eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Butternut HF9V Help


Reviews Summary for Butternut HF9V
Butternut HF9V Reviews: 73 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $399.00
Description: Work 9 popular bands; 80 thru 6 meters with a single, highly efficient vertical radiator only 26 ft. tall!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.bencher.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Butternut HF9V.

Page 1 of 8 —>

NE8P Rating: 5/5 Dec 1, 2014 06:58 Send this review to a friend
Still My Pick  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had three HF6/9V's over the last 30 years. Just ground mounted the third one since I've moved to a new short-term QTH and can't put up the tower/tribander.

I still think this is one heckuva vertical antenna. Just played in the CQWW CW contest on 10 meters and worked 105 DXCC entities in eight hours of operating (with 500 watts.) That's pretty darn good! On the other end of the spectrum, it works surprisingly well on 80 meters also (acknowledging it's rather limited bandwidth) as evidenced by logging FT4TA and needing only about 15 minutes to do so.

However, know that a good radial system is very much a part of the recipe. I use fifty, fifty foot radials.

Highly recommended.....

Mike, NE8P
 
M0NST Rating: 5/5 Nov 22, 2014 10:05 Send this review to a friend
mod  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
fir the 17m section had plastic insulator melting so replaced with cermic tile cut and drilled now swr 1.2 on 17m antenna now perfect.
good mod wish I decided earlier
 
NN6CH Rating: 5/5 Sep 23, 2014 11:48 Send this review to a friend
Great All band Vertical  Time owned: more than 12 months
MY dad owned two - one permanently mounted, one just for Field Day

I have had mine for 6 years.

I am in an antenna restricted neighborhood, so I have the HF9V behind a palm tree on my property.

This thing works and works and works.

I have DXCC on 6 bands and WAS on 7 bands using this antenna exclusively.

It may seem a bit more expensive than others, but this antenna really works, I can not recommend it enough
 
M0NST Rating: 4/5 Jul 31, 2014 13:12 Send this review to a friend
good but manual and comenents need more anttention  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
cheap replacement caps found here if you break one http://hvstuff.com/20kv-68pf-high-voltage-ceramic-doorknob-capacitor higher kv that original here my results now if bencher had made it more durable better assemble had redo the q coil connectors badly soldered , the rg 11 also badly soldered pl259 as well as the soldier crimps, use copper its a better quality of cable than steel caps weak but now got the antenna tuned within acceptable limits. If the manual and above had been done properly I would have given it a 5. but tuning needs analyser and a lot of patience. 6m will be raised a little at some point but its acceptable for now. Be careful on 30m coil the cap is very brittle. Here is my new results. Im a lot happier now with it:-

Measured within Band Actual Measured Best SWR Near Band Comments Percentage out
Freq SWR R Xs Lowest Poss SWR Band Freq R Xs
160 M 1.800 Low 2.0:1 160M off by 0 KHz 0.00%
Ctr Freq 1.900 High 2.0:1 0 KHz Bandwidth at 0.000 Center Freq.
2.000 Ctr of Band 0.000 200 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

75/80 M 3.500 9.4 Low 2.0:1 3.689 80M off by 0 KHz -0.05%
Ctr Freq 3.723 1.4 High 2.0:1 3.757 69 KHz Bandwidth at 3.723 Center Freq.
4.000 16.2 Ctr of Band 3.723 500 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

60 M 5.3305 Low 2.0:1 60M off by 0 KHz 0.00%
Ctr Freq 5.3678 High 2.0:1 0 KHz Bandwidth at 0.000 Center Freq.
5.4050 Ctr of Band 0.000 75 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

40 M 7.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 6.906 40M off by 27 KHz 13.37%
Ctr Freq 7.100 1.1 High 2.0:1 7.347 441 KHz Bandwidth at 7.127 Center Freq.
7.200 1.3 Ctr of Band 7.127 200 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

30 M 10.100 1.7 Low 2.0:1 10.065 30M off by -2 KHz -4.00%
Ctr Freq 10.125 1.5 High 2.0:1 10.181 116 KHz Bandwidth at 10.123 Center Freq.
10.150 1.6 Ctr of Band 10.123 50 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

20 M 14.000 1.4 Low 2.0:1 13.478 20M off by 261 KHz 74.43%
Ctr Freq 14.175 1.3 High 2.0:1 15.393 1915 KHz Bandwidth at 14.436 Center Freq.
14.350 1.3 Ctr of Band 14.436 350 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

17 M 18.068 1.8 Low 2.0:1 18.035 17M off by 21 KHz 21.50%
Ctr Freq 18.118 1.5 High 2.0:1 18.244 209 KHz Bandwidth at 18.140 Center Freq.
18.168 1.5 Ctr of Band 18.140 100 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

15 M 21.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 20.778 15M off by 226 KHz 50.33%
Ctr Freq 21.225 1.1 High 2.0:1 22.125 1347 KHz Bandwidth at 21.452 Center Freq.
21.450 1.1 Ctr of Band 21.452 450 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

12 M 24.890 1.1 Low 2.0:1 24.587 12M off by -34 KHz -34.00%
Ctr Freq 24.940 1.0 High 2.0:1 25.225 638 KHz Bandwidth at 24.906 Center Freq.
24.990 1.1 Ctr of Band 24.906 100 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

10 M 28.000 1.3 Low 2.0:1 27.409 10M off by -477 KHz -28.03%
Ctr Freq 28.850 1.5 High 2.0:1 29.338 1929 KHz Bandwidth at 28.374 Center Freq.
29.700 2.4 Ctr of Band 28.374 1700 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

6 M 50.000 1.4 Low 2.0:1 47.272 6M off by -2496 KHz -62.39%
Ctr Freq 52.000 2.2 High 2.0:1 51.737 4465 KHz Bandwidth at 49.505 Center Freq.
54.000 3.4 Ctr of Band 49.505 4000 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band
50.549 1.1
andy
M0nst
 
M0NST Rating: 4/5 Jul 30, 2014 19:23 Send this review to a friend
a lot of work tuning   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I give it a 4 due to the fact im not happy yet with its tune the tuning could be better got 16 wires 10m long buried plus 3m x2.4 m of mesh under patio as earth for it , I want to get 18m and 20m lower swr any tips here's my results so far
75/80 M 3.500 9.8 Low 2.0:1 3.678
Ctr Freq 3.723 1.1 High 2.0:1 3.768
4.000 16.2 Ctr of Band 3.723


40 M 7.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 6.917
Ctr Freq 7.100 1.3 High 2.0:1 7.347
7.200 1.4 Ctr of Band 7.132

30 M 10.100 1.3 Low 2.0:1 10.063
Ctr Freq 10.125 1.1 High 2.0:1 10.191
10.150 1.4 Ctr of Band 10.127

20 M 14.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 13.526
Ctr Freq 14.175 1.4 High 2.0:1 15.423
14.350 1.5 Ctr of Band 14.475

17 M 18.068 1.8 Low 2.0:1 18.038
Ctr Freq 18.118 1.7 High 2.0:1 18.243
18.168 1.7 Ctr of Band 18.141 1.6 all through band form 100
15 M 21.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 20.780
Ctr Freq 21.225 1.1 High 2.0:1 22.100
21.100 -21.450 1.2:1 Ctr of Band 21.440

12 M 24.890 1.0 Low 2.0:1 24.500
Ctr Freq 24.940 1.0 High 2.0:1 25.205
24.990 1.2 24.853 1.2 24.940 1.1:1

10 M 28.000 1.3 Low 2.0:1 27.313
Ctr Freq 28.850 1.6 High 2.0:1 29.305
29.700 2.5 28.309 swr 1.3

6 M 50.000 1.3 Low 2.0:1 48.020
50.200 1.2 :1
High 2.0:1 51.612
54.000 3.5 I have not finished tuning yet will have another go tomorrow will raise 6m a it and try and get 20m down any tips
in uk we do not have the 7.2-7.3 MHz part of band.
due to the amount of tuning and not completely understandable instructions (a lot hazy in places ) I had to repair this several times as I have retuned(fine tuned) it now about 150 times . sometimes this ahs thrown the antenna out a lot , I have my manual tuner in bypass mode for tis antenna so these are native figures, I used mfj269pro for taking he readings . any help for getting 20m and 17m down lower would be greatly appreciated as I would like tom use my ft857d on this antenna as well as "my boat anchor" the ts530s which I a brilliant radio , reason being putting a switch in to switch between radios some relay system, and the 857d don't like swr being greater than 1.5:1 as a rule where the ts530s handles that with ease
The radials are buried.
the resulst are a cut and paste form the xls spreadsheet made by ac8de but with my results in.(avail in the yahoo group) .
oen tip for you guys I have found don't always move the mount sometimes just adjust the coils for fine tuning(ie stretch of compress a little). movie the up or lower swings the swr to much
 
VE9AA Rating: 4/5 Oct 14, 2013 09:01 Send this review to a friend
good all around antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Would probably give it a 4.5 to 5 if literature and pictures were better and tuning instructions were clearer. I can see that this would be an *extremely* frustrating antenna to tune without a graphing antenna analyzer of some kind. I used a aa-230pro, and even then it was about 15 trips up and down the ladder plus it had to come down 3 times to tweak 6, 10 & 15m, unreachable from the stepladder.

I have mine at 8' (just on the edge of a shed roof) with 2 sloping radials per band. (40m radials do double duty on 15m, and no radials needed for 6m). They slope down to about the 5' mark onto fencepoles (wooden) on the back of the property. I won't ever do on the ground radials again. Too much loss and too much hassle with the lawn tractor and corrosion :-)

swr on 20m is broad and close to 2:1

Performance is pretty good for a unity gain antenna.

This weekend I ran 100w and worked the MAKROTHEN RTTY TEST, SAC SSB Contest, PA QP, AZ QP, NA RTTY Sprint and general DXing. I compared it to a CW-160 all band OCF dple @ 25', and other wire ground planes at 10-12'. It was always as good and in some cases better than every other antenna.

Worth the money (I guess?) but expensive to buy and get shipped to your door in Canada.

If you need one antenna, this'll do it. It's quite adequate but no barn burner / pileup buster.

Be prepared for lots & lots of trips up & down the ladder and you'd be well advised to use something more than a normal bare bones SWR meter and radio. (unless you really enjoy going up and down a ladder !)

If you ground mount it, you'll still need to take it up and down a few times to access 10-15-6m

73 de Mike VE9AA
 
W4VKU Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2013 21:57 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic performer with excellent ground  Time owned: more than 12 months
First of all, i own 2 butternuts. They are HF9V and HF9V-X. Do not try to do elevated radials on this multiband antenna. It is an exercise in frustration. It will work so so with a so so ground.

However, i installed it right in the salt water at 8Q7 and it was a killer antenna. 40m LSB was like radio telephone everyday at grayline with 400w. It fared comprable with a 2 element steppir on 17m, polar path.

Putting it together takes time,since one needs to
apply the conductive grease. Use surgical gloves
when you put it together and tune it, to avoid
the mess in your hands.

Tuning is a pain i agree. Start with 80m and then
go higher. I did not care to get 10m to play.
However, 80m thru 12m was good. I run 200ft of
LMR 400 and that helped smooth out the high SWR.

Also tear down for shipping is not easy. One needs to be meticulous in removing and packing.
I broke the 30m doorknob cap due to shipping stress. Not a fault of the antenna, but careful
packing is the key.

They are good performers, but under the best
conditions. The antenna did not do to well on a
sandy beach, with the 6 radials on the sand. It
did pretty good on 20m, but not on 40m . So it
is ideal if placed in a perfectly conductive
ground. But for that matter, any vertical will
work well in that situation.

But, without any autotuner, not worrying about
carrying control cables etc, this is an excellent
solution.

The HF6V going is around $150 for a good used one
these days.

I will use it again for future expeditions in a
phasing setup and if you have a HF6V-X to sell
at a reasonable price, pse drop me a note :)

Good luck & 73s
Krish
w4vku
 
KK7DY Rating: 2/5 Aug 17, 2013 17:10 Send this review to a friend
Big disappointment  Time owned: more than 12 months
Tried mounting it on the roof with the counterpoise kit. Did work Japan with it once and a few US stations. Otherwise, I don't think I'm getting out at all. Friends came over to help tune it with an MFJ antenna analyzer. We'd get it in the sweet spot on one band and it would be out on other bands. Makes me want to stick with VHF/UHF, Echolink, IRLP, and CQ100.
 
HA5BWW Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2013 05:00 Send this review to a friend
excellent!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Today, with my friend (HA5AUC) finished the repairing. The problem routed from the 21 MHz wire, inside it was broked. We replaced with a new one: the ANTENNA now perfect!
Ed
 
HA5BWW Rating: 5/5 Jul 23, 2013 05:05 Send this review to a friend
Great, winner antenna.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Today (very hot!!) was the first maintenace, after 3 years on the top of my house (abt.30 mtrs up.) During the last months I found a contact-failure on 21 MHz. With my friend (HA5AUC) we cleaned the tube under the 21 MHz coupling-ring, and we screewed again - with a bit force - all of the screws. The HF-9V is guyed to 4 directions (under the 21 MHz joint). I had any terrible winds - without any problems.
At 1996 I build a HF-6V (full home brew), andI falled to love for the Butternut.
I had: 18-AVT, Titan-DX, DX-88.
The winner:
HF-9V!!!!
Ed/HA5BWW
 
Page 1 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.