eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | TELEWAVE MODEL 44 Help


Reviews Summary for TELEWAVE MODEL 44
TELEWAVE MODEL 44 Reviews: 7 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $715
Description: Wide frequency range, high accuracy directional wattmeter.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.telewave.com/pricelist/wattmeter.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the TELEWAVE MODEL 44.

K4MSG Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2013 11:06 Send this review to a friend
44A is super!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Picked up a "used, new condition" Model 44A w/Pelican case from a test equipment dealer and it is one of the best investments I have ever made. It is pricey (even the used one was $599.00) but absolutely wonderful to use: compact, accurate, and no slugs to mess with. I especially like the OFF function which protects the meter and the convenience of being able to select forward or reflected power and wattage range "on the fly". Having the FORWARD/REFLECTED power chart (for calculating VSWR) on the back of the meter is also helpful when I'm up on the roof trying to "tweak" an antenna (e.g., no manual required).

Since I'm primarily a VHF/UHF operator this is definitely the one to have!
 
KC8HXO Rating: 5/5 Feb 24, 2006 14:46 Send this review to a friend
Quality product!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Need to calibrate your Bird?? Get a Telewave! (Just kidding). It is every bit as good as the old Bird. No slugs to buy, store, want, not have, etc.. This is another keeper!
 
W6LBV Rating: 5/5 Jul 22, 2005 08:17 Send this review to a friend
"A Bird for All Seasons"  Time owned: more than 12 months
I received my (nearly new) Model 44A in a swap about fifteen years ago, and have used it for power/SWR measurements ranging from ten meter Amateur antennas to commercial 900 MHz mobile radio base stations. It has never failed to perform perfectly for me.

Certainly it is a commercial-grade instrument, built to commercial standards. A twenty page manual supplied with the meter documents it fully, including internal parts identification/values. Unlike the Bird Model 43, the 44A does have the VSWR chart and calibration factors silk screened on the external back side of the case.

For clarification, the manufacturer's specifications indicate an operating range from 20 to 1000 MHz, 6% accuracy from 20 to 100 MHz (after application of calibration factors), 5% accuracy from 100 to 500 MHz, and 6% accuracy from 500 to 1000 MHz. Maximum indicated forward power is 500 watts. The weight is 3 pounds; this device is not a light weight!

There are three advantages to this product compared to its competition: First, there are no external plug-in slugs to be obtained; the wide-range instrument is complete and ready for use solely by itself. Second, a front panel switch has an off position for the meter movement, thus protecting the instrument during transit. Third, front panel power range switching makes possible very accurate reads of low levels of reflected power in a 50 ohm transmission line attached to a well-matched antenna. Thus it is possible to read 250 watts of forward power and 3 watts of reflected power accurately, by switching to a five watt (full scale) power range for the reflected reading.

With a Palstar WM-150 to handle MF/HF measurements and the Model 44A for VHF/UHF, I'll never need to upgrade power measurement instrumentation within this wide frequency range. And of course I've "given the bird" to the eternal chase for finding ever more wattmeter slugs.

An expensive instrument relative to the Amateur marketplace? Probably....but not so bad if the cost is amortized over a lifetime.
 
N3GOO Rating: 5/5 Aug 3, 2004 22:43 Send this review to a friend
Bombproof Pro grade  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Excellent VHF/UHF wattmeter. Built like a tank, designed and intended for daily commercial use. This is not one of those $85 cross needle specials that never stay in calibration, this is what the pros use. If you are doing a lot of VHF/UHF antenna or amplifier work this is the one meter to have. Excellent for field day use as well.
 
PA5MS Rating: 5/5 Aug 9, 2002 02:19 Send this review to a friend
Best meter I have  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have one since 1998 never had any problem, I used this meter to check my bird slugs.. As buy and resell used bird elements. Best meter I have
 
G3ZPS Rating: 5/5 Jul 27, 2002 07:03 Send this review to a friend
super bit of kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Picked one of these little beauties this week. Never seen one in the UK before. Still has a US retail of over $600. Absolutely superb professional bit of equipment..looks bombproof. No plugins required for 50MHz for 1GHz, and has 5 power ranges up to 500W full scale. Is built like an looks like a Bird 43..hmm Telewave 44.. very close!. My one has the -40dB RF takeoff through an additional BNC. No drawbacks at all..if you can get one for the right price.

Steve G3ZPS
 
WB9WHE Rating: 5/5 Jun 15, 2001 15:09 Send this review to a friend
Superb and no costly elements!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The model 44A is a commercial quality, broad band (1-1000 Mhz) directional wattmeter that does not require elements. Accuracy is 5% (most are 10%). It has ranges of 5-15-50-500 watts Forward and Reverse for the entire frequency range. HIGHLY accurate. Riggid, heavy cast case and rubber guarded shock resistant meter. NO expensive elements. Looks just like a Byrd model 44A, but NO ELEMENTS. Comes factory calabrated to a US Nat. Bureau of Standards traceable reference. Comes with either N or SO-239 connectors...and quick disconnect, if you like.

Have owned for 3 years, not a single problem.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.