eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Radio education & exam prep materials | Nu-Ware - Nu-Morse and Nu-Test Help


Reviews Summary for Nu-Ware - Nu-Morse and Nu-Test
Nu-Ware - Nu-Morse and Nu-Test Reviews: 13 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $Free Trial & $45.00 Register
Description: Nu-Test: Everything you need to pass first time is included. Generates on-screen tests with diagrams using the FCC question pools Displays an "Explanation" Help topic for every question. Test review and automatic test scoring. Part 97 of the FCC rules with interactive jumps RF exposure tables.
NuMorse: Beginner? You have a choice of training courses! The First Steps feature will gently introduce you to the code and take you through a step-by-step structured training course. NuMorse Pro can offer a Koch based course as well! Taking your test? Then try out the tests administered by NuMorse Pro to boost your confidence. Speed fiend? A comprehensive array of features will hone your copy skills to the limit. Instructor? Track students progress. Instantly set up the program for students at different levels of ability.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.nu-ware.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Nu-Ware - Nu-Morse and Nu-Test.

Page 1 of 2 —>

K4JDC Rating: 5/5 Aug 22, 2010 13:30 Send this review to a friend
Well worth the money!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I used Nu-Test to prepare for both my General Class and Extra Class exams and got perfect scores on both! The variety of preferences allow you to customize the study presentation in order to maximize retention of the material. I used printed "sample" exams very effectively. I also have Nu-Morse and it is very good, also. I highly recommend Nu-Morse products. You'll get your money's worth!
 
K4YHQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 6, 2006 18:27 Send this review to a friend
A Great Supplement to the Manuals  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I don't believe that there's any substitute for going through the ARRL Manuals and learning the material, and that takes time and commitment, no doubt. But the fact is even if you know a subject well, you might not do well if tested on it. You might mis-read a question, or not have concentrated well enough on the subject the question was drawn from. That's the real advantage of these programs, Nu Test and 5X5: they help put you at ease with the test, and get you used to the type of question you'll see when you take your exam. I used Nu-Test and 5X5 for my General and Extra Class tests, and in the week preceeding each test I'd sit down and take two or three practice exams on the computer, each exam comprised of questions from the entire pool. When the day came, I was well prepared; comfortable and confident, I ripped through the exams. I knew the material from the manuals, and I knew how to answer the questions from Nu-Test and 5X5.
 
NH2CP Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2006 23:26 Send this review to a friend
Incredible software  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
In January of 2006, I committed to getting my tech license. I looked around at all the websites and decided on Nu-Test to help me practice for the test.

I aced it! Did great on the General test too. Now I'm using nu-test to help prepare me for the Extra.

When used with the ARRL manuals and Gordon West' Q&A, this is an invaluable tool. A previous poster is right about their customer service, they are tops.

Upgrades for apdated pools is a big plus. If you are just getting started or need some help for the big EXTRA push, it's worth every penny.
 
KI4DGH Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2006 10:01 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Study Material  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using NuTest as one of my primary Exam Preperation materails for my General and recently Extra Element exams. It is an excellent product. I really like having the ability to track my results and then create new exams based on questions that I have missed in previous sessions. User support has been excellent and fast.
 
VE3BWA Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2004 00:21 Send this review to a friend
great product - get it today  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am a new ham in my early 50s. I became fascinated by ham and shortwave in my teens but never got around to it - came back a few years ago. I don't learn as well as I used to (back then, I earned 3 university degrees) and my ear is not what it used to be, so CW was a challenge. But Nu-Code got me my HF licence in only 2 months. It's easy to use and you learn at your own speed the right way - ie, learning the sounds of the characters. Highly recommended for beginners or anyone who wants to brush up their skills. Customer support is outstanding and the price is right. 73 de Chuck VE3BWA
 
W9BRE Rating: 5/5 Apr 2, 2004 23:30 Send this review to a friend
Look no further - get it!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I done my homework and researched the various Morse tutorials available. Needles to say, I struck gold with Nu-Morse! After 3 weeks of dedication and hard work, I was able to copy all 43 characters @ 8 wpm with 95% accuracy. I never thought I would be able to advance that quickly. There are SO many user controllable options and the program is user friendly. This program allows you to take one of several practice exams, which gave me confidence going into the code test. Passed my General on 3/20/04 and the examiner told me it was outstanding. Now, I want to get a keyer and do some cw contacts. However, there is more to it than a good program. I have found that it takes a sense of committment and hard work. If you want to get better than close, make a committment, and get New-Morse!! :}
 
VA7CPC Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2003 04:47 Send this review to a friend
Nu-Code worked for me!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nu-Code is a Koch-style Morse trainer. It will import files, generate random strings, has lots of files of random call-signs, etc.

I practiced with it half an hour a day, every day for about six weeks. I have no special talents, and did lots of swearing at the software when it inexorably kept sending stuff just faster than I could copy it. [I found that was a good way to get my speed up -- frustrating but effective.]

I passed -- very comfortably -- the 5 wpm Canadian code test.

The lessons are well-designed, and the software is very easy to use. It includes complete "macro-language" documentation for those who want to create their own lessons.

I'd recommend it to anyone needing to learn Morse. Very focused, and not very expensive.
 
W3DCG Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2003 02:39 Send this review to a friend
Nu-Morse Pro, Unbelievable!  Time owned: more than 12 months
My receiver decided to go on a walk-about.

So I decided to toy with NuMorse a bit more, especially as it's my only source for CW now.

As a newly afflicted CW addict, Nu Morse Pro is saving me from depression while my rig is down for repair, and while I scrape together the funds to fix it.

I grew tired of Nu Morse Pro's QSO Generator canned simulated QSO's, but they are surprisingly good. So, I decided to investigate Nu-Morse's play a text file as the CW source, option.

At first, I thought it a bit glitchy, spent couple hours scratching my head wondering why it would not correctly read the text files I copied and/or created. Finally decided it was a glitch.

Spent about 45 minutes typing "In Search of Amateur Innovation- Part II," from QST June 2003, page 91. I just wanted to copy that in CW. Strictly personal use.

But it just would not play the text. Instead, some words would come across, but much of the text seemed like random gibberish. Like it was having difficulty reading the letters.

I discovered making all words in Upper Case helped it translate more of the text.

Finally, due to typos, I decided to start in Word, and paste it to the Windows Notepad- I wanted Spellchecking, and Grammar checking.

Then I discovered- one of the Fonts that seemed to magically become available in my Microsoft Word program was called Nu Morse!

That's write, NuWare added it to my WORD program font list somehow during installation.

So next, I highlighted the entire text, changed it all to NuMorse, copied it to the Notepad as a .txt file, selected that text file via the drop down file menu by choosing "Select Code Source," pressed PLAY, and voila! I'm listening to it as I'm writing this!

This program is fantastic and amazing. It seems very much thought has gone into it. There are more options than I'll possibly ever use...

If you want a program that will suit even the most seasoned CW operator, and yet, can be used to train, say, your wife, kids, or any other interested party at the basic level, this is definitely the ticket.

It will accomidate on all levels of proficiency.

The program has not glitched on me yet.

It has more ways to listen to, and learn Morse code, than I could have ever imagined.

I've had this program for about a year now, and have discovered things about it that I did not know existed.

Imagine all the ways you would like to learn code. Would you like to learn by it sending text you prefer? Done. Would you like to learn QRQ with your input via a keyboard and have it compare what your type to the text it sends, and also, track and record your progress? Done. Would you like multiple users, say for your daughter going for 5wpm with visual aids in addition to the sound, and track her progress, under a different profile, while you track your's separately, aiming to break the 40-45 wpm barrier? It will do it. Would you like it to know exactly where you left off, where she left off? Done.

I forget what I paid, I bought it via a download and purchased the key which arrived via automatic email. The author of this program knows his stuff.

One of the best values in ham radio. If you want to learn CW, and aspire to be able to head-copy past 35 wpm, NuMorse will do it all.

It is the only Morse trainer you will ever need.

I am very happy with it. It has lain dormant inside my computer for months, and now it sustains me.

Nothing beats a real QSO, but this comes close.

I forgot to mention, you can select "Real Morse" which allows you to add in ignition noise, atmospheric noise, and fading.

You can choose the severity of these three parameters, simulating real life band conditions.

This is the slickest, most well conceived CW program imaginable.

It is truly amazing, that the author has packed so many features into a program for an art and mode that is supposedly "dying."

On a scale of 1-5 it's a 10. It has surpassed my expectations by at least a hundred percent.
 
N8YAD Rating: 5/5 Mar 16, 2003 21:39 Send this review to a friend
The best morse trainer I've found  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nu-Morse is an excellent program! After trying for years to learn code by different tapes (unsuccessful)I found this program. I tried it out and, like a switch was suddenly turned on in my head, I was copying code!! Support from Tony is great, and I have already started "selling" Nu-Morse to anyone who will listen. Code has become something that I enjoy mastering, not something I need to get through to get my upgrade!!
 
K3NH Rating: 5/5 Apr 25, 2002 15:09 Send this review to a friend
Tried and TRUE !!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Been using the product for years !!!

Have used it to train over 20 HAMs over the last 4 years !!! We are a High-School Club in Pittsburgh, PA amd Tony was gracious enough to allow me to use it for my kids since we were under-funded. I can't say enough on how the kids enjoy using this program !

We are one of the largest HS clubs in the USA and Tony's program was instrumental in our success.

Our method for success....

Start 14 days before exam date.

1. Use the W5YI Tech Video section at a time (usually 5-20 min) Use Flashcards for Freq. Limits.

2. Use NuTest by browsing the question pool with answers highlighted for the matching section. (use explain if you don't understand why an answer is correct)

3. Use NuTest to browse section with answers OFF and attain 85% before moving to next section.

(repeat 1,2,3 until last section)

4. Test using www.AA9PW.com and by day 11 able to pass 2 consecutive tests in a row. (test until this is accomplished)(review sections not proficient)

5. Day 12, you must pass 3 consecutive tests on AA9PW by 85% (keep going till you do)

6. Day 13, you must pass 5 consecutive tests on AA9PW by 85% (keep going till you do)

SO FAR THIS HAS WORKED EVERY TIME ! FOR OVER 20 PEOPLE !!!

If you are curious why we don't test with Nu-Test, It is because it's "randomness" seemed not as random (when it generates tests)and gave the kids a false sense of security. Plus, AA9PW breaks down results by section, showing you where you are weakest (But it's a test only so you can't use it as a study program) and that's where Nu-Test excels ! If there was something better, I would use it ! THERE ISN'T !!

Thanks Tony !
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.