eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Motorola JT-1000 Help


Reviews Summary for Motorola JT-1000
Motorola JT-1000 Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $700.
Description: Commercial quality, 16 channel, keypad programmable HT. UHF or VHF
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.motorola.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Motorola JT-1000.

KD0DUJ Rating: 5/5 Aug 9, 2011 10:44 Send this review to a friend
good overall radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The Motorola JT1000 is a great ht for ham radio
use and I like that its field programable and the audio is very clear I also
found that the motorola talk permit tone can be programmed into the radio
 
W1RC Rating: 5/5 Feb 15, 2010 04:35 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Motorola JT1000 is the top model in the JEDI Series of portables. It is available in both VHF and UHF. You can tell what is what by looking at the 4th letter in the model number. 'K' is VHF, 'R' is UHF low split and 'S' is UHF high split. The 'R' split radios are the most desirable for amateur use but an 'S' split radio can be easily programmed for 440-450 MHz use as well.

The basic JEDI series radio is the HT1000. They are available in 2-16 channel configurations. JEDIs are 1990s vintage public safety-grade radios used by thousands of police and fire departments because they are virtually bulletproof. However, they need to be programmed with a computer using a special cable and software. The JT1000 is essentially an HT1000 that features a LCD display and is field programmable.

Field programming frequencies into the JT1000 requires a special "dongle". This is in order to comply with FCC type acceptance dictates which state that commercial radios may not be easily programmed by the end user. The squelch and power levels may be changed without the "dongle" and there is a workaround modification where the radio may be converted into what is loosely referred to as the "Federal" model that does not require a dongle for field programming. This modification is performed by editing the codeplug file using a hex editor.

All JEDI radios are very good in dealing with intermod and front-end overload in strong RF environments. Audio output is loud at the maximim setting and an excellent speaker mic is available. Accessories include nice leather cases, many neat covert CIA-type mics and earpieces and a range of batteries and chargers too.

HT1000s are available on ePay for $50.00-$100.00 without charger/batteries, a bit more with them. Some sellers offer free programming in the deal. JT1000s sell for a lot more ranging from $200.00 - $350.00. You should budget for a new battery which are available for $25.00 - $65.00. All JEDI accessories will work with the JT1000.

For more information on the JT1000 and other Motorola radios refer to www.batlabs.com.

The JT1000 is a durable, reliable radio, albeit somewhat more expensive than the other JEDI radios. These radios make the amateur stuff look like toys. The "Radio Service Software" (RSS) licence is not transferrable so you may need to have it programmed by a dealer or purchase the software from Motorola and it ain't cheap! However if you need a tough radio that is reliable it's worth the cost.
 
KH6TA Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2009 11:19 Send this review to a friend
Awesome radios, Fantastic Audio, Built like a brick!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months

I've been using HT1000's for some time, and love them, however, was able to find 2 nice JT1000's and really like them for the additional FPP features and display.

Otherwise, the 2 radios are the same performance-wise, which is great! Now that I am no longer active with FD/PD, I use the 1000's for Ham, MURS and monitoring Marine & PS freqs.

Bottom line: I'll never own another amateur HT again, they are like little kids toys compared to the Motorola's. Try one, you'll NEVER go back!

 
KD0DUJ Rating: 5/5 Oct 14, 2009 01:07 Send this review to a friend
ease of use  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Motorola JT 1000 Jedi series radio is very good overall radio and is lighter than the MT1000. I find
the radio is easy to use and a front LCD display that is easy to read. I would this radio for HAM radio use
 
N8WDL Rating: 5/5 Mar 7, 2008 05:48 Send this review to a friend
Built Like A Tank  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Front Panel Programmable JT 1000 is by far superior to most 2 meter ham radio's. It is nearly indestructable. The only complaint is that it is not as user friendly in programming as an Icom, Yaesu or Kenwood. I am a motorola fan. These radio's are designed to take a lot of punishment. They are bigger and bulkier than most of the modern handhelds, however, for those of us with large hands, I like the feel of a brick in my hand versus trying to fumble with smaller buttons and knobs.
 
W2MB Rating: 4/5 Feb 29, 2008 21:24 Send this review to a friend
A solid brick  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned a VHF JT1000 for 4 years. It is a front panel programmable transceiver. The receiver has a great ability to reject strong nearby RF signals. The audio output is very loud and clear and the transmitter/antenna combo seem to work noticeably better than other handhelds rated at the same power output. I've had the display replaced twice by Motorola at no charge under a Factory Service Bulletin. There was a manufacturing issue with most of the earlier displays that caused rows of pixels to stop working. The FSB indicated that the defect has been rectified. As far as I'm concerned when all is considered, this is as good as it gets for a 2 meter handheld.
 
MIKE_COBB_EX_KK4MC Rating: 5/5 Sep 13, 2006 04:57 Send this review to a friend
Rugged & dependable  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned both the VHF and UHF JT-1000. Solid performers. Have it programmed once with the right software and then the Radio can be fully programmed from the keyboard without the special side adapter key.
 
KD5WUV Rating: 5/5 Jul 17, 2004 18:27 Send this review to a friend
JT1000 Review  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm sorry, but those people who have Kenwood's and I am one who has one, the radios built for amateur radio use are just pathetic when it comes to durability. Yes, maybe Yaesu's (sorry for spelling) are pretty tought, but these are built tought (motorola) radios. Bulky... hmm... it's not like your palm radios you have here. This thing has several antenna options, and you get what you need. Let's see, this is motorola radio... the leader in radio communications.

As far as the scan list goes, you flip the 3 pos switch to c or whatever you programmed it with and then just select the channels you want to scan. It's not hard. I got mine on Ebay for 619, but that was for 2nd day air insured, a charger, two batters, a jedi mic, and an antenna. Ladies and gentlemen, this is a winner IMHO.
 
KC8SVS Rating: 3/5 May 22, 2002 23:36 Send this review to a friend
Big and Bulky  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had a JT1000 VHF model for about two weeks. Sold it. I hated how big it was. The antenna was super long because I was using it on 2m and VHF public safety. The programming key is extremely bulky. I don't like how you still have to have the RSS to program the SCAN LIST. Come on now, that's a very simple procedure. Doesn't do MDC-1200 signalling which is a big knock off for me. There is some work that shoulda been done to make it better.

BUT, I'll be looking forward to the newest thing from Motorola coming 4th Qtr of 2002! The Motorola HT-1550 will become field programmable just like the JT1000! There will be a special battery that comes with a circut or special diode that will allow FULL programming of the radio from the radio itself. That means you can leave your speakermic on, or leave the radio in the Convert-A-Com because it's in the battery. Huge improvement
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.