eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Verticals and Wire | G3TPW CobWebb Antenna for 14, 18, 21, 24 and 28 MHz Bands Help


Reviews Summary for G3TPW CobWebb Antenna for 14, 18, 21, 24 and 28 MHz Bands
G3TPW CobWebb Antenna for 14, 18, 21, 24 and 28 MHz Bands Reviews: 29 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $379.00
Description: The CobWebb is a full size half wave dipole on each of the 5 amateur bands, 14, 18, 21, 24 and 28 MHz. The CobWebb is 5 separate full size dipole antennas, each bent into a square. This makes it very small (only about 8 foot square)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.g3tpw.co.uk/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the G3TPW CobWebb Antenna for 14, 18, 21, 24 and 28 MHz Bands.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

G0IFL Rating: 5/5 Nov 22, 2009 03:43 Send this review to a friend
It works great...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Say what you like about wires and beams but for those of us with out real estate and fussy neighbours...this is a great solution. Mine was delivered well packaged and went together in slow time (my choice) without a hitch. All 5 bands were fine. I only found 20m to be slightly off but the ATU brought it in well and working areas of the world that were previously never heard cant be bad eh? I have since move to another non-ham friendly residence, bought an analyzer to fine adjust the lengths as required and am looking forward to getting the webb up with the Flex.
So, in response to the 'dont believe the hype' comment....of course directional metal is likely to be better....but compromise is a word you have forgot.
 
GM7NVA Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2008 04:33 Send this review to a friend
Update on Website  Time owned: more than 12 months
Latest web address http://www.g3tpw.co.uk/

I have two of these of different manuafcture date. Both seeem to be wearing well. Excellent performer all round and, in better sunspot conditions, will really do as well as any dipole (unless the diploe is way up high on a tower). If you compare the CobWebb to any ordinary, relatively low wire antenna, at around 20-30 feet (7- 10 meters)then the 'Cobby' will perform as well or better. Also, remember it is omni directional. Another plus, all the bands have their own diploe so, no ATU is required, therefore losses (no traps). Web Site say all you need to know and is a very interesting read.
 
M6BBC Rating: 5/5 Jun 26, 2008 05:02 Send this review to a friend
No miracle but extremely good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Compact, horizontal omni, looks better up in the sky than down on the ground... and works a bit better up there as well ;-) Being a horizontal, free's up the mast for a vertical atop.

Easily constructed with concise instructions but watch the fibreglass and make sure it's resonant where you intend to be most active on a band.

In use, during absolute sunspot minima (I hope it is!!), it has exceeded my expectations and allowed me to work several continents on low power in a short time. I never believed this was a miracle antenna and it's not, but it is a very good solid performer on the bands and I have been shocked at my callsign coming back to me on some pretty big pile-ups.

When the bands open up a bit more, everything bodes well for decent worldwide communication with this antenna

Tunes up easily on 6m, although not exactly efficient there. A dedicated 6m section should/could be a possibility for a future design?

Ordering is 'quaint' for this day and age. Cheque sent off, antenna arrived a week later, which is fine.
 
2E0JKD Rating: 5/5 Sep 30, 2007 17:20 Send this review to a friend
outstanding still!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
well a review of my review...having experimented with various antennas in my limited english qth garden...20x18feet wide...the cobwebb for the higher bands ie..20 thru to 10mtrs is absolutely outstanding...my cobwebb is 27 feet above ground and whilst not being at the optimum height of 33 feet for 20mtrs it is perfect for 17mtrs ...gonna hit that band with a vengence when the sunspot maximus opens hi!!!all in all the cobwebb has been up in the air thru gales/snow/ice/rain/,not a problem..if its good enough for my buddies in the falklands at 100mph gales its good enough for me...if u r gonna buy a g3tpw cobwebb..please please please take the time to get it to resonance..would i buy another one if mine got busted beyond repair...CERTAINLY I WOULD!!...wish i could rate it more than 5 outta 5...more like 10 outta 5!!!...my cobwebb antenna is worth while being a ham...20 thru 10 i can work...80 and 30 mtrs via home brew end fed sloper and home brew 4 to 1 balun....if u wanna work 30/40/80/ and top band steve webb is also working on that as well!!!via the cobwebb...regards de 2e0jkd ..
 
G4LDS Rating: 5/5 Jul 17, 2006 07:42 Send this review to a friend
Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned onw for over 10 years and used mine both in a loft and outside. I run QRP (8W pep), and have worked lots of Dx on all bands 28 - 14 Mhz. Its not a beam, its ommi-directional which can be on the down side but can be a advantage. Any breakage of the spreaders can be rectified by return from Steve, who can answer any questions on the phone. Yes it does what it says, Yes it can help you work DX, (Ive now got QRP DXCC), For those with small gardens, no gardens, consider this, it works, (better than my windom) Weak points? none as longer as you understand its not a beam!! Yes i would consider another later.
 
2E0JKD Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2006 00:47 Send this review to a friend
works better than better  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i have a really small back garden..24 feet long 18 feet wide..tried various wires /small beams etc but no space at all..recently purchased the cobwebb antenna and used an mfj 209 antenna analyzer to fully resonate the antenna..its up at 30feet max and the stations i can now hear are unbelievable..america 59 on 20m/brazil and worked him on 15m at 50 watts max power for my callsign/greece /united arab emirates/japan on 15m/
some people /hams say its horrible because of its looks ..but if u have limited space like i have ..THIS ANTENNA REALLY WORKS...i rate it highly as i have heard and worked stations never b4 heard or worked..my log book can verify that..plus any tvi/rfi problems instantly eradicated for me ..thank you steve webb/designer of this baby..it is now a pleasure to work hf and compete with the big boys with max power...i,m on the cobwebb antenna /50watts/yaesu ft1000 mp mk 5 field and i can now tx with the knowledge that the dx station i can hear may now probably hear me..
one note of caution ..it is worth the extra effort to get the antenna to resonate to your favourite portion of the 5 ..yes ..5 bands where u normally operate from...keith 2e0jkd..i like it!!
 
M0HDX Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2006 14:04 Send this review to a friend
Works for me.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Here is a small list of stations i worked with my cobwebb 25ft off the ground and a alinco dx70.

AL9A BI4Q S9SS 5Z4JC BG7LHY VK7GK 6Y5WF VU3SPQ 9M2CNC YB4IR 9V1YC

All contacts made using 100watts and near the bottom of sun spot cycle 23.

jim,M0HDX
 
EI7BA Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2006 15:04 Send this review to a friend
A clever antenna idea  Time owned: more than 12 months
This antenna "does what it says on the box". It is the equivalent of a standard dipole on the bands that it covers, except that it's quieter on receive, and has no nulls off the ends. It's extremely clever in how it overcomes the problem that you get when you bend a standard dipole into a square...i.e the feed imedance drops to a very low value at resonance. G3TPW uses a T match system, that brings the feedpoint impedance back up to a comfortable match to 50 Ohm coax. I have built a homebrew version (using a recycled rotary clothsline as the frame) which works very well in comparison with a Cushcraft R7 , and other similar antennae that I have. It's ideal for someone with very little room for antennae.
 
M3RMC Rating: 3/5 Oct 28, 2005 13:19 Send this review to a friend
nothing special  Time owned: more than 12 months
This antenna is well made and will last,but it is no better than my ocf dipole at the same height.I replaced the cobwebb with a mini beam which was much better on every band.Do not believe the hype on his web page
 
EI3HK Rating: 4/5 Jun 5, 2005 14:31 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Antenna. OI have one now going into it's 13th yeardt  Time owned: more than 12 months
I now have th cobwebb going into it's 13th year. At this stage it is beginning to fail. The wires (dipoles) are all breaking where the wires are tied down on the cross members with cable ties. Some different method needs to be designed in order to stop.t this form of failure.

Howebr for 13 years it has done remarkably weel only having had to come down in it's 12th year for repairs
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.