eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Repeater Controllers | Computer Automation Technology - CAT-200 Repeater Controller Help


Reviews Summary for Computer Automation Technology - CAT-200 Repeater Controller
Computer Automation Technology - CAT-200 Repeater Controller Reviews: 9 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $$159.00
Description: This controller was specially developed to provide sophisticated two port repeater and link operation, packed full of rich features, at a fantastic low cost. Some of the features include: Programmable Voice Messages, Remote Base Port, Thirty Two Controlling Functions, Four Logic Inputs, Four User Function Outputs, Peet Weather Station Interface for Weather reporting just to name a few!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.catauto.com/cat200.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Computer Automation Technology - CAT-200 Repeater Controller.

KB8ZXE Rating: 5/5 Aug 2, 2009 10:57 Send this review to a friend
Good Controller  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned a CAT-200 for several years now. When I was building my repeater I had a tough time picking out a controller but I am glad I went with the CAT-200. Setting up the audio levels is a snap with the 5 pots that it has. Keypad test is a very useful feature. Programming follows an easy to understand scheme. Fan control is also very useful for turning on a fan when the repeater is transmitting. The plus 12volts on the DB-25 connector is nice too. Status LEDs would be nice but surely not required. I would have also liked to see both ports on a separate connector (port1 on a DB-9 and port2 on a DB-9)but having one DB-25 can have advantages too. Best of all CAT is very easy to work with and they get back to you very quickly if you have a question.
 
KC0GLA Rating: 5/5 Jan 10, 2009 16:36 Send this review to a friend
Great Controller  Time owned: more than 12 months
I put one of these in a repeater. I used the link for an IRLP link for a long time. Only problem is that the factory fuse blew. I found out that there was a change to the design used for that size of fuse. I replaced with a new style fuse and no more problems. The fuse problem was not a controller design problem.
 
KC9GMH Rating: 5/5 Oct 4, 2008 22:32 Send this review to a friend
Great controller for the price  Time owned: more than 12 months
Very easy to program and has alot of features, for $200 its worth it. Work very well with my Kenwood TKR-750 repeater. I also have a Motorola m1225 as a link radio for our local skywarn repeater.
 
N1RIK Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2008 19:21 Send this review to a friend
Great controller!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The first Cat-200 Controller I purchased came with my GE Rangr UHF Repeater package I purchased about a year ago. I had previously been fond of the MCC RC-1000 controllers, which has pletty curtosy tones that you can create. What I did find out is with the RC-1000, is that it DOES NOT have independent RX and TX level controls for the repeater and remote base ports. This caused some issues with my 2 meter repeater. Once I experienced how simple it was to use a link radio with my Cat-200 controller on the 440 repeater, I had to replace my RC-1000 on the 2 meter. I have been happy with my Cat-200 controllers. They are fairly simple. They have a digital voice ID, no clock, limited courtesy tone options, however they interface great between your repeater and link radio. Also it features options to be used as a weather station (I have no use for that either). If I ever upgrade from this controller, it'll be another cat, like maybe a 300. A++++

You can hear mine on the air here:

Covering Moore County in North Carolina

145.370 -/offset PL 179.9 hz - Southern Pines, NC
442.250 +/offset PL 179.9 hz - Carthage/Cameron, NC

73 ~ Bill, N1RIK
 
NA6DF Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2004 13:14 Send this review to a friend
outstandin  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have had one for quite a while, and would say "mega-dittos" to all the aforementioned comments! Great job, CAT!

dave
 
WA1MIK Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2004 11:58 Send this review to a friend
Simple but does the job  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my first one in early 2002 along with their serial interface. Worked flawlessly with a pair of Motorola MaxTracs. They sent me a couple of firmware upgrades for free. Bought a second one in 2004 to interface with a Motorola MSF5000. Made my own serial interface for $10. Bought the audio delay boards with each one. They have a nice BBS and are easy to contact. Very fast tech support when needed. They accept comments and are open to suggestions. The prices have gone up a bit, however. Still a good deal for what it does. May buy a third unit for yet another MSF5000.
 
KB8ZXE Rating: 5/5 Apr 6, 2004 22:54 Send this review to a friend
Great Controller for the money!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have had the Cat-200 controller for about six months now. It is the best controller that you can buy for your money. It has a lot of features such as voice id, ked pad test, link port and more. It is also pretty easy to program over the air. I would buy another Cat-200 without question.


Bob KB8ZXE
 
VE7RMY Rating: 5/5 Feb 19, 2004 03:38 Send this review to a friend
Trouble Free  Time owned: more than 12 months
I started to use this controller since April 2001 with a WR Repeater. I like the Over the Air programming feature via DTMF, DTMF Pad Tester and Voice ID. This is a great controller and the manual was very easy to follow. It's been trouble free for 3 years now. (www.qsl.net/va7pre)
 
KB3HJN Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2004 16:06 Send this review to a friend
Really good Controller.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've had a CAT-200 for almost a year now and it serves as a great repeater controller. CAT has done a great job in the design on this controller, and at the price of $199.00, you can't really beat it for what you get. To hear it on the air, listen on 146.64MHz - in Pleasantville, Pennsylvania.

Aaron Riley, KB3HJN
Riley Electronic Services
www.rileyes.biz
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.