eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | QRP Accessories | W4RT Electronics "ONE TOUCH TUNE" for the Yaesu FT-817 Help


Reviews Summary for W4RT Electronics "ONE TOUCH TUNE" for the Yaesu FT-817
W4RT Electronics  Reviews: 10 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $59.95
Description: Small outboard controller that generates all commands necessary to provide a tuning carrier from the FT-817 by pushing one button. Avoids multi-level menu access otherwise required. Compatible with the LDG Z-11 Autotuner and manual tuners. Derives all power from the 817 and preserves access to the accessory (CAT) jack.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.w4rt.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the W4RT Electronics "ONE TOUCH TUNE" for the Yaesu FT-817.

OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2006 01:09 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
As all accessories from W4RT just great and a worthwile addition to the FT-817.
 
MM3XDS Rating: 5/5 Aug 3, 2005 10:53 Send this review to a friend
Works Great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Bought this a while back,and it does what it says on the packet
Easy to install,works great

5 Out Of 5

Donald Suttie
MM3XDS / 2M0XDS
http://www.rockwellcm.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/
 
NV9Z Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2004 09:45 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am very impressed with the OTT. It makes matching my FT-817 and Alpha-Delta B sloper a snap. NV9Z
 
AB4YE Rating: 5/5 Apr 23, 2004 22:40 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
what a great convenience!! I am a band hopper, and not having to reach up, change modes, reduce power, xmit/tune, reset mode and power each time i change bands is great. Now, i change bands and press this little button for a few seconds and go back to what I was doing...pouncing....

Ab4ye
 
KG0WX Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2003 13:25 Send this review to a friend
Only 1 little flaw......  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If you are in memory mode and hit the tune button, the tuner dosen't tune and the 817 dosen't tx. The 817 is switched into memory tune mode and if you then try to tune, everything works fine. If you are in vfo mode it works on the first try.

Other than that I'm satisfied and I may be nuts but my tune times are faster! At least they seem faster - about half the tune time - maybe it's the fact that the OTT (I think) produces an unmodulated carrier whereas before, I was tuning up in AM mode (but not talking during tuning). As a test, I unplugged the OTT and tuned up. Yep, slower!

BTW W4RT's turn around time was exceptional! I bought the OTT, a OBP max punch and the new bhi ltd. "hear it" DSP. I mailed the radio on 11/1 via priority mail and got it back 11/7 via UPS ground.

72's de Ken KG0WX
 
KB1FPM Rating: 5/5 May 10, 2002 14:24 Send this review to a friend
Nothing but smiles!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I still smile just about every time I use this. I thought it would be a waste of money. I mean, c'mon, how hard is it to push a button? Well, I installed this in my Z11 tuner and have to say that what seems like a small convenience turns out to be a very big plus. You have to use this to appreciate how much it facilitates operations. It's nice to be able to stay focused on the bands, not the buttons! A truly excellent and ingenious product.
 
ON4CCP Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2002 14:40 Send this review to a friend
Plug and play !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ordered this kid together with a OTT adapted Z-11 tuner directly from W4RT. 7 days later, the package arrived in Belgium. Plugged in and started to play. Very nice idea to make an additional feature for the (fantastic) Z-11 tuner.
When using the FT-817 + Z-11, this OTT is needed !
73s, Ken, ON4CCP
 
W2MSK Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2001 13:34 Send this review to a friend
Easy to install and it Works!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Received the W4RT auto tune kit and installed it and the compatibility kit in 15 mins! Worked the first time and now the FT-817 has full auto-tune capability with my LDG Z-11, just like the big rigs. It is a pleasure working with quality products, the Z-11 is a gem! Everything is include, even a paper clip, solder and a tie wrap. Highly recommended.
 
W4RK Rating: 5/5 Jun 15, 2001 19:20 Send this review to a friend
Z-11 Compatibility Kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have now used my ONE TOUCH TUNE with the upgrade of the Z-11 COMPATIBILITY KIT installed in my Z-11. No changes were required to the basic ONE TOUCH TUNE. The compatibility kit is a "no brainer" to install. The instructions are very clear and W4RT Electronics even includes the Ty Wrap used to strain relieve the cable, the paper clip used to pull the returnable IC, and even solder to attach the cable to the Z-11. They thought of everything! LDG even thoughtfully provided a hole already drilled in the rear panel of the Z-11 for the shielded cable. Now the good part. The newly modified Z-11 in combination with the 817 and the ONE TOUCH TUNE makes this truly a one button affair. You just momentarily push the TUNE button on the Z-11 and the rest is automatic. Nice job W4RT Electronics!
 
W4RK Rating: 5/5 May 21, 2001 21:13 Send this review to a friend
Super Convenience, Solid Engineering  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought mine at the W4RT Electronics booth at the Dayton Hamvention. As an avid 817 user for the past two months, I really appreciate what this little jewel does. Upon pushing the button on the supplied cable, the ONE TOUCH TUNE (OTT) stores whatever mode you're currently in, puts the 817 in an appropriate (and legal) mode, and activates PTT giving an unmodulated carrier for tuning. After you're finished with tuning, release the button and the OTT turns off the carrier and re-establishes the mode you were previously in. Quick and convenient. The alternative to OTT is to wade thru several menu selections and hold down the mike button or bail out of the electronic keyer mode (menu selection) and hold the key down. This is not a criticism of the 817, just a recognition that the small size of the 817 demanded few buttons, which, in turn, relates to multiple menu selections to do a specific task.
At Dayton, I also saw a live demo of the OTT controlling the combination of the 817 and the LDG Z-11 Autotuner. In this case, the tuning is initiated by one momentary push of the TUNE button on the Z-11. OTT does its thing with the 817 and holds the carrier ON until the Z-11 is finished with tuning. The Z-11 then tells the OTT to release the 817 to its former mode and the job is complete. This is really the ultimate in convenience.
Since getting back from Dayton, I have exercised the OTT a number of times and it never missed. It appears to be made of quality components: cables, connectors, etc. The microprocessor is potted and attached to the rear panel of the 817 with Velcro. The OTT is powered from the 817 CAT connector where it accesses the 817 control functions and a CAT pigtail cable and connector is provided so you don't lose CAT functionality for computer logging, etc. Since the OTT reverts to a "sleep" mode when not actually in a tune cycle, the battery life will not be significantly affected.
The ONE TOUCH TUNE is well packaged in a strong cardboard carton and includes an excellent set of instructions and technical description. The OTT push button cable is included to make this a complete, plug and play device. Literally all you have to do is to stick on the supplied Velcro patch, plug the CAT connector into the 817, plug in the push button cable, set the CAT rate to 9600 baud (menu item) and you're ready to tune.
Check out the photos on the W4RT Electronics website: www.w4rt.com
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.