eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit Help


Reviews Summary for Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit
Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit Reviews: 17 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $34.95
Description: The Oak Hills Research RFL-100 was designed specifically for the QRP operator and builder who needs an accurate and stable 50 Ohm load. Handles 100 Watts continuous (air cooled).
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ohr.com/rfl100.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit.

<— Page 2 of 2

KG2AF Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2012 18:17 Send this review to a friend
A fun kit and useful item in the shack  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This was a fun kit to build. It is very simple to do. Measured 49.8 ohms when finished. The parts and case are of high quality. Marshall even managed to track be down at my job to save me money on the shipping. Quality and service for even a relatively simple shack item. Treat it right and it will last you forever.
 
N3CAL Rating: 5/5 Feb 12, 2012 03:24 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Value and Quality  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Great looking enclosure, simple to build, outstanding quality and 100 watts as well.
 
N1TCH Rating: 5/5 Sep 1, 2010 13:11 Send this review to a friend
Great kit and the price is right!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I won't repeat points from the other review as everything said is right on target. The price is more than reasonable and the quality is top notch. The fact that it handles 100 watts without a fan makes it unbeatable. Small case that looks great.
 
K4KRW Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2010 19:39 Send this review to a friend
Quality Kit - Nice dummy load  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
What a great kit. The instructions were very good. There were no missing parts and all parts were very high quality. The case is a very nice one. This is a simple kit, so it goes together pretty quickly.

If you want a good kit for working on your soldering skills, this one would probably be ideal (you have to solder 20 resistors into place). Plus when you get finished, you have a nice 100 watt dummy load. Every ham should have one.

Delivery was extremely fast. I ordered it on Monday and I received it on Thursday.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Oct 28, 2007 10:12 Send this review to a friend
nice additon to the qrp shack  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
easy to build, very good quality. worth the money
 
KB5DRJ Rating: 5/5 Jan 18, 2007 00:32 Send this review to a friend
Solid Quality!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I assembled this kit about 2 years ago and use it all the time. It handles the normal 100W rigs just fine and gets just a little warm. The solid metal case is well ventilated. The parts and the board are excellent quality. Mine ohms out at 49.9 ohms with my multimeter. The intructions were very clear and reminded me a lot of the way Heathkit instructions were laid out. I got rid of my big can of oil and just use this unit. You'll be happy with it.
 
AA1UY Rating: 5/5 Jul 21, 2001 11:18 Send this review to a friend
Quality item YOU build  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a dummy load *kit* primarily aimed at the QRP operator but rated for 100 watts continuous RF output. This means that as well as being able to use it for your 100 watt rig, that it should be rock steady for prolonged use at 5 watts or less (some lesser dummy loads change resistance as they heat up).

Cooling is achieved purely by air convection through the well vented cabinet (no messy oil or noisy fans).

As you may imagine, it's a very easy kit to put together. In the kit, you'll find a good strong printed circuit board with wide traces, 20 stout metal oxide resistors, an S0-239 socket and all the necessary hardware to mount them in the (provided) attractive and solid silk-screened cabinet. The instructions are easy enough to follow. All that's missing is the solder (which you can buy from OHR too).

Mine came up at 49.6 ohms which is not bad at all. It basically depends how the resistors deviation from their specified values evens out across all 20. Anyway, OHR states that the overall load should be "within a couple of decimal points of 50 ohms".

Works just fine (and cool) at 5 watts as you would expect. I no longer own a QRO rig but have absolutely no reason to doubt that it would perform as per spec. with a 100 watt rig too.

All in all, this is an attractive and useful addition to any shack and so far, in my experience, I've found OHR a great company to deal with.
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.