eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Alpha 77Dx Help


Reviews Summary for Alpha 77Dx
Alpha 77Dx Reviews: 13 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $4500
Description: Single 8877; QSK; 160-10 including the new bands
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.rfconcepts.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alpha 77Dx.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KT9D Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2014 15:06 Send this review to a friend
Well built and reliable amplifier  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own 2 Alpha 77s running single 8877s. Both amps work great. The workmanship on the cabinets and the components is second to none. These are heavy duty amps capable of 2KW. I own at least 10 working HF amplifiers and these are by far my favorite.
 
W9AC Rating: 5/5 Mar 31, 2013 04:57 Send this review to a friend
Dependable.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Time owned is 20 years and this amp always delivers. Please, stay away from making the amp into the Sx model. The single 8877 will produce 2.5KW output power, 24/7 - and still have headroom.

I've never understood the fascination for a pair of 8877s, apart from ill-perceived "bragging rights." That results in twice the tube replacement price, and if an RF deck problem does develop, localizing it is a lot easier with one 8877, rather than two.

Also consider that the RF output connector, wiring, fuse holders, and power supply were simply not designed for the higher power level that the Sx version is thought to supply. In short, those opting for the Sx are gullible in thinking they're making their amp better and more powerful.

Rather than adding a tube, take the time and funds to make some other worthwhile upgrades to the amp like balancing the filaments and removing the high return current off the chassis.
 
W4WIA Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2011 07:09 Send this review to a friend
Worth The Money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I see lots of complaints about the price of this amp. Well, I bought mine new in 1979 for $2995 and only replaced some lamps and the panels were the ones with the "soft" paint. Beat on it doing RTTY contesting @ 1300W output, and much SSB contesting @ 1500W. Replaced the tube after 27 years. That's a lot less cost than the 20 Ameritron/Dentron/Kenwood amps I would have bought to get to 2011.
5 star rating from W4WIA
 
W8IDL Rating: 5/5 Jul 3, 2010 13:28 Send this review to a friend
THE Quintessential 8877 Amplifier  Time owned: more than 12 months
The ETO Alpha 77Dx is THE quintessential 8877 amplifier, and is a work of art as well as a GREAT performer. It started out as the Alpha 70V using the 3CV1500A7 vapor cooled tube, with ten air cooled amps (70A) using the 3CX1000A7 tube being built. The Alpha 77 came next, built in the 70V cabinet, with the 8877 air cooled tube. The next revisions for the 77D and 77Dx came by building the amplifier into a larger and better enclosure. The 77Dx has it all: vacuum variable tuning capacitor with turns counter, vacuum T/R relay, RadioSwitch heavy duty bandswitch, excellent metering, elegant electronic signal and keying controls, beautiful anodized aluminum sheet metal work: the list goes on and on. The only way to improve on this amplifier is to be lucky enough to get one of the two ETO built for Don Wallace, W6AM, that have a turns-counter vacuum variable for the loading capacitor as well!

Yes, yes... I know... the 77Dx is expensive. You can easily buy an amplifier that will put out almost as much power, or be roughly functionally equivalent, for less money. The Alpha 78 is a great example, and a great amplifier, and has its own allure; but it IS NOT an Alpha 77Dx or 77Sx (two tube version). The 77Dx is in a league of its own with an elegance that has never been duplicated. IMO it has earned a 5 star rating for being one of the best amplifiers ever built, and has easily withstood the test of time.
 
NA1A Rating: 5/5 Feb 18, 2009 16:47 Send this review to a friend
The best can't be beat  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had several Alpha amplifier through the year... including the 86, 87A, 89, 99, 76, 78 but never owned the 77 up until now. Mine is a 77DX, with a single YU209 which is the pulsating 8877. The only thing I can say about this amp is WOW! Amp is big, in fact it is the BIGGEST item in my shack. It has plenty of power, runs quiet and not as much heat as others that I've had. I LOVE this amp! It's the best of all the ALPHA.
 
KK5DR Rating: 4/5 May 16, 2007 06:51 Send this review to a friend
Old war horse  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own a PA-77 which predates the 77Dx. It is slightly lighter and minus a few features found in the later version.
Mine was damaged when I got it (shipping damage). But was repairable with little trouble.
It is amazing that the unit still runs great at 34+ years old.
Stop in on my web site for a more detailed page on it. www.kk5dr.com

73 de Matt KK5DR
 
W6IML Rating: 1/5 Aug 18, 2005 11:38 Send this review to a friend
overated, overpriced  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Alpha has made some great amps, but this isn't one of them. It is overpriced, and underbuilt. The DX is a fair amp, but for a desk top amp it is to big, and takes to long to tune. The SX model [dual 8877's] has a wimpy power supply, and will not feed those 8877's with the plate current they require, nor the voltage regulation. The smaller Alpha amps will give you the gain you are looking for, and are simple to tune, especially the bandpass tuning amps like the 78, the 374, and the 374A. Those amps only require you to change bands, and go for it!
Save your money and find a Alpha 78, or one of the 374's that come available very often. They are less than half what a 77DX/SX will cost you, and will give you almost the same gain.
 
WV4R Rating: 5/5 May 11, 2004 13:05 Send this review to a friend
Big Heavy Amp... Big Heavy POWER!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This unit was purchased NEW around 1976 and has been kicking around a number of QTHs over it's TWENTY EIGHT years of occasional usage. The unit has always been very Quiet for it's Huge Size and Huge Power. It needs it's own reinforced Space for sure as it takes two men and a donkey to move it! Sad to say it does Look a bit like it has been kicked around for almost thirty years but that is superficial cosmetics and to be expected. You have to glance at the meters to be sure it is working because there is no hum and no buzz just quiet POWER... and it is still putting out Full Power on the Original Factory Tube... 'nuf said for this ole boat anchor to receive the wv4r FIVE-Star rating. 73 es God bless, murf/wv4r.
 
Anonymous Rating: 5/5 Feb 1, 2003 09:05 Send this review to a friend
excellent but pricey  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned the dual 8877 version for a few years and it was a very nice amp. However, the potential long term cost of owning this amp was scarey. Two 8877's cost more than the first car I bought and like every other amp ever built, the ps was not nearly as capable as it should have been with tubes capable of 5kw peak in. I have heard more than a few owners of these amps buying bigger replacement power transformers for their amps that cost more than $500. I don't think I would buy another; I think I would go for a well cooled 3-500z or surplus 4cx800a amp.
 
PA1KW Rating: 5/5 Feb 1, 2003 08:00 Send this review to a friend
good better BEST  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have an Alpha 77Dx since july 2002.
I am using it besides the 87A.
It is a great and very well build linear, and the components are very oversized.
It is giving a lot of power, and easy to tune.
Never had any problem with it, and i think this unit is become an collectors item soon.
If you can get one buy it, posible the best manual tuned amp there is.

PA1KW Bert
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.