eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones | Heil HS 706 Help


Reviews Summary for Heil HS 706
Heil HS 706 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $$60.00
Description: Boom mic for the Icom 706xxx
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.heil.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Heil HS 706.

WA0TTN Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2004 02:26 Send this review to a friend
Awesome service!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my headset 6/20/2002 along with an IC-706MkIIg on a recommendation from a friend. I didn't like the headset at first so I just left it on the shelf for a while. About 14 months later I started commuting and decided to give it a try. I got reports that my audio was dropping out persistently. I figured that the headset was out of warrantee so I just tossed it in my junk box.

After a while I got really annoyed with using the hand mic while driving so I gave the HS-706 another try, but still no luck. Finally, on a whim, I went to www.heilsound.com and posted a message asking if a) they had any idea what was going on with my headset, and b) if so, how much it would cost to repair it.

I got an immediate answer from no other than Bob Heil himself! He said (in essence), "I'll take care of it." I sent the headset in, along with my credit card info to cover shipping and in about a week the headset came back (just yesterday) with a brand new stress-relieved RJ-45 connector. I gave it a try today on my way home from work and it is working perfectly.

Now, is that service, or what??? See my review of the Heil BM-5-5. I was so impressed with Bob's personal service and integrity that I bought one of these on the spot over the phone while talking with him.

I can only say that Bob Heil's enterprise, quality, and attention to customer service are totally amazing.
 
WO8USA Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2002 07:28 Send this review to a friend
Enhances the 706!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Got eh HS706 as a Christmas present 2001----I'd never used a headset before this---hands free operation, great audio, and I can keep an ear to what else is going on. I agree a 2-ear headset might be nice if you want to totally block out the would.

I need to keep an ear open so I love it!
 
WB7QXU Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2002 02:59 Send this review to a friend
super audio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned a HS-706 for over a year, and have stopped using the hand mic that came with the Icom 706 since it is that much better. WOW what a nice mic. Heil should make one with both ears. but the differance is night and day. especially for dxing. The Heil will Blow the hand mic out of existance. it truely is that nice of a mic. and great for mobile driving. too. You gotta have this mic if you use your mobile like I do.
 
KB9WCT Rating: 4/5 Jan 18, 2002 21:03 Send this review to a friend
Make your 706 talk  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had the HS-706 for about a 6 months. It is really good compared with the hand mic which is really bad. Bob Heil adjusted mine for best voice quality by raising the SSB carrier to +150 Hz. Mic gain at 5 and compression adjusted according to the Icom manual. I get nothing but "great audio" reports. The recieve audio sounds much better than the 706 speaker, too. The only problem I had was the plastic head piece was not glued properly and I had to super glue it. No trouble since then. All that is missing is UP/DOWN buttons. For best audio quality the hand mic must be unplugged. The Icom RJ-45 mic jacks are parallel wired which would place both microphones across the audio input and degrade quality.
 
KB3CDF Rating: 5/5 Dec 27, 2001 13:35 Send this review to a friend
Hands Free Mobile  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the HS-706 in use while mobile and station at the QTH. It greatly makes an improvement when using the 706mkiig. Originally, it was my intention to use it mobile for hands free operation. As it turns out, it has drastically improved the audio compared to the stock mic.

{I am big Fan of the Heil Product line. Stock mic's are usually turned into Dog toys. }

This might help... with your IC-706MKIIG

SSB Config:
(M2)Mic Gain = 3 - 4 (windows up/dwn issue)
Compression = 10%
(M6)Carrier Offset = 110... ICOM scale?

FM:
Mic Gain = 4

(SSB) You might want to transmit into a dummy load with your 706 and listen to your audio via your QTH Rig to optimize settings for your individual "voice print".

73, John
 
WO8USA Rating: 5/5 Dec 27, 2001 03:11 Send this review to a friend
Great mic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just got the HS706 for Christmas. First few QSOs commented onthe nice audio without knowing I got a new mic. Can have it plugged in to the back of the radio at the same time the stock mic is in also (although now I have unplugged the stock mic). Great with the VOX. Also a nice feature is that the audio may still come though both the radio speacker AND headset if you want. I would recommend the mic to any Icom 706-family user.
 
K4RAM Rating: 5/5 Jul 10, 2001 12:29 Send this review to a friend
Correct Address  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The correct address for the Heil Mic is:

http://www.heilsound.com/
 
N9UKE Rating: 5/5 Jul 10, 2001 11:25 Send this review to a friend
Exeptional addition  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking for something to add to my new IC 706MKIIG and in hunting around the internet found Bob Heils site. What a wonderful find! Not only did I call the phone number to find out more about this product, I ended up talking to Bob himself, what a nice guy! And very informative too. This mic has a simular sound of a very high priced studio mic at nothing near the price!
I have had nothing put wonderful reports using this mic, and will continue to do so for years to come. Very well done Bob!!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.