design, well worth your money and addition to your shack. Very easy to tune with the analog Vfo tuner knob stations come in with ease. Survives accidental 5 feet plummets to hardwood floors too! Light weight and deffinetly a keeper!
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.