eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | SGC SG 2020 Help


Reviews Summary for SGC SG 2020
SGC SG 2020 Reviews: 76 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $675.00
Description: Fixed, Mobile, Portable or Aviation "multi-mission" HF Txcvr
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.sgcworld.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the SGC SG 2020.

<— Page 2 of 8 —>

GM6HGW Rating: 5/5 May 13, 2008 06:09 Send this review to a friend
Great little radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Iíve owned a 20-20 for a couple of years now, itís great.

I choose the 20-20 as I wanted a radio I could use aboard my yacht and when working portable. Therefore it had to be robust, which the 20-20 is.

OK it can drift a wee bit for the first few minutes, and Iíve no adverse comments on the receive audio. The twenty Watts out has worked successfully on 20, 40 and 80 with excellent reports and surprise from other than Iím only running twenty Watts.

Overall, Iím well pleased.
 
W6PMR Rating: 2/5 Mar 11, 2007 18:42 Send this review to a friend
Poor RX Audio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had this radio for about three months and I really wanted to like this thing. Yes, It is built like a tank, heavy for it's size with good "feel" but the downsides were too great to live with.
The receive audio is just plain bad, no matter if you connect a quality external speaker or use headphones this puppy is hard to listen to for any length of time. It drifts, it's menu system and band switching are strange, and the power cord uses a small strange connector that falls out very easy.
All-in-all go for the Yaesu 817, same price on the used market but the 817 includes VHF/UHF, has a better receiver, less power but a MUCH better radio.
 
K2ROK Rating: 5/5 Jun 12, 2004 10:06 Send this review to a friend
This rig has personality  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is the older version before the ADSP upgrades were available. Paid just under $600 new for it during one of SGC's winter sale events where they offered a rebate.

First, this is not your average radio -- and that is a GOOD thing! It definately has it's own personality, sort-of-speak, and that too is a GOOD thing! It is definately like using a piece of military equipment or something where function triumphs over form, quite the opposite from many of the Ken-Ya-Com offerings of today with the sweeping curves and associated gimics. This radio first and foremost is meant to be a low powered SSB communications TOOL (General coverage receive but no AM). The company's committment to SSB is obvious, just download their interesting HF SSB book off their website.

CW affianados beware -- it's treated as a second tier function here -- but if I was into CW as my primary mode, I'd be buying Ten Tec anyway. The clicking of the relay and basic filtering won't impress in this 2020 version, but I am sure the ADSP version takes care of some of those concerns.

The menu system in this rig takes some getting used to, but once you learn it, the system works like a snap. No problems and band changing and power changing ability (QRP to 20 watts) is simple and quick. In fact, it is fun to run a watt just to see what I can work -- so this is surely as much a QRP rig as any of the others (Yaesu 817 and Icom 703).

I use a MFJ tuner and feed a tri-band 10-15-20 meter dipole in the attic, and as long as the SGC is at least 10 feet away from the antenna, everything is cool -- any closer and I get some feedback on my signal, according to reports.

This rig is expensive compated to the Icom 718 or Yaesu 840 -- and today it is more worth getting the version with ADSP or upgrading your older 2020.

In summary this rig bridges the market of ham radio and commercial or military communications applications. It's more the later in my opinion made available to hams to enjoy -- and that is okay!
 
G7TOK Rating: 5/5 May 14, 2004 20:49 Send this review to a friend
Great !  Time owned: more than 12 months
No, you're not the only G !!
Bought mine on day one, from a now defunct business that imported "grey" units a price similar to U.S. buyers, not nearly $1000 like the current U.K. importer.
I have had more fun with this radio, a 3ah gel-cell and a home made end-fed half wave for 20m than any radio I have owned in 25 years of operating.
20w is just right for most conditions, the lack of first stage pre-amplification works very well, receive audio can take getting used too, but transmit audio is something else.
Drop it to below 5w and the combination of the VOGAD processing and QRP tagged on the end of the call has even broken pile-ups.
Besides, just look at it, it has real character, unlike some other portable HF sets I could mention !!
 
YO2LLQ Rating: 3/5 Apr 5, 2004 17:50 Send this review to a friend
quite ok but not great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Had the rig for some time. Basically it works fine receives, transmits but performance is not astonishing.

I would feel the need of a narrow preselector for the receive front and some more power on 28 MHz, all it does now is some 6-7 W. and that's really little.
 
M3CAX Rating: 5/5 Mar 8, 2004 16:46 Send this review to a friend
I love it  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I really do. It is rugged, reliable, and doesn't have too many knobs. It has more power out than I need (= allowed to use), and is fantastic for portable use. I have got a pair of Yaesu YH-77STA headphones, which are very comfortable and give nice audio.
 
G0ORC Rating: 5/5 Jan 17, 2004 06:40 Send this review to a friend
Great Little Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Am I the only G station to use an SGC radio - seems so. Had the radio several weeks now and it never ceases to amaze me. A new unit with factory fitted ADSP it does all it says and I've worked the world with 5 watts to windom.

OK the received audio is a bit strange until you get used to it, but judicious twiddling of the bandwith and DSP usually sort it. The CW relay noise doesn't bother me at all and the AGC pumping can usually be sorted with use of the RF gain.

I have to say that this radio was a second choice. I wanted an Argonaut V but that is not CE approved yet, TenTec's loss however is SGC's gain - my FT1000MP Mk V hasn't been switched on in since I've had the 2020ADSP.

Only complaint is ergonimic - why the headphone jack on the rear and the CW jack on the front ? Strange !

Its restored the fun back into my hobby
 
K0KL Rating: 5/5 Oct 22, 2003 17:41 Send this review to a friend
A real fun radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this little gem about 3 years ago on consignment from the local ham emporium. I was a little disapointed at the filtering in addition the tuning appeared rough. Fortunately, I had a synthesizer problem crop up that resulted in a trip to the radio hospital for repair and update, oh yes I added ADSP2 at the same time.
All I can say is wow. THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE RADIO. I use it in our travel trailer with a 33' vertical and work all over on all bands using a tuner with the trailer frame as counterpoise.
But the radio really works well.
Someone at the factory turned me onto an SGC users group site where I found a mod to increase the punch using a Heil element in the mike.
I can't describe the fun in using this radio and the DSP is beyond belief! I have a FT-100MP at home and truly feel the SGC processing is superior (later technology too). Keying is great and by using the RF gain control mitigate any strong adjacent signals in the IF passband (radio uses audio filtering to 100 Hz which works very well and 2.8 Khz IF filter).
It's stable, runs the right amount of power and draws little, important when on self contained batteries in the trailer.
 
KB0GC Rating: 5/5 Jun 12, 2003 21:44 Send this review to a friend
Solid performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm a missionary in Bolivia and use the radio both mobile and portable with an LDG Z-11 tuner. I bought the Mountain Ops case for it with the sealed lead acid battery and it has become my constant companion. We have no phone and radio is our only means of communication so it gets a lot of use. Cannot tell the difference between it and a 100 watt radio other than the low power consumption. I turned in a review earlier with a low score because I had to send it in for a software lockup problem. But now that I have it back and am using it, I had to set the record straight. Highly recommend! Not really user friendly but worth the trouble. Great little radio for rugged, remote, mobile and portable use!
 
W8OB Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2002 11:45 Send this review to a friend
great heavy duty rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
got one of these for mobile and backpacking. This thing is built like a tank. receiver is very good not up to par with top end units or the k2 series but it gets the job done. tx is flawless if you give the rig a few minutes to warm up first ( as stated in manual), however using from a cold start you will notice some chirp on the cw sig as the rig stabilizes. manual is well written, and once you get the different button functions down your off to the races. I would buy a 2nd one if needed in a flash
 
<— Page 2 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.