eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | ACOM 1000 Help


Reviews Summary for ACOM 1000
ACOM 1000 Reviews: 167 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $3250 USD
Description: HF+6M Linear Amplifier

The ACOM†1000 HF Linear Amplifier is the world's best value in an amateur HF amplifier. The ACOM†1000 gives you a comfortable 1000 watts output on all amateur bands from 160 through 6 meters.
Power Output: 1000W PEP or continuous carrier, no mode limit. Uses single 4CX800A (GU74B)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.acom-bg.com/home.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ACOM 1000.

Page 1 of 17 —>

W5CBO Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2015 07:47 Send this review to a friend
Great amp  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After reading all the reviews, I bought one three weeks ago and so far I love it. Does everything it's advertized to do and I run it on 110v.

Go get ya one.
 
PA1CW Rating: 5/5 Dec 13, 2015 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Very good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am using this amp for more then 5 years and I am very happy with it.
Enough power for HF and 50mhz, easy to tune.
 
N9TLU Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2015 15:49 Send this review to a friend
Built Like A Tank!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well, I've only had this amp for a week, but during that week, I've learned quite a bit. My previous amp was an ALS-600S. Can you guess which one is sitting on the shelf? The ACOM works beautifully! Tuning really is a snap and only takes me about 5 seconds. Okay, maybe 7 seconds... It is VERY quiet and has a very clean signal going out. It is idiot proof as well. Transmit on the wrong band... No problem! The amp stops transmitting! A VERY nice addition to the shack!!! Will I ever buy another amp? Maybe. But I can guarantee that if I do, it will be another ACOM!! ROCK SOLID AMP!
 
WA2SQQ Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2015 11:33 Send this review to a friend
The Right Choice!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After researching the ACOM 1000 for about 1 month I placed an order with HRO and received it almost 3 weeks ago. Iím using it with my Flex 6500. The 1000 is everything I hoped it would be, and much more! Tuning is very easy (and fast) and the operation is very quiet. Iíve been using it a lot on 160m & 75m AM without any problems what so ever. While many suggested spending the extra cost on either a solid state or auto-tune amplifier, I do not regret purchasing the ACOM 1000 one bit. I would highly recommend it, and Iím looking forward to using it to break through a few pileups. I donít think you can find a better amp at this price point.
 
KE5JA Rating: 5/5 Sep 27, 2015 11:04 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: more than 12 months
Fantastic amp, super easy to tune, have used for five years now including many contests and I've never had a problem with it! I liked it so much that when I decided to buy a second amp for another station location, I bought an ACOM 1500 and it is also fantastic!!
 
KE4EX Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2015 09:31 Send this review to a friend
# 4 # $ 4 $ Sweet...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
normally 40 to 50 watt drive = 1kw pep
whisper quiet
very fast tuning.

Would I buy it again, yes.
73


 
NC3Z Rating: 5/5 Sep 12, 2015 16:17 Send this review to a friend
Super amp  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great looking, very quiet, and tunes into antenna loads without a tuner. Plus it loafs along at 1000W.

It is amazing how quiet this am is, it is front and center on my operating desk and very unobtrusive.

I bought this back in May from DX Engineering and also found 2 sealed tubes locally for $125 each, if I ever need them.
 
NI9Y Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2015 05:35 Send this review to a friend
Super amplifier  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my 1996 ACOM-1000 from a ham who wanted to upgrade. The first two years was flawless then the amp suddenly would not turn on. I immediately checked all the fuses which were okay. Then looked for any burned or darkened parts. I called Array Solutions and they said send it in. I carefully repackaged it in the original container and took it to FedEx which cost $75 ground shipment. I got a call saying they received the amp in good condition. After about three weeks they called saying it was repaired saying a screen grid capacitor had failed but only showed up after a faulty fuse was replaced. I never heard of a faulty fuse unless it was an open fuse. At any rate I received the amp in a few days in perfect working condition.
 
K4IIE Rating: 5/5 Aug 1, 2015 07:49 Send this review to a friend
3rd. year evaluation  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have used this amp daily for 3 years.Accidentally ran it into an open and shorted antenna.Forgot to turn the 200w FT1000D down to 45w,just shuts down every time.Have a spare GU74B which I'll probably never need.Will keep for many years.A superb product!
 
CT1EWX Rating: 5/5 Aug 1, 2015 07:14 Send this review to a friend
I am a happy Ham  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am a happy Ham.
for more than 10 years ago, my amplifier was Ameritron AL80B, a good Kw. with this amp I got my # 324 DXCC score. nothing bad, I really like to do radio, but I am not his slave, hihihi. after work I have, my family, my bike, and the radio.
the Acom was an amplifier that fascinated me by his silence, I saw the Acom 1500, at the home of a friend, and liked it.
I can not say much about Acom 1000, it is a good choice, price / quality. 45w, I have 1KW antenna
I hope to operate with it good times, because after my health accident in 2009, my dream continues.
73
Sergio Lopes, CT1EWX
 
Page 1 of 17 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.