eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: Scanners | Uniden BC895XLT Help


Reviews Summary for Uniden BC895XLT
Uniden BC895XLT Reviews: 20 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $499.99
Description: 300 Channel Trunktracker
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.uniden.com/docs/product/prdetail.cfm?product=BC895XLT
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Uniden BC895XLT.

<— Page 2 of 2

RFX Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2004 22:05 Send this review to a friend
Best scanner for under $200  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
A really great VHF/UHF scanner with a large VFO tuning knob, and good performance on all bands. Nice design, and easy to use. Well worth $200!
 
N8YV Rating: 4/5 Aug 12, 2003 10:01 Send this review to a friend
Worth it!  Time owned: more than 12 months
IMHO, the best trunking scanner available, dollar-for-dollar. AWESOME aircraft-band performance, better than most ham rigs with airband RX that I have used. Seems a bit deaf on 800 MHz, BUT--800 MHz is a tough signal to "pipe" into the rig from an external antenna without MAJOR feedline losses (RG-58/U doesn't cut it!). The telescoping whip is useless unless you are close to the trunking system. You could spend more money on a good external antenna and low-loss coaxial cable rated for decent 800 MHz performance. There are also preamps available for use at the antenna, and these will all help resolve the 800 MHz losses.
But, for under $200 in many areas, spending another $200 or more just to get good 800-MHz performance is a decision best left to personal preference. One more thing--this is one of the few inexpensive scanners that receive the 220-MHz band, a bonus if you live near a 220 ham repeater or military base.
 
HIKER_44 Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2003 12:14 Send this review to a friend
One of the Best out there!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great scanner. I've had no problems with
it. For a base station it is super. For a mobile you
better have plenty of room because this is a "Huge"
bad boy to fit in a vehicle.
If you want a nice Base Scanner look no further.
 
KC8Y Rating: 4/5 Apr 5, 2003 12:50 Send this review to a friend
good receiver???  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
just bought this unit-new, because it was on sale...great for local police/fire stations...use my 6-M outside verticle...have noticed some slight receiver degrade in sensitivity, on some 2
& 440 repeaters (probably due to distance & curvature of earth)...because of this, I'm just giving "4", otherwise great/nice unit...use external speaker
 
K2VI Rating: 5/5 Mar 30, 2003 19:05 Send this review to a friend
you cant go wrong!  Time owned: more than 12 months
had mine for 3 years.i will get another for the bedroom.highly recommend this unit.great reception and full audio with external speaker.
 
N2ERN Rating: 0/5 Dec 16, 2002 10:54 Send this review to a friend
Save your money!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This piece of junk works well SOMETIMES. It seems to lose sensitivity on 800 systems after a day or less. The best it can do is track my system for a day. This means that I can SOMETIMES get the NJSP like it was next door, and them i don't get it at all. Been back to Uniden once already and it still sucks. Buy something else.
 
DT593 Rating: 5/5 Oct 15, 2002 00:07 Send this review to a friend
Best Buy If On Sale  Time owned: months
Paid $189 3 years ago Bought it just because I needed another scanner and a friend who owns a radio store gave meal a deal on this one. Dont have much trunking in this area so use it for normal scanning.
I love the sound of this radio..I keep a Radio Shack external speaker on it (Sound good even on it's own) ...some people dont like the pronounced "squelch tail" but I think a squelch tail makes the radio sound a bit more professional then a radio without one.
I blew the FM Squelch curcuit ( dumb mistake on my part) and use the radio strictly for AM Aviation where it is OUTSTANDING in both sensitivity and AM audio quality. For the money (Under $200)it is the best deal out there

Roger "Bear" Yurek
 
KC2IGY Rating: 5/5 Aug 15, 2001 00:24 Send this review to a friend
Best scanner for under $200.  Time owned: more than 12 months
If you're looking for a basic, great scanner for under $200, then look no further. The 895 is a great performer, at a great price. It's one of my "keeper" radios.
 
KG0WX Rating: 2/5 Jun 29, 2001 21:06 Send this review to a friend
Nice but 800mhz sensitivity bites  Time owned: more than 12 months
If you live very close to a 800 mhz trunking system, this scanner will do very nicely for you. The use of the big center knob for VFO tuning is a great touch. Intermod suppression is perfect. VHF and UHF sensitivity is on par with my Icom 706. I did compare mine with several other 895's, and they all showed the poor reception of 800mhz freqs.
 
KC0JEX Rating: 5/5 Jun 19, 2001 09:48 Send this review to a friend
perfect scanner  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This scanner is awesome! Since I've bought it I've been using it a lot and it's the perfect scanner for me. It has 300 Channels, Twin Turbo Scan & Search, Trunktracking, and you can get it for about $200. If you don't need alpha tags, this is a great base/mobile scanner.
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.