eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | MOTOROLA GP-300 Help


Reviews Summary for MOTOROLA GP-300
MOTOROLA GP-300 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $800 (?)
Description: Handheld radio for VHF or UHF use
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MOTOROLA GP-300.

N4JEM Rating: 5/5 Jul 5, 2008 11:55 Send this review to a friend
Tough as nails  Time owned: months
The best handheld have droped on concrete floor from aprox 15 feet still works fine as far as complaints go service on the gp300 is easy to do
biggest thing that i here is made in maylasia thare are plenty around made in the u.s.a verious auction places. i have owned the same on for over 14 years it has a lot of abuse no problems with them I use them in a commercial business.

Now that is my 2cents worth n4jem
 
RAYJK110 Rating: 5/5 Apr 23, 2004 22:09 Send this review to a friend
Nice  Time owned: months
We use these as spare radios for our Fire Department as back-ups for the HT750's. Built tough, works really good for the use that its been thru, considering some have been thru fires.
Overall---if i got a chance to buy one, i would
 
M0BAU Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2002 07:26 Send this review to a friend
THE very best  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is the best handie for toughness and reliabilty you will find. I have dropped mine from hieghts many times, it has fallen into polluted water and oil left to dry out for a while and it still works. Battery life is very good also, for a no nonsense work horse GO for it.
 
KC8QDR Rating: 5/5 Nov 27, 2002 20:30 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a great radio. Built like a tank, and excellent tx/rx audio! Nicads, antennas, and other parts (including new housings to make an old radio new again) are still available. I have 2 of these radios and they are my favorites (so are the gm300 and the maxtrac for home use). If you don't care too much about bells and whistles, but want a rig that produces/receives rock solid RF. This is the way to go.
 
W0FM Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2002 10:21 Send this review to a friend
Super radio/software illegal!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Yes, the Motorola GP-300 is a workhorse radio, no longer in production. It features an excellent receiver and is as rugged a radio as anyone could want.

You might be capable of building a cheap programming interface, however, you should first know that Motorola is very agressively prosecuting those possessing illegal, unlicensed copies of their RSS (Radio Systems Software). See below.
http://www.ecommercetimes.com/perl/story/3917.html

Terry, WFM
 
KC8PMM Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2002 07:41 Send this review to a friend
Commercial HT EXPENSIVE!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is an expensive way to go for HAM use. They are very high quality radios but it is illegal to program them yourself unless you have a licensed copy of Motorola's software. A licensed dealer might charge about $50 to program it.

I would spend this kind of money on two nice dual banders and probably have some left over for accessories.
 
KC9L Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2001 18:16 Send this review to a friend
Best HT I've ever owned.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Had it for about a month now, and it has been great. Best receive audio I've ever heard in an HT. Used it on field day with a MAHA NiMH battery and it lasted from 9am saturday to 1pm sunday. Lack of VFO isn't really a problem. Check www.batlabs.com for programming info--if you already have a PC, it'll take about 15 bucks of parts to build a programmer.
 
PE1RLN Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2001 08:11 Send this review to a friend
Great thing! Never had a better one!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Believe me: this is the best portable radio you'll ever find. I have used it for a few months now and I will never sell it.

This is why it is such a fine thing:

- 16 channels programmable
- 5 Watts
- rugged design
- great sensitivity
- great sound

I have one for 2m, but there are also gp-300's for UHF use. They can be programmed with a simple interface that anyone can build. I just love it.

My rating? 6/5
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.