eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | Afreet Software DX Atlas Help


Reviews Summary for Afreet Software DX Atlas
Afreet Software DX Atlas Reviews: 18 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $23.95
Description: Electronic World atlas for radio amateurs. DXCC and province prefixes, CQ and ITU Zones in the rectangular and azimuthal projections, continuous zoom and scrolling, city and island index, unique hierarchical prefix database. COM/OLE Automation for easy integration with 3-rd party programs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dxatlas.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Afreet Software DX Atlas.

Page 1 of 2 —>

AK2B Rating: 5/5 Sep 1, 2006 12:00 Send this review to a friend
Top notch amateur software  Time owned: more than 12 months
Iíve used this program for a few years now and have come to take it for granted. I use it with two other programs, MixW2 and Ionoprobe (Ionoprobe is also from Afreet), both of which communicate with DX Atlas. When I type a call sign in MixW, DX Atlas will show a little antenna on the globe at the contacts location. This will also show you beam headings, distance and time of day (their local time). You can plot your dx with a pushpin and leave it visible or not. You view the world as a rectangle, azimuthally or as a 3 dimensional movable globe. You can view grid squares, CQ zones and ITU zones. You can view the gray line and if you have Ionoprobe you can get real time MUF plots on any one of your map views (I find this invaluable). There is a great deal more to this program and you should check their website for further information.
This software is very stable and I have never had a problem with DX Atlas or Ionoprobe (which runs all the time in my system tray). You don't have to be a genius to set up or use this program, either. The interface is top notch and very intuitive. DX Atlas is a joy to use.
I frankly would not want to do without either one of VE3NEA's software gems. As a QRPer, it gives me an extra sense of power when I see where in the world my little signal has landed.
 
W8EFA Rating: 5/5 Oct 17, 2004 20:29 Send this review to a friend
Great Program  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is a great program to use. It makes it so much more interesting when I work DX to see the country on the world map. You can also paste a stick pan for every new country you work to get a graphical display of the areas of the world you have worked. Really makes DX'ing more enjoyable!

Customer service is OUTSTANDING.
 
ON4SKY Rating: 5/5 Sep 26, 2004 03:56 Send this review to a friend
Simply the best global scale propagation predictions !  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hi,

DXAtlas is often known for what it was in its first version, a superb geographical atlas showing DX prefixes assigned to each entity and territory completed with additional information (list of cities, islands, gray line map, topographical map, pins, grid locator, etc).

From version 2.24 released in 2004, Alex Shovkoplyas, VE3NEA, interfaced this fine atlas with Ham CAP (see below) to use the power of the VOACAP engine and estime propagation conditions at a global scale. In option it is also interfaced with IonoProbe, a small tool monitoring in real-time space weather conditions.
Each of these products can run in stand-alone if necessary, but it is obviously by far preferable to use DXAtlas in conjunction with both "add-ons"; it becomes then a very powerful tool.

Today, DXAtlas with Ham CAP and IonoProbe is one of the very seldom package to take advantage of the IRI-2001 ionospheric model, a long awaiting solution that is known to provide accurate forecasts, of course in the limitations of the VOACAP engine to handle global irregular variations in the ionosphere.

This accuracy appears not only at long but also at short-terms as well. In this configuration DXAtlas takes into account additional parameters and models most of the time ignored by the other applications.
DXAtlas does not use Kp (or Q or the Storm model) but it does much better ! In tandem with IonoProbe, DXAtlas uses direct, real time ionosonde measurements of the F layer critical frequency to produce real-time ionospheric maps ! That means that instead of trying to guess how Kp influences foF2 (Storm model), Alex just uses the foF2 itself, and therefore DXAtlas is able to model ionospheric disturbances more accurately.
DXAtlas can estimate the foF2 distribution and thus display the foF2 but also the F2-layer height in km, the MUF, auroral oval (with the power flux P in W/m2/sec), geomagnetic storms, D-layer peak density, geomagnetic latitude (normal and corrected), and magnetic dip (normal, modified and latitude), all this at four resolutions.
In addition, these ionospheric maps can be displayed in cartesian, equi-distant (azimuthal) or spherical projection.

Parallel to the "ionospheric mode", the standard operating mode of DXAtlas is always available clicking on the menu icons; maps can be displayed with or without prefixes or grid, you can zoom in the map (without interpolation) or switch to the topographical map.

At last, between us, know that Alex counts among the few experts who have "put the finger" on some bugs or errors in the IRI-2001 model and incorporated the fixes in DXAtlas...
So, if you need a quasi bug-free down-sized "IRI-2001compliant" program, DXAtlas must be yours, Hi ! But of course it will never help you to predict propagation conditions for a complete circuit. As it does not permit to access to all output parameters of VOACAP, I had to remove its 5th star, but I gave it another one for its accuracy in limitations of its capabilities.

Really, a must you if are serious in amateur radio !

Requires Ham CAP and IonoProbe in option. For all Windows 32-bit plateforms.

DXAtlas and IonoProbe are shareware to register, respectively at $29.95 and $20 with a 30-day-free-trial period.

Hope this helps

73
Thierry
http://www.astrosurf.com/lombry
 
N6PC Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2003 17:14 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Package  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just downloaded the latest version of DX-Atlas. Works as well as all the earlier versions. I find that it makes DXing just that much more fun.
Excellent for anaylsis of your contest results by band using the stick pin feature and saving the file for analysis of your contacts in graphic display. You can use different color stick pins for different bands of just do each band separately.
The high relief topo is also a nice feature to see what the world looks like with all the mountains and valleys. This is my GO TO program.
Customer service is OUTSTANDING!
Registration is easy and worth every penny.
 
AC6V Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2003 19:08 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
In addition to the wonderful prefix finder, beam headings, zones, distance etc. I just started using DX Atlas for six meters. I use a laptop with DX Atlas and the RAC calbook at the ready. With a map of the USA or world displayed -- do a CNTL G and a grid square query menu comes up - type in the grid square and it pinpoints the location on the map showing state, country, etc. Also gives nearby cities and a lot more including distance & beam headings.
Highly recommended for 6M working as well as HF DXing. I use the RAC callbook if the grid is close to two or three states -- I look em up in the callbook.

Grid squares are used because the ARRL VUCC award requires them and the are used in contests.

Yeah you can work all states and DXCC on the HF bands -- try it on six meters for a real challenge.
 
NI0C Rating: 5/5 Oct 28, 2002 15:41 Send this review to a friend
Works well with DXBase 2003  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
When I upgraded my DXBase logging program to the 2003 version, I found that it has provisions to link up with DX Atlas. I downloaded a trial version, then decided I had to purchase a copy. I especially like the nice big clock display and the ability to add different colored "pins" to the map. (I use the pins to mark my 80 meter CQ WAZ zones worked and confirmed.)
 
ONL5183 Rating: 4/5 Sep 16, 2002 23:00 Send this review to a friend
A callsign utility...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I download DX Atlas 1.2 and quickly installed it on Windows ME.
Working also with DX4Win (see my review) I mainly used DX Atlas to check WPX and location of callsigns to get a DXCC confirmation or awards.

Because e.g. if you know that VK1 is in Australia you do not necessary know where in the country are located this prefix (at what latitude), and this information is mandatory if you want for example to complete the RSGB All ITU Zones award that request several stations at various latitudes in PY, CE, KC4, UA9, etc.

DX Atlas providing various zooming level it is very powerful in that matter and will surely help you in finding the most remote stations.

Thierry
ONL5183
 
AC0X Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2002 23:32 Send this review to a friend
Alex has done it again!!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
DXAtlas now has relief maps, all sorts of ionospheric maps available, and an EXCELLENT callsign resolution (it finds unusual prefixes and most if not all callsign districts for all countries). Plus it's a real kick to talk to a DX station and tell them "Oh, I see you live near Novgorod, about 230,000 population." A great way to break the ice and get past the "59 73" QSO's everyone seems to complain about (just don't do that in a big DXpedition pile up that I'm in waiting for a QSO myself, hi hi).

I love it. You will too. Go get it.
 
VA3CR Rating: 5/5 May 11, 2002 22:07 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Program  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Once in a while, a truly wonderful piece of software comes your way. I use DX Atlas all the time and it works as part of TRX Manager, my rig control and logging program. With the release of version 2.0, this is truly a remarkable program. Well done to the author.
 
K1ZYW Rating: 5/5 Apr 19, 2002 09:25 Send this review to a friend
AWESOME!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is what I have been looking for - especially for the new weird prefixes. I have it in a window next to my telnet dx site - what a combo!

DE
Ken K1ZYW
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.